We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful gite”
other traveller has booked this property
Rose Barn - Sol du Mazel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Barn - Sol du Mazel
Heated pool 5m x 12m Open plan living in Rose Barn - 48m2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Rose Barn - Sol du Mazel
Heated pool 5m x 12m
Open plan living in Rose Barn - 48m2
Beautiful conversion of the old barn
Master bedroom (which also has space for a cot if needed)
Second bedroom with two single beds (looking through to the bunk room)
The bunk room with the fabulous 'floating bed'
Bathroom (which also has a separate shower)
Overlooking the meadow from the sitting room
View over the pool and meadow with Rose Barn dining area.
Looking up from the play area under the walnut tree to Rose Barn
Climbing frame at Sol du Mazel
Relax in the shade by the pool or simply snooze in the hammocks
Looking back over the meadows to Rose Barn and Hope Cottage
Exploring St Pompon
Envie en Mets - the very well regarded restaurant in St Pompon - remember to book
Shopping in Domme
Beautiful countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Domme, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John Newe...
Oaksey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A beautiful gite”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stay in the Dordogne every summer and this is the best gite we have found. The barn is beautifully positioned, away from it all but not too far from local facilities, on a large plot with a good size pool, beautifully finished and well equipped with everything you could ask for. Our children are 19, 17 and 14 and they loved the gite, pool and local area too. The owners are very helpful. We aim to be back!

We went canoeing twice from Castelnaud (Bernard, the pool maintainer, recommended it and got us a discount) and visited the castle at Castelnaud. Monpazier on market day was fun as was market day in Daglan (a beautiful little village close by).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful gite, light and airy in large grounds with good sized pool.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d0rmie
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday in a lovely, quiet location”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just recently returned from our holiday with 2 young children (5 years and 18 months) at Sol Du Mazel and definitely plan to return in the future. We discovered this holiday accommodation through a recommendation from friends who had recently stayed at the owners other property in Kent. We therefore couldn't wait to discover Rose Barn.

The property has absolutely everything you would need when travelling with a young family and therefore mobilisation of the small army is made less painful. All essentials for an 18 month old toddler were provided and in excellent condition - stair gates, travel cot, High chairs, plastic crockery and children's cutlery, great selection of toys indoors and outdoors, tables and chairs (indoor/outdoor) etc. All essentials for a 5 year old were provided and again in excellent condition - puzzles, books, board games, balls, cricket, baseball, football goals, a fantastic array of pool toys and not to mention dominoes which has now become his favourite game. All of this in addition to the excellent play park within the grounds makes this an ideal retreat for young children and the bigger children...to enjoy.

The accommodation is of the highest standard and made us feel at home. We could not believe the condition of the interior given that this is advertised as a family retreat. There is plenty of space for the children to play indoors and the property is situated in vast grounds.

We made full use of the swimming pool and the children loved the hammocks. There were plenty of sun loungers with parasols and a large sheltered area for the children to escape from the sun.

The location is ideal as the picturesque village of Saint Pompont is less than 5 minutes drive yet there is not a sound to be heard when relaxing outdoors within the grounds. Absolutely perfect and just what we like. Bergerac airport is approximately 1hour drive. It was also only approximately 1.5 hour drive for us to see the Tour de France which is also a great event for children.

Katie and Andy were extremely helpful and informative which helped us plan our holiday with ease. All in all, a great, relaxing, fun holiday which we will definitely repeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, comfortable, essentials provided and remote location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anapops
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for families ”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Rose Barn for two weeks with our 6 year old son and 8 month old daughter and had a fantastic time. Friends rented the adjacent Hope Cottage, and it was the perfect set up: there's an interconnecting door joining the properties which means we could have our own personal space but also easily share resources and get the kids together.
The cottage is extremely well equipped with everything you might need for a baby. As for older kids, the playground is better than most local playgrounds! The location is also perfect, in the heart of the Dordogne with easy access to amazing sights including beautiful castles, caves, zoos and dozens of incredibly pretty villages. We didn't get enough sunshine to enjoy the swimming pool but there was never a dull day, there's so much to do. We also booked Rosie, the private chef recommended by the cottage owners, and that is definitely worth doing. She cooked a delicious four course meal and was delightful.
I would definitely rent Rose Barn again, and in fact we are talking about returning when our little one is a bit older.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktthestar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just spent a week renting out Rose barn and Hope cottage with friends. Both properties are well set out, and brilliant for families with young children. There was everything we could need and more (high chairs, potty, toys, laundry facilities). The tranquil setting had plenty to amuse the children so we could kick back and relax.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blestbake...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful extremely well equipped cottage in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

In June this year we enjoyed a fantastic week at Rose Barn, the cottage was lovely. Comfortable, clean, spacious and furnished and equipped to a very high standard. The weather was great very hot and sunny and the lovely pool was a real blessing! Lots of toys and swimming aids provided and plenty of loungers and hammocks to relax in. Our party didn't include anyone under 18yrs but the grounds had lots of toys and equipment to keep children amused and happy. There were also plenty of toys and games inside for cooler/rainy days. I have been recommending the cottages to everyone I know with a young family!
The Dordogne is a beautiful area, the Chateau at Castlenaud was worth a visit. We also enjoyed Sarlat, which we visited on market day and canoeing on the river was great fun.
We had a wonderful holiday at Rose Barn and would definitely love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
539claire...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most relaxing holiday we've had with our 3 kids!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a lovely week at Rose Barn, and my husband was already suggesting we rebook for next year before we'd even packed up the car to come home!

Some unique things about it (in my experience of child unfriendly holiday homes!):

The play facilities are really great (kept ours aged from 2 - 6 entertained for hours!) and, here's the important bit, within easy sight and reach of the house. So you can sit on the terrace whilst your children play, without feeling the need to shadow them all the time. You could actually relax, and enjoy your own holiday.

The pool - we spent a lot of time in the pool. It's fenced, and surrounded by nice loungers and hammocks, and again, within easy sight of the house. It's got a child friendly shallow end, and a little ridge round the edge so children can balance even in the deep end. There was a great assortment of pool toys. Our biggest two came on loads with their swimming within a week, and we had a couple of pool days, it was so nice.

The toys - our almost 2 year old was very enamoured with the great selection of toys and books in the house. She could potter for a good half hour exploring new toys, which was great.

The location - having spent the previous week in a less 'touristy' part of France, we found the location great for kids. Within 20 minutes' drive, we could have entertained ourselves for at least a fortnight. I wish we'd booked for longer.

In summary, Rose Barn has been very well thought out by people with children. If you're travelling with little children, and self catering, we haven't found anything better.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Actinup20...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We will come again for sure”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Outstanding. We really loved our holiday in Rose Barn. The pool and grounds are perfect for a family. The Barn itself is well equipped and apportioned with everything you need. We felt truly at home for the week. I loved arriving to the crisp cotton sheets, beautiful pictures, games galore for all ages, kids’ toys, books, and more. Indeed as this is our second visit as a family we really appreciated the new sand pit, swings and slides and the fabulous play house (big enough to sleep in!).

Coming out of season really works well. The prices are lower and the weather better or so it seems. We had daily temperatures of the high twenties/ low thirties and the pool varied from 28 to 30 deg C making it refreshing and pleasant. We spent a good 5 hours a day in the pool other than when we visited Domme or went on a canoe down the Dordogne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Crisp clean sheets. Delightful setting. Plenty for the whole family
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing