We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect View”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vezac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Lys de Castelnaud
Ranked #2 of 4 Vezac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Thank you Nathalys for making our stay at Le Lys de Castelnaud most enjoyable. Your suggestions regarding restaurants and places to visit provided the guidance we needed to assure a memorable holiday. The delicious breakfasts and chit chat with the other guests got us started each morning. We are planning another trip to France and expect to revisit the Dordogne Region to see more caves and castles, to explore more country roads, to taste more good food and, of course, to visit with you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne dArc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Le Lys Castelnaud and look forward to returning in the future. The house is full of charm, character and presented beautifully by Nathalys who is full of charm and fun herself. The perfect hostess, who is happy to suggest places to visit, book restaurants and ensure that your stay is excellent in every way. The situation couldn't be better, there are so many beautiful places to see within easy reach. The Dordogne is a stunning region, what more can I say - enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We spend 4 nights in Le Lys' small "gite" - the only room with 2 beds - and I was ready to move in for a month! No one can every say enough good things out our hostess, Nathalys. From the quality of the accommodation, the wonderful breakfast, the welcome aperitif, the assistance with booking meals or any activities you wish. She is the top of the line. We found the location to be an excellent base for exploring the Dordogne region - caves, castles, lovely restaurants, Markets (especially Sarlat). Stay as long as you can and enjoy it all. We were really glad we went in mid-September as many attractions are still open but not over crowded.

Room Tip: We loved the studio appartment, allowing us to have one restaurant meal, then bring home a pizza or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jconifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Having read the reviews and watched Nathalys enchanting video I knew we would love staying here. The reality was even better! From the moment we arrived Nathalys was the perfect hostess and she made us feel very special.
We were welcomed with a cool drink and lots of local information, there was a fiesta that evening and Nathalys booked us into the bar/restaurant across the road where they had cooked an enormous Paella. Music followed, Nathalys and Dominique joined us and we had a lovely evening with the locals.
Next day a canoe trip was arranged for us with CPL (Ceynac Perigord Loisirs) A canoe from Cenac to Beynac cost 28 euros and we spent a leisurely 3 hours (including a stop for lunch) before being driven back to our car. Fantastic experience and not as hard as I imagined.
Nathalys recommended an upmarket restaurant for dinner, Lo Gorissado at St Andre (10-15 min drive) The food was excellent, delicious and beautifully presented. No English spoken but that only added to the charm.
We stayed in the Beynac room overlooking the Chateau. An atmospheric room, beautifully decorated with lots of medieval decorations and very comfortable, nice en-suite too.even the towels were in rich historical colours
Breakfast was fun, the 'York-shire' tea was good and the other guests delightful. I even had a chance to practice my rusty Spanish.
This was our 1st trip to the Dordogne, the area is lovely and we can't wait to visit again.. Beynac was worth the walk/climb to the top with some stunning views.
(Sorry to have written so much)
Thank you Nathalys and Dominique, see you again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndylou34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We returned to Le Lys de Castelnaud early June and found it even lovelier than before. Hosts Nathalie & Dominique continue to offer their warm welcome to guests, marvelous scrumptious breakfasts, help with dinner reservations, advice on enjoying lovely corners of the Dordogne. From their terrace and rooms, the picture perfect views of the beautiful castles along the Dordogne River are breathtaking and at night when illuminated, Castelnaud La Chapelle just opposite is especially enchanting. We are returning soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The rooms are creatively decorated in high medieval style in keeping with the surrounding castles..several suits of armor. The breakfasts are great. The views are grand from the veranda. A lovely trail below the B & B leads along the river to Beynac. But best of all is Nathalys. She is so energetic, fun loving, helpful and reasonable. I will be returning just to enjoy her hospitality again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side have the best view. Rooms with bath down the hall are a bit less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Staying at Nathalys' chambre was a great recommendation by travel writer Rick Steves. We six family members couldn't have been happier with the location and hospitality of our hostess. She stayed up late on our night of arrival to make sure we arrived safely and did everything in her power to make our stay comfortable. It was so enjoyable we wanted to stay a second night but unfortunately she was full. All three of our rooms looked directly across the river at Chateau de Castlenaud (coincidentally pictured on the cover of Steves' 2011 "France" book) which is beautifully lit at night. I highly recommend Le Lys to anyone visiting the Dordogne. We would love to return to Nathalys' chambre d'hotes.

Room Tip: Two rooms share a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vezac
2.2 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manoir de la Malartrie
1.8 mi away
Les Hauts De Saint Vincent
Les Hauts De Saint Vincent
#1 of 3 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Oustal de Vezac
9.1 mi away
Le Relais des Cinq Chateaux
0.9 mi away
Camping Les Deux Vallees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lys de Castelnaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lys de Castelnaud

Address: Le Luc, 24220 Vezac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Vezac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vezac
Price Range: £43 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nathalie and Dominique will welcome you to their atypical B & B in the heart of the Dordogne Valley. Come to go back to your roots in Black Perigord. We place verdure surroundings and a private car park at your disposal. Come to discover an area full of sporting and tourist's activities in warm and authentic surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Lys De Castelnaud Vezac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing