We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tastes can not be discussed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jean De Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jean De Boheme
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Durbuy
Level Contributor
200 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Tastes can not be discussed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have seen different opinions and comments on Tripadvisor. This is a hotel which you can love or hate. We liked it and it did fit our purpose of having a calm sleep. It is a 4* hotel run by a family which for sure has had glorious days in the past. And this hotel is still building on that past.

However, if this hotel wants to survive as a 4* hotel in the future, investments will have to be made in order to modernize and meet the expectations from the next generation.

But still, for now, we loved it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    54
    16
    10
    13
See reviews for
17
75
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Location very good. Reception was ok. But: We stayed in a large room (XL, no. 84). The carpet was at least 35 years old and full of stains (see pictures). The furniture, TV and wall covering is very dated. Before the windows were huge spider webs. The hall, stairs and elevator are dated also. The corridor is in the evening very dark and also here the carpet is full of stains. We could only book this room including an asparagus brunch (€ 48 pp) on the last day. We had to leave in the morning and therefore could not use it. In the evening at the bar, we had to find the bartender; we could not get dried fruit or nuts. The breakfast was poor: hot rolls were not refilled and there was no black tea. To summarize, this hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel and the price / quality ratio is very poor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 836Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durbuy hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel Jean de Bohème is perfectly located in the very Center of Durbuy. The hotel is quit traditional and cosy. The rooms are simple however well maintained and equiped with very good beds. The bathroom is nice and very clean. The bathroom is well equiped however the products could be on a higher level. The hotel has a nice bar inviting to lean back for while. Also a nice terrace is available just in the front garden. The hotel has a parking. We had to pay an additional €30,- for breakfast and that was too much. The breakfast was just too simple. All in all a nice place for leisure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

A group of 6 stayed here this summer. We are a group of bikers and had booked this well in advance on our honeymoon/family trip.

We parked our bikes in front of the hotel and were looked at with disdain by the hotel staff. They must've been fighters by our leathers. Booking in was quick and the staff friendly enough. We were offered the choice to have breakfast at the hotel te following morning but we chose not to eat breakfast there as it was €20 each!

The rooms themselves were very nice. The beds were extremely comfortable. After a quick bath and change of clothes, our group left the hotel in search of food. Again the restaurant at the hotel was just too expensive. The staff seemed to like us more now we were deemed to be wearing "suitable" clothing.

After our meal out we returned to the hotel bar to have drinks and play cards. The staff were lovely and welcoming. They also have a dog they have adopted which comes and says hello for some fuss before running off.

Our stay was nice but I wouldn't say this is a 4* hotel, it's more 3* charging 5* prices!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tbduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have stayed in Jean de Boheme for three nights. The hotel is in the centre of Durbuy and it overlooks all the restaurants and other hotels. We parked our car at the back of the hotel. During the night the fence is closed so it's a very safe parking.

The woman at the reception (young lady with short hair) was very patient and told us the basic things about the hotel. That was nice. Our room was on the third floor so we had to go with a very old-fashioned little elevator. When we were in this scary thing it stopped suddenly and that twice. One of the staffmembers told us (in panic) not to move for the eye of the elevator because then it stopped again. During our stay we took most of the time the stairs ;-).

When we arrived in our room it was very, very hot. The staff didn't opened any window. One or two of the staff members speaks the English Language not everybody. I think for a hotel it is important (for all the staffmembers) to speak more then only French. I asked for the Spa-factory but she didn't understand what I meant (it was another lady then during our check-inn).

Two times we tried to order a drink at the restaurant. We were sitting outside and waiters and waitresses came along but nobody asked us what we would like to drink. Other people were served but we weren't. We walked away after 30 minutes. The next day we tried again, but again such a bad service. When my partner walked to the manager at that moment (an older blond lady) she didn't understand him and didn't took the time for him. I think it's important to listen to your guests.

For us Jean De Boheme was a basic hotel. It's fine to stay, but we stayed in better places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirMir8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here in late july it was very hot no air conditioning at the hotel which made for a very uncomfortable night there where fans provided. The front desk was helpful at check in.
We decided to have lunch at the hotel, therew as an older gentleman who was the manager i assume that was very little help in helping us fiqure out the menu. We did not get what we wanted and it wass very exspensive for Lunch about $60 Euro's.
My suggestion is stay here in the cooler months there are lots and lots of resturants in Durbuy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really nice. Room in provance style. But service is not good enough. Nobody speak english. Even when we asked a cup of black tea they didn'n understand or didn't want to. Also the receptionist took the payment for the double room twice: during the booking and afterchcheckout.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanasusanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durbuy hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Amour
Le Saint-Amour
#7 of 20 in Durbuy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sanglier Des Ardennes
0.1 mi away
La Caleche
La Caleche
#2 of 20 in Durbuy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Librairie
Hotel La Librairie
#4 of 20 in Durbuy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Vieux Pont
Le Vieux Pont
#8 of 20 in Durbuy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#14 of 20 in Durbuy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jean De Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jean De Boheme

Property: Jean De Boheme
Address: Place aux Foires 2, Durbuy 6940, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Durbuy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durbuy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jean De Boheme 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situé sur la place de Durbuy, l'Hôtel Jean-de-Bohême vous accueille dans un cadre idéal et paisible. L'occasion de découvrir la plus petite ville du monde sous toutes ses facettes. Notre parking est à votre disposition, un réel avantage à Durbuy. De retour dans votre chambre ou suite, vous pourrez bénéficier de tout le confort et du calme. Entièrement rénovées en janvier 2016, elles sont équipées de salle-de-bain, minibar, coffre-fort, et écran-plat. Elles sont également toutes desservies par un ascenseur. Et pourquoi ne pas continuer votre séjour accompagné d'un cocktail au coin du feu ou pour une partie de billard dans notre Bar ? Savourez également dans notre Restaurant une cuisine régionale et authentique. Par beau temps, vous apprécierez la terrasse située sur la place de Durbuy. Pour vos réunions ou conférences, nous disposons de salles de réunion modulables. Toutes bénéficient de la lumière du jour et peuvent accueillir jusqu'à 250 personnes. Notre équipe vous assure un accueil chaleureux et reste à votre entière disposition tout au long de votre séjour à Durbuy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Jean De Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jean De Boheme Durbuy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing