We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!”
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de la Marine
Reviewed 16 May 2014

People can be too quick to say you can't get good service in France. Admittedly, when people speak a different language it can be harder to connect. BUT the staff at Hotel de la Marine are amazing, friendly, kind, happy and they also have great English language skills that make things that much easier.
The hotel has a restaurant right on the beach, the food is great and you can also include dinner, as well as breakfast, in your room rate. The included dinner does not give you access to expensive seafood like oysters, but you can use the value of your meal to make other selections and then pay the difference.
Great hotel and excellent service.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are of course the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLRinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed one night here in May, having picked out the hotel many years ago as one we wanted to visit, and were pleased to have eventually made it here. The welcome was first class, as was the dinner. The room was small, with very little room to pass between the bed and the furniture, but it was clean and comfortable. The location and history of Arromanches means that there are a lot of English guests there (including an old gentleman who complained the food was "too foreign". I wonder what he expected...), but the very French ambience made up for that.

La Marine is a lovely small hotel which I will probably go back to in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardfromFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I took my 89 year old friend who was confined to a wheelchair, back to Arromanches for the first time since he saw action on the 6th June 1944, the Hotel staff were superb in their respect and care for him. This charming Hotel (which was commandeered by the Nazis, during their occupation of France), is a throw back to the days when service and courtesy was the norm. The restaurant which overlooked the beach, offers superb cuisine, with seafood a speciality. The ensuite room we had on the 2nd floor (accessed by a lift) offered unrivalled views of the beaches. It was very clean and spacious for our requirements.

Room Tip: Good room 2nd floor overlooking the beach, don't miss the newsreel in the museum. Lots of friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulio3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in October 2013 during a 8 day Normandy trip. This old hotel just oozes ambiance, with point blank views of the Mulberry Harbour. We had booked a seaview and we got that, it's so close to the beach, well worth it. It was very gusty one evening and we were pleased to hear the high tide surf. We were very impressed with the quality of service at front desk and restaurant. Make sure you reserve a table early, or you may not get one, as it is popular with hotel guests as well as others in the area. We had decent breakfasts as part of our package. The first floor room and bathroom were small, but expected considering the age. A burnt out bathroom light bulb was quickly replaced. We found the wifi worked great from our room.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a sea view for maximum ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I had reservations for two nights at the end of this September 2013. When we first arrived in our room we were overcome with the horrible smell of fish, cigarette smoke and bleach. The carpet was absolutely filthy in which you would not walk on bare footed. My husband almost broke his neck in the shower because evidently they forgot to rinse the tub of the bleach that was trying to kill the fish smell. Maybe someone cleaned their fish there? We slept with the windows open to eliminate the odor as well as having no AC however, that just brought the street noises and bright lights into our room. After getting no sleep for the night we checked out the next morning while explaining the situation to the receptionist without any satisfaction. She still charged us for two nights stay because of our reservations even though we only stayed one night. Once again it's a great location but not worth the loss of a nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxyquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel de la mar... M, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Sir,
We thank you very much to have taken the time to share your experience about our property. Our ultimate goal is your satisfaction and are really sorry to failed with you.
We also would like to share your stay, because we can hear many things but only if that's true.
You booked 2 nights with a well-known web site agency at the end of September with a great deal for the price. You checked in and were disapointed because you did not have a view on the sea (but that was the deal... good price but no view). At your check-in except the fact of the view, we did not have any comments about a smell of fish in your room, dirty carpets or all the things you described ?? It seems really strange to think that you were able to stay in if what you describe is true. We can understand that you were disappointed but we can't let you write wrong things about our propery. And overall because you wrote us an email threaten us to write comments on all the sites you can find if we did not refund you the night we charged you.
Regarding the bleach, it is totally forbidden to use it in the hotel, so you didn't have the possibilty to smell bleach.
Regarding the noise you can heard, the room you had was in the street of the reception. In this small street (a one way street and a dead street), the only traffic you can have is 2 cars going in our small car park (full at around 4pm). AlsoArromandhes is a small village with no Casino, no night club and has the reputation of a very quiet village, so we really wonder what kind of noise you can heard except sea gulls maybe !
So really once again, we are really sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay but please don't write such things when it is not true just because you're disappointed.
We wish you a very pleasant day.
Mme Durand Lénaïc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed two nights. The rooms are a bit dated but understandable for the age of the hotel. Only found Internet if you were in the bar. Breakfast was okay. Several people told us the dinner was excellent there, but he price kind of pushed us away. The location and view of the artificial harbor is fantastic. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael_1988-now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in September in this wonderful little hotel on the Northern Coast of France as a central point to visit the Beaches of Normandy. It was a perfect spot: quaint, very accommodating, wonderful restaurant attached, and perfect for touring the local area. When we reserved our room, we requested a "sea view" room and we were given a room with fantastic views of the sea from two sides, it was quite incredible. The entire staff was helpful and the rooms, although small, were immaculate and very comfortable.
We highly recommend this hotel.
Shelly Myers

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cityvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#3 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
197 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#6 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#2 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
273 reviews
3.9 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1 quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range: £77 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing