We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation in Domme”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Domme, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Keith B
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation in Domme”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this Lovely cottage in Domme in mid July, located 1 minutes walk from the main village centre but in a quite and peaceful setting. Good restaurants with pleasant staff and nice food. Lovely shops. The heated pool was superb and a welcome break from the hot sun.
We slept very well, assisted by the lovely Domme wines, although the room was a little warm.
This cottage in Domme is Conveniently situated to travel around the Dordogne and lovely time was had.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefull setting and the pool
Liked least: Parking outside on market days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon d
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb gite for a family central to beautiful Domme”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was a great place to stay in Domme. There is no pool but there is a courtyard and garden which is fairly private and enclosed. Boulangeries and restaurants are all within a couple of minutes walk and the Dordogne is 10 mins drive. The town is delightful, if a little touristy, but pretty unspoilt.

The gite was perfect for us. Well appointed, tastefully decorated and clean and with reserved parking on the street by the gate it suited us really well. Bedrooms were large and the kitchen sitting room was more than adequate. My only thought would be that a larger fridge would be really useful for self catering, and that the top bedroom does get very hot indeed in the warm weather, not that there is too much that could be done about that without ac being installed. I highly recommend it as a place to stay.

Top tips that we found. Great canoeing to be had from the company just to the east of Cenac bridge who are friendly and helpful. We thought that going from upstream down to the bridge was much less crowded than going down stream from the bridge, but its hard to be sure on only 2 days.

While coming from upstream stop at the excellent La Maison du Passeur which is on its own right on the south bank of the river by Vitrac, overlooking the water. They do great tapas. Perfect for a canoeing lunch.

Also head to Turnac, past the Le Labyrinthe de l'hermite, drive through the farm on a public track (rough but doable in a normal car) through the walnut grove, turn right at the obvious track T junction and go to the end. There you will find the perfect swimming, BBQ, picnic spot on the river, little known by anyone not local. Much better than a swimming pool in the garden! N44 50' 33.6" E 001 15' 33.8". The bit after the track T junction is not marked on most GPS.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small fridge
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dot000
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A comfortable and roomy character cottage in the middle of Domme”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

After weeks of travelling this Domme cottage was the ideal place for a week of relaxation. Highlights for us were:
- the cottage itself was a lovely old building (modernised ), clean with plenty of space to spread out. The garden was also a nice quiet retreat. Parking wasn't a problem as we kept the car outside the gates (see previous review about gates sometimes being blocked by other cars). Stairs to bedrooms, but this wasn't a problem for us (in our sixties) .
- very short walk from cottage to a spectacular view of the Dordogne Valley and river. The cafe/ restaurant at the lookout area are lovely - it would be easy to sit there for hours.
- very easy access (with car) to all of the attractions in the area
- Domme is beautiful to walk around in the evenings
- excellent wifi

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself and it's position in the Dordogne region
Liked least: The bathroom drains were a bit smelly
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Simple comfort, peace in beautiful surroundings, fun French things to do.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CBT-12
Currumbin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Domme - ideal place to explore the Dordogne Valley”
Reviewed 31 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed in this apartment for 2 weeks in late August 2012 and really enjoyed Domme as a base to explore the Dordogne region of France. We booked the apartment not knowing much about the area, but were pleasantly surprised with the amount of things to do. We came here for a cycling holiday as the area is famed for its rolling hills and beautiful scenery. However what we didn't realize was there were so many fantastic castles and caves to visit as well. Whilst we don't have children, it is in our opinion, a fantastic location for kids - they'll never get bored! We loved the beautiful clean rivers so much we did three canoeing trips in various locations whilst here. I highly recommend it! We saw kingfishers, eagles, catfish, trout, and dragonflies galore, amongst other things. The river is at the bottom of the hill and there is a great little area for swimming on hot days (ie: you don't need to rent a place with a pool to stay in France in summer).
The apartment was great. Included everything that you would generally need. I would recommend it to friends. The town of Domme is lovely, but quite touristy and very busy at times. As a bastide hilltop town it is quite steep in the town but the views from the promenade are spectacular. Two petite trains go past the apartment every half hour. Parking can be difficult outside the apartment, but there is parking space in the garden. It can be difficult to back in sometimes due to other people parking across gates and traffic on road. For those that love their TV, there was SKY, which was great for us to watch the Vuelta. French TV can be limited; wish we were here for the Olympics!
A few things to note; 1. probably not great for older people - the stairs are very steep. 2. It gets really hot here in August and it's too hot to sleep in the upstairs bedroom during this period if there are more than 3 of you. Needs an air conditioner. 3. The neighbours with pool next door are extremely noisy, it was unpleasant to sit outside in the warm evenings.
If you would like a great Summer holiday, I recommend you come here to stay.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large living area and outside garden with parking area.
Liked least: Noisy neighbours, hot attic, steep staircase.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPH0_0
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stay in 'Real' Dorgogne”
Reviewed 21 June 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed a few times in this area, but have tended to choose more remote locations, which can end up feeling a little removed and away from real French life.

So we booked this cottage for our recent stay in the amazing hilltop village of Domme – and what a find! Stunning location just outside the main square with easy access to all the local restaurants, but still with completely tranquillity. The garden area is perfect for barbeques or just relaxing.

But best of all is the standard of presentation inside and outside the cottage. The whole house appears to have been recently refurbished - to a high standard – which means everything is clean, comfortable and works! Rental rates are also very reasonable compared with what we have previously paid for similar standard accommodation.

A car would probably be essential for most visitors, but the cottage has its own parking area - a must in Domme.

We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to return in September!

Date of stay: April 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.