We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and well-situated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and well-situated hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed two nights at this small and quiet hotel in Arromanches (the town was ground zero for the D-Day invasion) between Christmas and New Year and we really enjoyed our stay. Our downstairs room was large, clean, and modern and the bathroom was well-equipped. It is five minutes walking distance from the beach so the location couldn't be better for this affordable hotel run by a quiet and caring couple who kindly offered us a jar of their homemade caramel sauce/topping upon leaving. The breakfast (not included in the price of the room) served buffet style was nutritious with a nice and plentiful selection of sweet and savory items. We were well-received by Sylvie, the proprietor, who recommended a very nice restaurant near by called "Les P'tites Assiettes."

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    90
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
101
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We chose this hotel, as it was close in town and all the sites. It met all our needs completely. It is more like a motel that you would find in the U.S., than what we usually see in Europe. The room was large for the 3 of us and the breakfast adequate to get us going for the day. We would highly recommend the hotel for those visiting the Normandy area.

Room Tip: We needed a triple with 3 single twin beds and this was provided in the lower end room. It was large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjpaulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A small, clean place with excellent parking. The town itself is a little stuck in a time-warp of being grateful to the Allies smashing up their town on D-Day 1944, but if you are interested in reminiscing about World Wars then this is a great place to be. Access to Caen and Bayeux is excellent. The room was clean and we stayed three nights with absolutely no complaints - oh only one, the weather wasn't that good!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms had a good view but if you have heavy bags then the ground floor is on the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our first stop off in France on our way down to the Vendee. I would highly recommend this hotel and so would my wife (who is particularly fussy). We were travelling with a 6 year old and 2 year old so had the quad family room. We were in room 9, which is a sort of annex to the end of the hotel with a double bed and two singles in a nicely sized room (which is good when you have young kids). It was very clean and pleasant. It is fairly basic (but still pleasant), so don't expect all singing all dancing, but it is comfortable and has everything you could need. The woman who runs the place is lovely and the breakfast that some have questioned in quality was spot on for all four of us. Arromanches itself is a lovely little town and we would use this hotel again without a hesitation.

One last point - When researching I looked on google street view and noticed the sign over the entrance to the car park. We have a big Volvo XC90 4x4 and were going to put the roof box on, but didn't in the end as I was concerned over access to the car park and also we didn't need it. I am not sure we would have got under the sign with the roof box on. Should be fine in any other car with a box on, but cycles on roof may struggle. Just a point to note. There is parking opposite so should not be an issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the annexe at the end of the hotel built i guess for families. It was very clean, and we would use this place again. We didn't go for the breakfast, there is a Boulangie just down the street that does excellent stuff..

The small car parking area is tight to get in and out of, but it is handy having a convenience store right opposite.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodydog666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this Hotel/Motel, a couple of years ago, so decided to head there when we got off the ferry at Ouistreham, it's only half hours drive away, as this was the start of our tour through France to Northern Spain on the motor bikes.

The place has changed hands since we last stayed, it has been updated, the rooms are bright and comfy. The new lady owner was very pleasant, we explained that it was far nicer than the last time we stayed.
The price has also changed, when we last stayed the price included breakfast, this time it was around 10 euros for it, which I think was a bit much for the choice that was on offer.

The location is great, a 2 minute walk and you are in the Main Street where the restaurants and bars are situated, and the beach is there too.

I would recommend this Hotel/Motel, parking is right outside your door, it's location is great for doing the D Day landing tour, a lovely quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euncstwrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertford
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Motel style Hotel but so central in Arromanches its fine. Very welcoming and parking right outside the room.
Made an excellent base to visit the various D-Day sites/sights and I never tire of looking at the remains of the Mulberry Harbour (sad I know).

Good WiFi. Skip the breakfast and use the Patisserie just down the road.

Room Tip: Skip the breakfast and use the Patisserie just down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisuHertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.1 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
0.1 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten

Property: Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Address: 20 boulevard Gilbert Longuet, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ideal Le Mountbatten Arromanches-Les-Bains, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing