We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Dream Chateau!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoir de la Malartrie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vezac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manoir de la Malartrie
Ranked #1 of 4 Vezac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Dream Chateau!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I were excited to show our teenage children the sites of the Dordogne region of France at the beginning of June. Our delight at being back here was greatly enhanced as a result of our stay at the Manoir de La Malartrie. In every sense imaginable, this is a true chateau, build underneath the cliffs overlooking the Dordogne river and on its banks. Thischateau is absolutely enchanting with its myriad of sitting areas on multiple plateaus around the property, some carved into the rock cliffs and some overlooking the Dordogne river or adjacent to the large pool. We chose the Commarque suite which is comprised of two adjacent rooms, one for my husband and me with a queen size bed and the adjacent room with twin beds (equally spacious) for the kids. The bathroom consisted of a very large room (the size of most hotel rooms in Paris) with double sinks and a huge, glass framed shower and a sitting area. The rooms also had a seperate toilet facility. All rooms, including the bathrorom, had windows and views of the cliffs, garden, pool and river.

Our breakfasts were taken either in the banquet hall or in the chateau's charming garden. An equally lovelyl feature of this B&B is Ouafaa, the exceptionally gracious and helpful owner and manager of the B&B who served us breakfast every moning with a smile and provided impeccable advise on dinner options in Beynac and Vezac. Ouafaa and her husband's dedication to their lovely home is evident in its beautifully landscaped gardens as well as the stunning exterior of the Manor house and its rooms. This is a great location from which to enjoy the many attractions of the Dordogne - we absolutely loved our stay here. Thank you Ouafaa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JollyEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
131
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trinity Center
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Ouafaa and her husband Daniel are truly amazing. They make it their priority to make sure all their guests are happy and comfortable. They really pay close attention to the details. The grounds are spectacular with an amazing view of the Dordogne river. We enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast every morning outside on the lawn overlooking the river. Ouafaa offered just about everything you could hope to have for breakfast. Most everything was homemade/homegrown or purchased fresh locally. We started with a 2 night reservation and ended up staying 6 nights. Truly incredible experience and so relaxing!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My Wife and I spent May, 2014 traveling around France celebrating our 40th Anniversary. Our stay at the Manoir de la Malartrie was one of the best highlights. The location was the most beautiful of all the B&Bs; being located below a sheer rock cliff and adjacent to the Dordogne River. All views from the chateau are spectacular. From our room we could see a large castle on a distant hillside which made for great photos in the early morning fog.
The chateau itself is like a castle with beautiful stone and a very comfortable room. We took an early morning walk along an ancient path into the nearby village of La Roque Gageac. The stroll was so picturesque with lovely views at every turn.
Our hostess Quafaa was most hospitable. Shortly after our arrival she provided excellent chilled wine and home made goodies. The breakfast she served was by far the finest we had on our month-long trip. She went well beyond the standard French breakfast by providing an assortment of local fruit and nuts. We were full by simply sampling each delight.
What a wonderful place to stay! if we return to France this location and especially this B&B will be top on our list. Simply top notch in every respect!!

Room Tip: We were shown every room and every one looked great with different but excellent views. Be sure and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Manoir de la Malartrie is one of the most delightful places we found in all of France, let alone the Dordogne. The Chateau is lovely; the rooms are spacious and well appointed; the gardens and pool area are wonderful. Ouafaa is a most gracious host, constantly seeking to please her guests. (We arrived late at night hungry and tired when all the restaurants were closed, and she immediately brought a lovely bottle of wine, cheese, ham, bread, and olives to our room!) The Manoir has a perfect location, overlooking the river, and within walking distance to La Roque-Gageac, one of the prettiest villages in the Dodogne with a number of good restaurants, as well as kayaking and hiking options.

Look no further!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Such a warm welcome and beautiful lodging in Vezac, we will return and send our family and friends. The Manoir and grounds were wonderful and the breakfast was spectacular. We love B and B's, this was among the very best

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aventimigliamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Words cannot adequately express the beauty of the setting of the Manoir de la Malartrie. Ouafaa and Daniel have done an amazing job revitalizing the lodging and extensive grounds. The manoir is located in La Malartrie adjacent to La Roque Gageac on the Dordogne River. The manoir backs up to a sheer rock cliff and faces the Dordogne River. The grounds are impeccable. There are beautiful terraces located throughout the property. These are ideal spots for sitting and relaxing. We stayed in the Malartrie Room. It is a large room with a sitting area and a large terrace overlooking the Dordogne River. It also has a large bathroom with a walk-in shower. Our reservation was for 3 nights, but we added another night. We really hated to leave and stalled as long as we could. We have traveled all over Europe and this lodging rates as our all-time favorite. If you are planning on visiting the Dordogne Valley, which we heartily recommend, use this as your base lodging. You will be glad you did.

Room Tip: We really liked the Malartrie room. The owners are just completing a self-catering unit that is beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pktraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendon, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Hotel cam highly recommended by a former boss who is a well cultured and very discerning traveler.

The property is gorgeous, well maintained, and very clean. We stayed in the room that had a balcony view of the river, the Chateau, and the village. It is directly across the road from the river with towering cliffs overhanging the back of the property. The room we had was huge with a large well appointed bath. The joke was that our room in tours (which cost almost as much) the next night would fit in the bath at Malatrie. The Manor house is surrounded by fantastic gardens and you can cross the road and stroll along the river bank. There are 3 great medieval villageson the river to explore within a 5 km radius. I counted 5 chateaus within the same radius.

The hostess was kind and considerate. We arrived late in the afternoon (our GPS had led us to another Vezac). She took pity on our lack of French and made us reservations at a great restaurant in Beynac and must have said something to the host because he went out of his way to help us order at the restaurant. Although she had given us the code to the outer door, she stayed up to make sure we got back in ok. She prepared the next mornings breakfast herself. It wasn't the usual croisant and jam. She did Omelettes for us along with a half dozen different meats and a variety of fruits and nuts along with croisants and various pastries.

Room Tip: The room in the South East corner is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vezac
2.9 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Plume d'Oie
La Plume d'Oie
#3 of 4 in La Roque-Gageac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Pontet
Hotel Pontet
#1 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de la Malartrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de la Malartrie

Property: Manoir de la Malartrie
Address: La Malartrie, 24220 Vezac, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Vezac
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vezac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malartrie Manor is ideally situated in the heart of the golden triangle of the Périgord Noir, only a minute away from the famous gardens of Marquessac, between the banks of the Dordogne River and the cliffs of Roque Gageac. From the garden and the heated swimming pool, you will enjoy the panoramic views of the Dordogne valley.The rooms, all spacious, are modern and comfortably equipped. They are sophisticated, with precious fabrics and luxurious decoration. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manoir De La Malartrie Vezac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing