We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the weather right!”
Review of Hotel l'Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel l'Esplanade
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Domme
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Get the weather right!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We missed this focal point of this quaint bastide on our last visit so we made sure to book well in advance this time. The sun shone and the temperature climbed into the 30'sC throughout the first week and we often admired the diners their superb experience of the view and sunsets, making us look forward all the more to our own visit. Would you know? The weather turned and the Saturday of our booking was cold and damp so, inside into the dining room it was for us. The four of us were seated on the raised section at the rear of the restaurant and this was fine. Denied the terrace by mother nature we nevertheless found the dining room warmly decorated and the service had just the right balance of attentiveness, professionalism and good nature. The food was wonderful in both taste and presentation and the bill was keenly priced for this high standard.
In summary we enjoyed the whole experience so much we returned twice during the following week!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    83
    28
    13
    7
See reviews for
50
171
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is charming and the view from our bedroom window of the Dordogne River Valley was absolutely picture perfect. Most of the staff speak very good English, which was a big plus for us as we speak little to no French. I felt welcome and I also felt that the staff was willing to help with giving us directions and advice for the sights in the area. We had breakfast in the hotel, and it was fine. Dinner was also enjoyable, and the restaurant has a great view as well. However, they do have two menus. One is a price fixed menu which we ordered from both times we ate here, and the food was very good. However, it would have been nice to have at least been offered the ala carte menu, which we were not offered. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Views from both the rooms and the restaurant terrace absolutely stunning. Service OK - rooms OK only ate breakfast but that was good - the dinner menu looked great but very expensive. Its the position of this place that really sets it apart - getting up to the Dordogne valley waking up below you without a sound and with hot air balloons rising majestically into the air was just fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville, tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The View and location are excellent. The staff were helpful. Parking can be difficult, but doable.

The restaurant is overpriced compared to similar restaurants in the area.
The wifi in the room with a balcony is weak. It works ok in the lobby.

Room Tip: The rooms are all on the small side, probably normal for France.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tj0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel is fabolous, the views are unbelievable and really hard to put into words just how amazing they are. The hotel reception was very helpful, and the room was very french, on the small side but very cosy. We were lucky enough to have a view across the Dordogne and it is well worth the view and the money. We didnt have the breakfast or stay in the restaurant to eat but on just staying alone the experience was fabolous. Would definately stay again!

Room Tip: Have a view over the dordogne river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlossyP0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmow
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel is in a fairly small hill top town with excellent views over the surrounding landscape and river. Numerous 'hot air' balloons could be seen. Parking is a bit tricky as the hotel has no facilities. It is possible to park in an adjacent narrow side street if a space available, alternatively there is limited pay parking areas around the adjacent church.

There are no lifts so two flights of stairs to a river view room was heavy going. The room was squeezed into a restricted 'roof type' space so toilet a bit tricky for headroom. Bathroom was adequate but not large. Generally the hotel is a little on the tired side but does have charm.

Meals can be taken on the terrace which was delightful during a summers evening. It even has large vertical sunshade devices which stop glare into your eyes. Evening meal was good, breakfast not as comprehensive or plentiful as some similar hotels. Total cost for 1 night for two including aforementioned meals 240 Euro.

Would I stop there again - possibly ( bit expensive for what you got but views seem to make it worthwhile)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland,NZ
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Domme itself is a lovely village, with a market on a Thursday in the square right outside this hotel. The hotel is perched on a bluff with amazing views over the Dordogne river. THe room was small but nicely decorated. Bathroom was very small. The service was excellent - very helpful with offers of drying clothes if wet from the rain we had walked through. I can highly recommend the restaurant: the chef is a star and the service impeccable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Domme
5.2 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
157 reviews
6.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Esplanade

Property: Hotel l'Esplanade
Address: le Bourg, 24250 Domme, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Domme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Domme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel l'Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade
l Esplanade Hotel Domme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing