We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, clean basic hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Hotel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Durbuy
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good, clean basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We liked this unusual hotel where we stayed for 2 nights on our way back to Calais. Large, clean, basic rooms. Our room was away from the main hotel, nice and quiet. Restaurant served 1st class food, our favourite during our week long trip. Buffet breakfast had plenty of choice and the homemade jam was the best we've ever tasted. Pool was clean and a good temperature, relaxing atomosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSmiths14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    58
    32
    18
    24
See reviews for
45
98
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

had to pay up front for the entire stay upon arrival. €80/night ex. breakfast for a depressing, dark and dated room with no daylight. There was a terrace door leading to the indoor (poor excuse of a) pool, where you can hardly stretch, let alone swim. The "conservatory" around it has some tropical plants. With one exception the staff is indifferent, rude and not welcoming at all. Not a single "spa" facility is included in the high price, except for the old fitness gear in again a depressing claustrophobic room without any daylight. The landscaping is nice. The interior of the restaurant is dated and the tables are fully made, so the china and silverware are collecting dust, besides that it doesn't look inviting and has no daylight. Had to pay €10 for a pathetic breakfast, where the only good thing was the variety of English teas and the juicer. Penny wise, pound foolish. I left the very next morning immediately after breakfast to never return again. This is high pricing, low quality and no service. There are much better and more hospitable places to find in Durby, less pretentious, classier, more modern and a lot cheaper!

Room Tip: book a room elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durbuy hotels

Kraainem, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We came here as four families to celebrate an anniversary. The children loved the pool - it was warm enough and the "garden" was pleasantly warm to sit in whilst the kids swam. The staff were very welcoming and the dinner in the evening was excellent. The rooms were adequate. Ok for a night or two but not for a week! But convenience was great - our superior room has parking at the door and an exit to the pool which was lovely. So ... Expect a warm welcome, but not luxury and if your children love swimming pools and trampolines, you'll be just fine!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brugge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed here for one night after finding a - we thought - cheap deal on Hotels.com. 80€ for two people without breakfast for a twin room for one night.
First impressions were OK. The woman at reception didn´t speak English even though they say they are a multi-lingual hotel so we spoke in passable Dutch.
The room was basic. Considering we wouldn´t be spending much time in the room we didn´t mind the tiny bathroom (REALLY tiny). The room had great blinds that turned the room pitch black, and you couldn´t hear much from the other rooms apart from footsteps in the hallway. And that´s the last of the good points....
After a long walk in the gorgeous countryside we thought we´d have a swim in the 'tropical' swimming pool. FREEZING!!!! Even though it´s indoors the pool was practically icy. No wonder we were the only ones in it. So we forgot about the planned morning swim (which we´d been really enthusiastic about).
Walking through Durbuy we noticed a lot of similarly priced hotels INCLUDING breakfast. These places also seemed to be more tastefully decorated and looked after than our hotel. In hindsight we should have searched the web ourselves and not gone for the cheapest deal on a hub site.
We decided to have a coffee the next morning before we left. The maintenence guy told us in rough English that we could have a free coffee, even though we explained that we hadn´t paid for breakfast. Then we ended up having 6€ added to our bill for two really watery, tasteless coffees (plus a euro each tourist tax) - so our bill came to 88€ for a one night stay without breakfast. There are LOTS of better offers out there.
If the pool had been warm, if the staff had had a bit of a smile, if the coffee had been big, hot and tasty I might not have bothered writing anything. But the hotel was one disappointment after another, and they couldn´t pay me to stay there again (not that they would, anyway...especially after this review!)
It´s way too expensive for a budget break and does not have the quality of facilities for its price class (or 4 star label....I´d be generous at giving it 3 stars).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We went out of our way to stay in this hotel on the way back to Calais from E France, because of the pool. Unlike the unbearably hot dining-room and bedroom, the pool was cold, and had a lot of leaves floating around. Bedroom OK, only OK. Food likewise. Definitely not worth the detour.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oxford_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennik, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

The room had a bad smell and from the outside the hotel looked like it hasn't been maintained for like ages...

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goberdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We arrived at this hotel by chance, as we had reservation at Esplanade in Durbuy, where they had some sort of a problem and redirected us towards Tropical (which is outside of the city of Durbuy). We have been given a room in the Japanese Garden, however the window had moisture between the glasses for about 2/3 of its surface. Being on the ground floor and in the garden, you have lots of spiders and little insects. As we had to stay only for one night, and it was summer, the conditions were bearable. However, we would never go there with our small daughter, as you have tiles on the floor and just very small and thin carpets. The bathroom is really small but at least the toilet is in a separate part (which does not have a sink, so you have to enter the next door bathroom to wash your hands).
I can imagine it could be pretty difficult to go there during the winter. Also, the bathroom has poor ventilation.
Also our experience with Durbuy Adventure was quite unpleasant. I am writing this because I guess the main reason why anyone would go to Tropical hotel would be because of Durbuy Adventure. The place was understaffed, you had to wait in line 15-20 min. to get some information, and then nobody was sure of anything. We have made our reservation though them and first they put us in a different hotel (outside the city), then when we went for breakfast (in the city, as instructed), the place was closed. We have left sooner than planned because the quality of service was really low.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_the_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durbuy hotels
3.1 mi away
La Passerelle
La Passerelle
#4 of 20 in Durbuy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Saint-Amour
Le Saint-Amour
#7 of 20 in Durbuy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jean De Boheme
Jean De Boheme
#12 of 20 in Durbuy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Sanglier Des Ardennes
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Librairie
Hotel La Librairie
#3 of 20 in Durbuy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.3 mi away
LPM2 Sporthotel
LPM2 Sporthotel
#11 of 20 in Durbuy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Hotel

Property: Tropical Hotel
Address: Rue des Comtes du Luxembourg 41, Durbuy 6940, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Durbuy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durbuy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tropical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Durbuy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing