We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel next to Castle, River, and Town Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Sanglier Des Ardennes
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Durbuy
Reviewed 13 May 2014

While we were visiting friends in Brussels, our friend made a reservation at Le Sanglier for the four of us, two rooms. We arrived just before noon, but the receptionist said our rooms were ready and we checked in.
Our rooms were in the older section of the hotel, with original wooden floors, antique oak furnishings and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was large with a tub/shower, hair dryer, and makeup mirror. Our room had a tiny balcony, where we stood to look over the town center.
We had drinks in the lounge before the four course dinner. I am vegetarian, and the chef prepared a slightly different meal for me than the others in my group. All the courses were paired with wine, which was served generously.
In the morning we had brunch, which was presented beautifully and had meats, salads, breads, eggs cooked to order, desserts, and coffee/expresso. Very good.
The service we had was very good, although other reviewers have not had the same experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennisFan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin H, Réceptionniste at Le Sanglier Des Ardennes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Dear,
Thanks a lot for your comment about Le Sanglier des Ardennes!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed for one night on a touring holiday to Luxembourg. The room was fine and the price ok, booked through an internet site. Much is made in guide books about the restaurant facilities. We were asked upon checking in whether we would like to book for the restaurant/bistro that evening. We declined advanced booking but decided to have a drink there as it has a pleasant terrace beside the river. As it was a very hot afternoon we ordered a couple of beers and waited. And waited.
And waited.
After half an hour we called the waiter to ask where our beers were. He shrugged and replied that the "beer machine" was not working. When asked why he had not informed us previously he again shrugged and said "Okay, au revoir". I suspect he thought we were "just" daytrippers....
Result? Two customers lost to the restaurant and a complaint to the reception.
It is a shame because the building is pleasant and the village is lovely. If we were to visit the village again we would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is an excellent hotel, well positioned for all the amenities that the village has to offer. The hotel is recently refurbished and all areas seem to be well appointed. The views from some of the rear rooms over the topiary gardens is good, with balconies on some rooms. breakfast was very good

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21Challenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We were in the Belgian Ardennes for a weekend and arranged to stay at the Sanglier des Ardennes with a big group of people. Altogether we were very pleasingly surprised with the quality of food and rooms (modern ones). The staff were rather friendly during our stay and everyone enjoyed their time in Durbuy! We also had dinner at their sister hotel, the Victoria, one night and the service was excellent (although slightly slow).
The only down side was the service we were provided with before the event! The lady we met beforehand had not been helpful and was actually quite rude to us at several circumstances which spoiled a bit the anticipation of our special weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for the modern room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen4800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin H, Réceptionniste at Le Sanglier Des Ardennes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Madam,
We thank you for all your positive feedbacks about our hotel.
We are really sorry for the "bad" service before the event, we will say it to this person in particular!
Best regards
Quentin H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed in the newly decorated suite for one night and had a lovely gourmet four course dinner in the evening and a champagne brunch in the morning. The food in the restaurant was excellent (we were a bit disappointed by the adjecent brasserie food though).The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Get a more modern room if you can. Staff were very friendly throughout. This is an ideal getaway for 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: Get a more modern room if you can. We had room 27 and it has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin H, Réceptionniste at Le Sanglier Des Ardennes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Madam,
We thank you very much for all your comments about our hotel!
We hope we will see you soon in the future!
Best regards
Quentin H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Stayed in the sanglier last october and had to deal with extremely unfriendly staff at reception (Restaurant was excellent) and was ripped off by choosing one of their gastronomic formula. Price for the formula was much more expensive than if I would have taken room, brunch and menu separately. When asked for an explanation I was told that "this the the way we set our prices, and we cannot help you further"

Room Tip: Don't go for the standard and tradition rooms - these are definitely not worth 4 stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed one Saturday night at this hotel the first week of September. It is located in a quaint town in Ardennes on a main road that can be busy and noisy so rooms facing the back would be quieter. The single room we had was very large by European standards with a very nice furnishings, a spacious bathroom and the usual amenities the U.S. travelers expect (except AC). The common areas and restaurant have a modern, lovely decor. There was free parking and wifi internet access. An excellent gourmet French nouvelle cuisine 4 course dinner (albiet with very limited choices for each course) and an all you can eat excellent Sunday country brunch (with a lot of variety!) was included in the price of our room which made this an excellent though not inexpensive value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arneapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durbuy hotels
0 mi away
Jean De Boheme
Jean De Boheme
#11 of 19 in Durbuy
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#14 of 19 in Durbuy
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Amour
Le Saint-Amour
#7 of 19 in Durbuy
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#13 of 19 in Durbuy
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Comtes
Hotel des Comtes
#2 of 19 in Durbuy
91 reviews
0 mi away
Le Vieux Pont
Le Vieux Pont
#6 of 19 in Durbuy
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sanglier Des Ardennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sanglier Des Ardennes

Address: Rue Comte d_Ursel, 14, Durbuy 6940, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Durbuy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Durbuy
Price Range: £98 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Sanglier Des Ardennes 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We no longer present The Sanglier des Ardennes. But it changed a lot, 65 years after its creation. Building on its success, it has just completed a grandiose renovation. A 1 hour and a quarter from Brussels and a stone's throw from one of the most beautiful golf courses in Europe, this is a relaxing, historic and gastronomic in the heart of a green setting. Le Sanglier des Ardennes is an exceptional setting for a romantic stay, relaxation, or why not, to enhance the image of your company, reward customers or motivate your employees. It is a unique character in the heart of Durbuy, the smallest city in the world. Today, in addition to the new rooms and the new wellness center, you will discover a new Gourmet restaurant, new seminar rooms, receptions and banquets, a new Brasserie, a new bar and new smoking and non-smoking lounges, that's all, the new Sanglier des Ardennes, nothing less. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Sanglier Des Ardennes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing