We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous views, excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel l'Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel l'Esplanade
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Domme
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was one of our favorite hotels in France. Although the rooms themselves are nicely appointed, they are not lavish. Pricing for the hotel is very reasonable. But the views are fabulous! We also appreciated the staff. There was one staff member who went the extra mile to help the guests (the hostess). She spoke English fluently and helped all the guests at the restaurant understand the menus and make recommendations. She also took the time to answer questions not only about the area but other areas on our travel route. The restaurant did not disappoint - expensive but worth the money. The fillet of beef with truffles and foie gras and the mackerel were fabulous. Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as well as a table in the restaurant with a view. We had rooms 1 and 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    78
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
48
160
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights late June 2014. Wishing a central location to tour the Dordogne area from we chose The Esplanade based on TA reviews .... and very accurate they were: fantastic views and fantastic food prices! No problem, we ate out and enjoyed the views. Maybe if the Esplanade put on a plate de jour at the going rate they would entice a few more diners .... or maybe they do not wish to be seen to appeal to the common tourist!

Parking: no problem (in June at least). The pay car parks by the Hotel are free from 18.00 to (I think) 11.00 and given the nearby streets where parking is free I never paid. When the tourists leave for the day I just moved the car to outside the Hotel ready for the morning.

Location: Domme is central to many lovely towns (Sarlat, Montpazier, Beynac, Racamadour, Cahors etc and the Gardens of Marqueysac - a must). I do warn that the myriad roads from Domme are more like cart tracks and be very wary of the verges if passing traffic.

The Hotel: very very old style French which does have charm ... but no lift, chipped enamel and flimsy plastic beakers in the loo, loose rugs on the walkways - a ready trip hazard. Beds - lovely hard mattress which led to wonderful night's sleeps; AC - never needed it, just left the window open. There is a private garden owned by the Hotel with secluded seats and access to grottes - just ask for the key at Reception - in our six days we were the only ones to bother. W-fi was available but after day 1 my access was refused, Reception were not exactly helpful and I couldn't be bothered progressing it ... Esplanade, just a hint, if you are going to use 'hotel1' as a login I.D. please use a font where the 'l' and the '1' are distinct.

Domme: this is primarily a tourist town so very busy in the day but deserted at night. Shops are geared to nick nacks or over-priced ephemera. There are a couple of good bar/restaurants across the square and two by the main gate which fill up each night mainly with guests from the two Hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandMStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This Hotel was a disappointment as I discovered that a pair of expensive sandals disappeared at the end of our stay, which spoilt the experience.
The room was lovely but the restaurant was very expensive

Room Tip: choose the twin beds room at the top over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdsong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

In a previous review of Domme I commented on Hotel l'Esplanade and its restaurant.

The Hotel itself harkens back to earlier more opulent times. While the rooms are not truly elegant they wonderfully appointed. Ask for Rooms 1-4 and 15 which have a gorgeous view of the valley below and the Dordogne River. At night you can observe the lights of the river village of La Roque Gageac several miles distant. Pricing is very reasonable in the $140 range during the summer months and of course lower in the off season.

As for the restaurant, it is my favorite in France. Having stayed at the Hotel and eaten at the restaurant 17 times, I express an obvious bias towards the establishment and its gracious hosts. Sophie Bouland, the gracious hostess and owner pays close attention to each table and is always helpful with the more than adequate wine list which features both local, regional, and countrywide bottles.

The menu created by Sophie's husband Chef Pascal Bouland is a masterpiece of cuisine presentation. There are four fixe prix menus as well as the regular menu somewhat dominated by truffles and foie gras. My favorite entrees are Foie gras de canard grille au Verjus, Le Foie Gras de Canard en pot au feu truffe, and Fricassee de Ris de veau.

While some might see the expanse of the menu somewhat limited, I have never found this to be a problem because it is well balanced between fish and meat (poultry, fish, and beef). Most importantly every dish I have ever experienced at this restaurant was exceptional and I have never been disappointed. By the way the cheese cart is one of the best I have ever sampled.

Domme is an out of the way Bastide sitting high on a mountain overlook the Dordogne Valley, but well worth your effort to visit and take a step back in time to fine lodging and dining. In the evening when the air is still look for the hot air balloons that traverse the Valley sometimes at eye level with the Hotel terrace.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 and Room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed two nights at this small hotel and were fortunate to be given one of the five first floor rooms (rooms 1 - 4 and 15) that face out over the magnificent 180 degree view of the Dordoigne river valley.

The panoramic view apart, our room was adequate, small but with a comfortable bed, and the breakfasts sufficient - split into a basic one and a fuller offer for a supplement.

What did impress us was the dinner, which we ate both nights, yes, on the terrace, overlooking the same view and never tiring of it! The menu was creative, the presentation colourful, artistic and a joy to behold. Overall, the flavours and textures of each dish were superb and to be savoured slowly, and the manageable wine list included several pleasant and well priced choices.

If your travels take you to this area, or if you are inspired to divert via Domme, you should definitely give this hotel and its cuisine a try.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the panoramic view. 1 - 4 or 15 (more expensive) on the first floor, or on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This isn't a 5 star hotel and they do not claim to be but who cares when you have the views and the quality of food and service that this place has got. Stayed for 3 nights and tried to extend it to 4 but unsurprisingly they were fully booked. Very reasonable rates, great food and did I mention the view!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteyningSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We loved this hotel and were sorry we could only stay one night during our walking tour of the Dordogne region.

Although not large, our room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We had the most spectacular view imaginable over the valley. The bathroom was small but luxurious with big fluffy towels, lovely toiletries and bathrobes. WiFi reception was good. Breakfast was excellent.

The highlight of our stay was a delicious dinner, especially the pigeon three ways. Desserts were delicious. The restaurant staff were knowledgeable and very helpful.

Everyone at the hotel was professional, friendly and efficient.

We could not fault this hotel – perfection!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Domme
5.3 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
6.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Roussillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Esplanade

Property: Hotel l'Esplanade
Address: le Bourg, 24250 Domme, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Domme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Domme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel l'Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade
l Esplanade Hotel Domme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing