We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection for the entire family”
other traveller has booked this property
Rose Barn - Sol du Mazel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Barn - Sol du Mazel
Heated pool 5m x 12m Open plan living in Rose Barn - 48m2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Rose Barn - Sol du Mazel
Heated pool 5m x 12m
Open plan living in Rose Barn - 48m2
Beautiful conversion of the old barn
Master bedroom (which also has space for a cot if needed)
Second bedroom with two single beds (looking through to the bunk room)
The bunk room with the fabulous 'floating bed'
Bathroom (which also has a separate shower)
Overlooking the meadow from the sitting room
View over the pool and meadow with Rose Barn dining area.
Looking up from the play area under the walnut tree to Rose Barn
Climbing frame at Sol du Mazel
Relax in the shade by the pool or simply snooze in the hammocks
Looking back over the meadows to Rose Barn and Hope Cottage
Exploring St Pompon
Envie en Mets - the very well regarded restaurant in St Pompon - remember to book
Shopping in Domme
Beautiful countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Domme, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
djhermer
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection for the entire family”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This place was amazing. We've stayed in a lot of places in Dordogne and wider France. It was by far the most idyllic and best equipped place we've encountered. You've thought of absolutely everything. We couldn't fault one single thing.

Top effort and thanks for a wonderful holiday. The imperfect weather did not detract from the enjoyment for any of us; children and adults.

We took the car and loaded it to the gunnels with games, toys etc to ensure kids were entertained. We needn't have bothered. This place has the lot.

Highly recommended. And obviously the area is typical Dordogne: BEAU

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thank you for being so positive about your time at Sol du Mazel and Rose Barn. We do hope you manage to visit another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ophney
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely ideal family villa!”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We could only think of endless positives Only positives about this villa and absolutely no negatives. First impression as you drive up to the villa is how much land it occupies - must be 8 acres - interspersed with what is basically an adventure playground. I counted 7 slides alone! Our boys had endless fun. The trampoline is huge.

What grabs you as you walk round is how quiet it is. You feel almost instantly relaxed.

To cap it all, there is a large wooden stand alone veranda higher up the garden as it slopes up which looks quite new and has incredibly comfortable rattan furniture and looks down on the house and pool. Benefits from a nice breeze which was great on the hot days. Mother-in-law disappeared up there a few times to escape!

Pool is immaculate, very clean, warm with a covered area to escape the sun. Plenty of loungers and a huge amount of kids stuff for the pool too. Fenced and properly gated so no worries with the kids.

House has a very fresh shabby chic feel, lots of windows and light with comfy sofas. Kitchen has all you need with a large table. Boxes of toys, books, cuddly toys. If you keep the main door and a couple of windows open it generates a good airflow and is remarkably cool inside.

Upstairs - plenty of room, amazingly comfortable beds and soft linen. Bathroom was good and a great shower.

The outside lean-to veranda to the villa is where we ate and BBQ'd. Ideal. Big table and enough chairs - protection from the sun too.

The early morning croissant and baguette run into St Pompont involved a 10 min walk going down and 15 up. Good work out. We loved it.

The village is beautiful and has a Saturday night party in the square which involves numerous cooked food vendors from Vietnamese to pizza and tapas. People sit at loads of tressle tables having picked up a bottle of wine or beer on draft. Absolute bliss and the food was excellent.

Small mini market in town is ok but limited. We drove to Daglan where there is a bigger one. Daglan is beautiful too and has 3 or 4 really good restaurants. La Cantine is really good with a great host and does a €25 fixed price menu.

St Pompont is ideal located as it is rural so you feel like you have escaped but also tends to only be half and hour drive to where you want to visit. Must do's are Domme - eat at the peninsula restaurant with incredible views. Or go to Chateau Castlenaud (busy though and queues) but worth a visit. Or drive up to Limeuil and sit on the banks of the Dordogne in the shade as the kids paddle. Monpaziac is also worth a visit on market day. We drove down to Catus which has a beautiful lake with a large sandy beach (sand must have been imported!). Remarkably warm water and perfect for kids.

I could go on but suffice to say this is the best villa we have stayed in and the most relaxing. You'd be mad not to book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thank you for kind review and for providing so much detail on the property, surrounding area and places to visit.
We look forward to hosting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Newe...
Oaksey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A beautiful house in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second summer in Rose Barn. The house is in a perfect setting, is light and airy, quiet, but near to St Pompon for those essential croissants. We look forward to another visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
St Pompon and the gites at Sol du Mazel are lovely indeed!
We look forward to your third year with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraCu...
North Waltham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful child friendly spot, great with Hope Cottage for extended family stays.”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Rose Barn is situated in a very large garden complete with lots of activities for children. Beautifully finished inside. It is located 1/2 mile from a village with mini market store, boulangerie and boucherie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and garden together with internal access to co-booked Hope Cottage.
Liked least: No downstairs loos.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Newe...
Oaksey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A beautiful gite”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stay in the Dordogne every summer and this is the best gite we have found. The barn is beautifully positioned, away from it all but not too far from local facilities, on a large plot with a good size pool, beautifully finished and well equipped with everything you could ask for. Our children are 19, 17 and 14 and they loved the gite, pool and local area too. The owners are very helpful. We aim to be back!

We went canoeing twice from Castelnaud (Bernard, the pool maintainer, recommended it and got us a discount) and visited the castle at Castelnaud. Monpazier on market day was fun as was market day in Daglan (a beautiful little village close by).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful gite, light and airy in large grounds with good sized pool.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d0rmie
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday in a lovely, quiet location”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just recently returned from our holiday with 2 young children (5 years and 18 months) at Sol Du Mazel and definitely plan to return in the future. We discovered this holiday accommodation through a recommendation from friends who had recently stayed at the owners other property in Kent. We therefore couldn't wait to discover Rose Barn.

The property has absolutely everything you would need when travelling with a young family and therefore mobilisation of the small army is made less painful. All essentials for an 18 month old toddler were provided and in excellent condition - stair gates, travel cot, High chairs, plastic crockery and children's cutlery, great selection of toys indoors and outdoors, tables and chairs (indoor/outdoor) etc. All essentials for a 5 year old were provided and again in excellent condition - puzzles, books, board games, balls, cricket, baseball, football goals, a fantastic array of pool toys and not to mention dominoes which has now become his favourite game. All of this in addition to the excellent play park within the grounds makes this an ideal retreat for young children and the bigger children...to enjoy.

The accommodation is of the highest standard and made us feel at home. We could not believe the condition of the interior given that this is advertised as a family retreat. There is plenty of space for the children to play indoors and the property is situated in vast grounds.

We made full use of the swimming pool and the children loved the hammocks. There were plenty of sun loungers with parasols and a large sheltered area for the children to escape from the sun.

The location is ideal as the picturesque village of Saint Pompont is less than 5 minutes drive yet there is not a sound to be heard when relaxing outdoors within the grounds. Absolutely perfect and just what we like. Bergerac airport is approximately 1hour drive. It was also only approximately 1.5 hour drive for us to see the Tour de France which is also a great event for children.

Katie and Andy were extremely helpful and informative which helped us plan our holiday with ease. All in all, a great, relaxing, fun holiday which we will definitely repeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, comfortable, essentials provided and remote location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anapops
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for families ”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Rose Barn for two weeks with our 6 year old son and 8 month old daughter and had a fantastic time. Friends rented the adjacent Hope Cottage, and it was the perfect set up: there's an interconnecting door joining the properties which means we could have our own personal space but also easily share resources and get the kids together.
The cottage is extremely well equipped with everything you might need for a baby. As for older kids, the playground is better than most local playgrounds! The location is also perfect, in the heart of the Dordogne with easy access to amazing sights including beautiful castles, caves, zoos and dozens of incredibly pretty villages. We didn't get enough sunshine to enjoy the swimming pool but there was never a dull day, there's so much to do. We also booked Rosie, the private chef recommended by the cottage owners, and that is definitely worth doing. She cooked a delicious four course meal and was delightful.
I would definitely rent Rose Barn again, and in fact we are talking about returning when our little one is a bit older.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing