We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD FOOD & SERVICE!”
Review of La Caleche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Caleche
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Durbuy
Certificate of Excellence
Blankenberge
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD FOOD & SERVICE!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had dinner in the restaurant. It was very crowded, but the were helpful when we arrived. The food was good value for money. We had a wonderful evening thanks to the two waiters Michael and ... (I forgot his name), they had to work very hard, but still they did it with a smile and lots of humour! Bravo for them!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITALYLOVERS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    58
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
76
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I booked this for a stay so we could go to Belgian Grand Prix, did not realise that Durbuy is a very popular tourist destination in it's own right. Quite picturesque with a good variety of restaurants. The rooms at La Caleche were clean and pleasantly decorated. The breakfast was of a good standard as was the food in the restaurant. Durbuy was very noisey while we were there, customers drinking outside below our room until 2am both nights hence sleep not great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
086210961, Responsable relations publiques at La Caleche, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We thank you for your positive comment!

We are very happy to learn you had a nice stay in our hotel!

It's true that Durbuy is a really touristic place in Belgium, in particular during the high season!!!

It can happen that a few people stay outside until 1 or 2 o'clock in the morning to have a drink but in general it's quieter...

We would be glad to see you again!


Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed for two nights in June 2013. As a family we had two rooms - a double and a twin. The double room was at the front and had a nice view of the square and the castle. The bathroom is up a stairway in a sort of attic and our bathroom didn't have a shower, just a bath with a handheld sprayer that you had to wash yourself with. The twin room was at the back - no view, darker, but had a proper shower. The rooms were very comfortable, but there was no coffee maker in the room. We ate both nights in the restaurant and were quite happy with the food, wine and service. It seemed to be a bit cheaper than some of the other restaurants in the town.

We paid 75 euro per room b&b as a last-minute type deal as we only booked the night before. This was great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
086210961, Responsable relations publiques at La Caleche, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We thank you for your visit!
We are happy you enyoyed your stay!
At the moment we still have last minute offers...
if you come back, don't hesitate to ask 2 rooms located on the front side in order to get a better view!
We hope to see you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Well-located modern family friendly hotel with very helpful service. Good restaurant with heating on the terrace, baby chairs and reasonable prices. The breakfast was good too. The family room was ok, though there was not a view towards the old town. There was only a roof window and a side window towards the hill and the roof of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Asko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

just returned from a long weekend in durbuy.
booked this hotel as it has by far the best reviews, deservedly so - everything was great, apart from the service, which is fantastically efficient but mostly lacking in humour - my wife tried to engage the obviously hard working duty manager in conversation and got a cursory two word answer.
another big positive? the only vegetarian menu for miles around.

Room Tip: want a bathroom not upstairs? ask for room no 5 or no 7 if you have a family and need more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandD2008_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Durbuy is a little hard to get to if you are trying to use public transportation. But a train to Barvaux and a short steep taxi ride (5 km) will get you there. La Caleche is right in the central part of this small medieval town. The rooms are cozy, but modern and well equipped. Bathroom is upstairs from the sleeping area but has a roomy bathtub. The angled-windows in both areas can be adjusted for maximum sunlight and outside air. Prices were very competitive, and the on-site restaurant is very good and reasonably priced (including the complimentary breakfast with meats, cheeses, breads and egg). I would stay there again if I return to Durbuy. We did have some construction noise nearby during the day, but these things happen everywhere from time to time.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a cheap lunch or takeaway dinner, try the local butchers. One makes great san...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Service was wonderful, we were travelling with our 17-months-old daugher and they immediately brought a baby chair and were very helpful with everything. We had dinner, and food was delicious. We also had afternoon tea, and they serve great waffles.
Rooms are clean but a bit small (all under a high roof with Velux windows) for 2 adults and a little girl (we brought a baby bed, which just about fit between the bed and the wall), and the en-suite bathroom was up a flight of narrow stairs, which is not too convenient. The room was quite cold when we arrived, but electric heaters worked well and in no time everything was warm. The room was clean, and overall experience very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E-Ray12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durbuy hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Saint-Amour
Le Saint-Amour
#10 of 20 in Durbuy
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Librairie
Hotel La Librairie
#4 of 20 in Durbuy
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jean De Boheme
Jean De Boheme
#11 of 20 in Durbuy
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Passerelle
La Passerelle
#2 of 20 in Durbuy
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Vieux Pont
Le Vieux Pont
#7 of 20 in Durbuy
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#15 of 20 in Durbuy
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Caleche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Caleche

Property: La Caleche
Address: Place aux Foires 15, Durbuy 6940, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Durbuy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Durbuy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Caleche 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hôtel and restaurant la Calèche welcomes you in the heart of Durbuy with its 13 renovated, furnished rooms in a contemporary atmosphere. They are all equipped with an upscale bedding,air conditioning, HD TV , free high speed WIFI, one Nespresso coffee machine en has one design bathroom with an Italian shower . Fond of new technologies, you will be pleased with our rooms full of endless posibilities. You can indeed make use, if you desire, of one tablet which controls the velux, the blinds, the TV en the music. Moreover, you can change the lighting according to the atmosphere that you want in the room. In the daytime the brasserie is a great place to have a drink or sit out on the partially heated terrace and enjoy the outside air. The classically stylish restaurant serves the delightful seasonal dishes of the chef, together with excellent wines In a nutshell, la Calèche team welcomes you in an authentic region where you will spend the night in very comfortable rooms Breakfast is from 08.00 to 11.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Caleche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing