We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like naff hotels then great, otherwise try not to stay any longer than necessary...”
Review of Floreal La Roche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Floreal La Roche
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We had a one night stop off here after a long drive. Thank goodness it wasn't longer. The hotel is fine, but just not the sort of place I would ever choose to stay again. We paid 190 euros for a room sleeping 5 of us (3 small children) including breakfast. The room was ok, pretty cramped with a bedroom on 2 floors. The upstairs room was pleasant but the stair case was very steep and I was paranoid about the balcony area though which my 3 year old would have easily fallen, so in the end he slept downstairs with me. The bathroom was very small, but all clean and decent.
The hotel is like a mini Butlins, with activities organised every hour, from aqua gym to bingo. Not my cup of tea, but clearly appealing to the large number of Dutch and Belgian people who appeared to be staying for an extended period.
Breakfast was dire. Very basic and seated in a room that was reminiscent of an old people's home, with the moribund looking clientele and an officious woman at the door marking off guests with a clipboard and directing you to your designated table of misery.
I would avoid at all costs in future, even though it served a purpose it made me feel depressed...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saralc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

Situated in peaceful surroundings within 10min walk from the town of La Roche, Lovely river walk at the rear of the hotel. The rooms were dated but clean, try and book a room at the front as most of these rooms have a balcony.Staff were fairly friendly, food was quite good, however as we were members of a coach party the choice was limited.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have balconies, rooms at rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BridgendTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed here two nights for a business meeting.
The building looks awesome from the outside, and the grounds also look pretty nice. It is right on the river and all-in-all a reasonable location. It is not in the city centre, but if you don't want that, Fleural has a good location.

The hotel itself....
- rooms are very small and very, very basic. No airco, so it got quite hot. You need to have the door to the 'balcony' open (not realy a balcony. A single person could maybe stand there, that's it).
- the room was clean, but everything was old, so I all in all I didn't like the room at all.
- restaurant: diner was mediocre at best. My advise: don't eat here.
- restaurant: breakfast was very basic. It got the job done, but that's all there is to it.
- Bar: go somewhere else. No atmosphere, no music.

My conclusion: if you go to Roche-en-Ardennes: do not go to this hotel. There are many, many hotels around and I'm sure most are better. Fleural is the largest hotel in the area, it is not very expensive, but it is not a place I'd bring my wife to.
If you don't mind a realy basic place with a bed and a shower and nothing else, Fleural might be an option (not for me tough).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The building itself is quite magnificent set in vast grounds surrounded by trees in their Autumnal colours on our visit which was absolutely stunning and an artist's delight. The rooms were not huge but adequate except for the lack of tea/coffee making facilities. There may be a reason for this as guests were requested not to use any personal electrical appliances. The buffet breakfast provided a good choice but the dinner menu was a little unimaginative (fish or meat). The staff were friendly and helpful. La Roche is interesitng & quaint. I had never been to the area before and found it quite charming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whakapirau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Having stayed there last year was very disappointed this time. Last year excellent! This year poor service and mediocre meals. Had a party of 8 staying. Even though booked well in advance for Bed and BREAKFAST they had not booked my party in for Breakfast and after much adoo a table was laid! Breakfast only started at 8 o'clock on a Monday which was too late. I appreciate this is a tourist hotel but the facility should be there for an early start say 7 o'clock. The waitress who served us our dinner meal was surly almost rude as we struggled with our poor French. I think it is unlikely we will stay again which is a pity and it is in a great loction

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldbags186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Overall a pleasant experience. It felt like a place where package tours go. We had a family room on the top floor which has a loft with 2 twin beds that our kids (6 and 9) loved. At the end of August the air conditioning was fine, but I can imagine the loft getting very hot at other times. There are windows that fully open, and the country setting is quiet.

The main restaurant seemed overpriced and not very interesting. We only had breakfast (included in our rate), but the choices were limited and in the bottom third of hotel breakfasts that we have had across Europe. The bar / casual restaurant downstairs had acceptable but not great food, and a good beer selection. We never could figure why we weren't serving pizzas when we were there.

The have extensive grounds and a nice pool. Beware that Wallonia has a law requiring boys and men to wear speedos and not long trunks such as board shorts.

It's about a 15 minute walk into town. We didn't find any good dining choices in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LosAngelesDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel,is situated in extensive grounds with swimming pool, tennis courts and childrens playground, it also has some very attractive modern apartments and the path that runs for nearly a quarter of a mile along the banks of the Ourthe is secluded and beautiful, if you are lucky you will see water wagtails. My bedroom was small, sparsly furnished (one tiny table between two beds, built=in wardrobe with space for jusr six hangers) but comfortable beds and good reading lights, good shower room with plenty of hot water As a member of a coach party the choice of food was somewhat limited, but it was all good quality and well cooked

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roche-en-Ardenne
1.1 mi away
La Claire Fontaine
La Claire Fontaine
#1 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
140 reviews
11 mi away
Hotel Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
#1 of 2 in Marche-en-Famenne
412 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Les 5 Ourthes
Hotel Les 5 Ourthes
#1 of 3 in Nadrin
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Les Genets
Les Genets
#2 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Midi Hotel-Restaurant
Le Midi Hotel-Restaurant
#3 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Luxembourg
Le Luxembourg
#6 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floreal La Roche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floreal La Roche

Address: Avenue de Villez 6, La Roche-en-Ardenne 6980, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > La Roche-en-Ardenne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in La Roche-en-Ardenne
Price Range: £61 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Floreal La Roche 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole team of Floreal wish you welcome ! Located near the slopes of Samree and Baraque de Fraiture Enchanting setting for walking and breathtaking views Rooms in formula B & B or half board Studios & Apartments with Kitchenette (optional meals) Tavern & snacks Restaurant of the soil Outdoor pool open July-August only Golf course = mini golf Fitness room = outdoor fitness area Soon the WiFi in each accommodation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Floreal La Roche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floreal La Roche La Roche-En-Ardenne, Belgium - The Ardennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing