We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Sol du Mazel, St Pompon, Dordogne, France. Hope Cottage and Rose Barn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sol du Mazel, St Pompon, Dordogne, France. Hope Cottage and Rose Barn.
Outdoor dining at Hope Cottage overlooking the meadow and pool Fabulous heated swimming pool 12m x 5m with Roman end for the smaller kids
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Sol du Mazel, St Pompon, Dordogne, France. Hope Cottage and Rose Barn.
Outdoor dining at Hope Cottage overlooking the meadow and pool
Fabulous heated swimming pool 12m x 5m with Roman end for the smaller kids
Open plan living at Hope Cottage
The dining and kitchen area at Hope Cottage
Master bedroom in Hope Cottage
Second bedroom at hope Cottage with two single beds
Hope Cottage
Shade to relax by the pool.
Everywhere in the Dordogne is beautiful
Climbing frame in full view of the gites
Looking back up to the gites.  Rose Barn on right, Hope Cottage on the left.
Exploring St Pompon
The excellent Envie en Mets restaurant in St Pompon
Domme market
Hope Cottage looks down to the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Domme, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen W
Lindfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hope cottage is a fantastic place for a family holiday. The cottage itself was very clean, well equipped (fab induction hob and sharp knives, lovely walk-in shower!) and we enjoyed cosy evenings in watching movies. The terrace is perfect for sitting out to eat, drink and watch the kids play in the garden. We really enjoyed the pool area, lots of inflatables for the kids and hammocks and sun loungers for relaxing. There are lots of things to see and do within easy reach – beautiful hilltop towns and villages, castles, chateaus, dinosaur parks and caves etc. as well as traffic free cycle paths (make sure to pre-book bike hire in peak season) and of course canoeing down the Dordogne (which was a particular highlight for us and our two girls (4 & 6). Out of all the holidays we've had in France, I would definitely recommend this place above all!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannetay...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing gite in a perfect location”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Hope Cottage for 10 days in early June and couldn't have asked for anything better. We were amazed at how gorgeous the cottage and grounds were when we arrived. This was our first trip abroad with our nine month old and the cottage had absolutely everything we needed - highchair, cot, pram, toys, books, baby food blender and much more. The local village is lovely with a very nice restaurant. The gite was so peaceful and we were lucky that the other gite was unoccupied so we had the pool and meadow all to ourselves! There are lots of things to do in the area and we can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, peaceful location
Liked least: Can't fault it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect relaxing holiday with children”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We travelled with our 3 small children (aged 5, 3 and 15 months). It is a long old trek driving down to the Dordogne with small children but it was well worth the drive when we arrived! The property has been beautifully furnished and is well equipped, the children loved their bedroom with the books and toys. The outside space is perfect for young families, with the swimming pool, trampoline, slide and sandpit we didn't need to go out at all if we didn't want to! A truly relaxing holiday, we plan to return with family/ friends in the future and rent both properties.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpf31
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An idyllic holiday and a wonderful French experience for the children”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage set in the most rural, peaceful setting. No need to visit anywhere else just walk into St Pompon, it has all you need for the best most relaxing holiday you will ever have.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The setting and location
Liked least: The distance from England we had to travel to get here
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabel W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil and beautiful setting with a large amount of space for children to play”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We would highly recommend Hope cottage for couples with young children. We were travelling with our 3 year old and six month old. The cottage is all kitted out for babies so felt very at home and comfortable. Our little boy was fully occupied all day with the lovely swimming pool, expansive grounds and trampoline. We also loved eating our meals outside looking out over meadow. There are plenty of places to visit nearby but we were more than happy to spend most days enjoying the pool and playing all kinds of games outside. A very relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim G
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay and Hope Cottage is in a beautiful location. The pool and garden bask in the sun the whole day through, the views are of lovely country side, and this is an ideal place to stay if you want to relax in tranquility. It is well suited to kids with plenty of outside space to run around in, play footbal, and of course the trampoline and slides.
The cottage was clean, spacious and had good quality fittings throughout, There was a wide range of games and toys for children of all ages.
The village of St Pompont is charming although not exactly buzzing.with activity and has the basic needs, mini market, butcher, baker, tobacco, 1 restaurant , 1 bar. The walk into the village through the woods is a lovely one but uneven and not really suited to toddlers or elderly, although the road way round is probably onyl 15 mins at a brisk pace.
Overall we loved our stay and would highly recommend to others

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizzyMD20...
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful spot”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous time and absolutely loved rose cottage and our meadow, play area and pool. The cottage was spotless when we arrived and had everything we need for our nearly 3 year old and one year old - high chair, toys, plastic cutlery etc. It has a gorgeous french feel with beautiful furniture. There was also small items like picnic ware and good knives and pots and pans which make the holiday much nicer when cooking. The area is great with lots to do with smallies within a short distance. There are lovely markets for picking up fresh produce and foires on in different villages in the area. We would recommend it big time for families with or without toddlers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing