We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Family Run Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Pax
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Diksmuide
Certificate of Excellence
Alloa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Run Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Although I use this hotel for business I would definitely use it for leisure. This is a family run modern hotel with the daughter Pauline running the show. She is a very pleasant and most helpful host , nothing is to much for her. All the rooms are excellent spotless and all have TV and Wi Fi available. The hotel is in a great locality in the town of Dixmuide which has extensive shops, restraunts and a lovely square. The hotel offers a bed and breakfast with lovely choice available. This is an ideal hotel to explore the Battlefields of WW1 or indeed Flanders itself. I genuinely can't speak highly enough of this hotel or it's owners.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quitter but there is generally not a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbyAlloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    29
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
22
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Firstly, I must praise the manageress and hotel staff who have done everything to make us feel welcome. There is an incredibly warm atmosphere in this friendly hotel. The accomodation is also excellent, meticulously clean and tasteful. It has very pleasant and trendy bar area. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
155 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived lated and got up early but still had a very good stay.

The staff at the reception desk is extremely friendly and helpful (also on the phone).
Rooms are OK, not too big. We had a room on the 4th floor with views up to the "ijzertoren". Sound isolation could maybe be a bit better.Good bathroom, nothing fancy. For the price paid, the room was very good.
Only minus: the beds are a bit small.

Breakfast was a pleasant suprise: many types of fresh breads which we really enjoyed.

We parked in the street close to the hotel.

Would recommend, Diksmuide is also a cute town and if you're interested in "Flanders fields" there is a lot to see in the area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I booked this hotel at very short notice last bank holiday weekend (May 2014), it had been recommended to me by a friend, the Best Western website told me it was full but I rang the hotel direct and spoke with the manageress (Pauline), her English was perfect and she could not of been more accommodating.
The hotel is situated about 30 minutes from Calais Eurotunnel and is easy to find, there is plenty of free car parking and it is close to the market square with shops, restaurants and bars.
The room was typical Best western, very clean, comfy beds, plenty of wardrobe space, nice bathroom with shower over the bath and plenty of good pressure hot water, the room was a good size and the TV received English channels. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, but you are more than welcome to use the machine in the dining room at any time and take a pot up to your room.
We had a room on the fourth floor (top) which was perfect because I smoke and it had a large balcony with great views!
Breakfast was all good, usual continental set up. There is no restaurant in the hotel so no evening meals, there is a good restaurant 25 meters from the hotel front door though, and plenty more within 200 meters. The Pax has a good bar with comfortable furnishings and a lovely big sunny glazed terrace, tea, coffee and snacks are also available in the bar.
The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. All in all a good place to stay and at 99 euros a night an absolute bargain!
Thank you Pauline, we will be back in August : )

Room Tip: We were in room 405, fourth floor (there is a lift) perfect for us with the large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 430Jimbo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Basic hotel which served it's purpose for us. I went on a school trip recently to Belgium to see the battlefield and this is where we stayed. We managed to stay quiet and respected the place well, they offered us a good buffet style breakfast and dinner. The rooms are basic and clean, the hotel itself is great for spending the night in but has nothing to offer if you were wanting to spend time at the hotel during the daytime. Overall it serves well for a few nights as very basic.

Room Tip: 1st floor is good if no school trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samara_cxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lou deniz
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is where I stayed for 3
2 nights with school. The rooms were tidy enough however, the sofa bed, wardrobe and bed side cabinet are falling apart. Beds are a bit close together. Bathroom is good although, we didn't have a bath. Bed VERY UNCOMFORTABLE the wooden slats were falling out and you could feel every bar and spring. Food was DISGUSTING! A 'continental' breakfast that consisted of bread and a cuissant. Make a pack lunch was a disaster. A roll, a biscuit and a drink. Not good. Dinner was the worst. Disgusting, undercooked and cold. NO VEGETARIAN OPTION. There were 3 vegetarians and the hotel was informed so it was cold chips and cold undercooked spaghetti. Location is ok but you DEFINATLEY NEED A CAR! We would drive quite far to find a trench or a museum and a long drive to the Menin gate. It was alright but DEFINATLEY take extra food. You will be hungry and slightly disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izziewoo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here with a party of students who were visiting the Somme and Ypres battlefields. The hotel although not as conveniently as close as other hotels, has good road links as long as you avoid Lille in the morning and evening rush hours. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of breads and juices, Making your own lunch is a bit of a bind but it seems to work as the students take what they want. Rooms are clean and well appointed. the only matter which requires serious consideration is what to do in the evening. There is a room in which students can meet. However, the hotel is considering installing computers screens and perhaps games for student use.

Room Tip: You may have to put up with school parties at this hotels so it could be a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldbags186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diksmuide
17.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
19.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Hotel Menen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B ‘t Withuis
B&B ‘t Withuis
#2 of 17 in Diksmuide
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Vrede
Hotel De Vrede
#4 of 17 in Diksmuide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pure Hotel Notarishuys
Pure Hotel Notarishuys
#3 of 17 in Diksmuide
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Pax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Pax

Property: Best Western Hotel Pax
Address: Heilig Hartplein 2, Diksmuide 8600, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Diksmuide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Diksmuide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Pax 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Pax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Diksmuide
Diksmuide Best Western
Best Western Hotel Pax Belgium/Diksmuide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing