We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been left to the occupying forces”
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de la Marine
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Everything in Arromanches is about twice as expensive as elsewhere in France. Everyone seems to be 'milking' the the D day experience for every last dollar. This hotel is no exception , over 10 euros for a large beer and a lemonade and a room that wouldn't cost £40 over here is £90 there. Stayed in 8 different hotels on a trip from Spain and France and this was by far the worst. Mean little room, gloomy lighting, paper thin walls and poor noisy plumbing. Two redeeming factors, the receptionists are multi-lingual and we could see the sea!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Writing this not only for myself but also for the Veterans of the Cornwall Branch of the Landing Craft Association. I would like to thank the owners and all the staff for their excellent hospitality for our group, during the D-Day 70th anniversary commemoration. Even though the hotel was at capacity and rushed off their feet for the single biggest event in 10 years, they were still able to go the extra mile with the service provided and a true respect given to all our veterans
We stay at this hotel every year for the D-Day anniversary and find it an ideal central location to view all the WW2 sites in Normandy.
Once again, i would like to say thank you, and hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popeyeNqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay in this lovely hotel for 2 nights in the middle of May without prior reservations. The friendly young woman at the reception desk was able to offer us accommodations, although in a different room each night. This wasn't a problem because the rooms were right next to each other and the hotel staff transferred our luggage from one room to the other while we were out sightseeing.

Arromanches des bain is a small town on what WWII history buffs know as Gold beach. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to various shops, cafes and the local museum.

The hotel is cozy and has a restaurant facing the beach where we enjoyed a lovely breakfast buffet everyday. What a great way to wake up with a cup of coffee or tea.We also opted to have dinner there in the evening. My seafood entrees were expertly prepared and delicious. My husband had chicken prepared with a creamy mushroom sauce and silky mashed potatoes that were memorable.

Both my husband and I enjoyed a pre-dinner cocktail called a Kir Normande which is local cider (cidre) with a splash of creme de cassis, as well as a postprandial Calvados, also locally made.

The rooms were simply decorated, well-maintained and had a spectacular view of the beach--we could open the windows up to let the ocean breezes into the room. There is an elevator, as well as a stairway to get to the upper floors.

All of the front desk staff was warm, friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. Before we left for Paris, the young woman at the desk advised us that driving a car in Paris can be a nervewracking experience and perhaps we should use another method of transportation for our visit. Thankfully, we took her advice and dropped the car off before heading into Paris by taxi.Her advice spared us from spending hours in frenetic, rush hour traffic.

Watching the sun set on Arromanches beach was beyond beautiful and will stay with me the rest of my life. Seeing the WWII artifacts remaining on the beach was a poignant reminder of the sacrifices those before us made to secure the freedom we often take for granted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cydny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Superb location, second to none, adjacent to the DDay landing beach. Parking limited, but there is a free car park nearby. Staff friendly and helpful. But the bedroom was tiny, and storage space very limited. We couldn't unpack as there was nowhere to put anything and we were tripping over our bags all the time. We asked to be moved to a bigger room which meant a hefty price increase. The larger room was lovely, superb views, we opened the window and could hear the waves on the beach. Conveniently situated for the museum and I recommend a visit to the 360* cinema. We did enjoy our stay. The sense of history is very strong and it's an emotional experience remembering the events of 70 years ago.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mutleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

People can be too quick to say you can't get good service in France. Admittedly, when people speak a different language it can be harder to connect. BUT the staff at Hotel de la Marine are amazing, friendly, kind, happy and they also have great English language skills that make things that much easier.
The hotel has a restaurant right on the beach, the food is great and you can also include dinner, as well as breakfast, in your room rate. The included dinner does not give you access to expensive seafood like oysters, but you can use the value of your meal to make other selections and then pay the difference.
Great hotel and excellent service.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are of course the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLRinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed one night here in May, having picked out the hotel many years ago as one we wanted to visit, and were pleased to have eventually made it here. The welcome was first class, as was the dinner. The room was small, with very little room to pass between the bed and the furniture, but it was clean and comfortable. The location and history of Arromanches means that there are a lot of English guests there (including an old gentleman who complained the food was "too foreign". I wonder what he expected...), but the very French ambience made up for that.

La Marine is a lovely small hotel which I will probably go back to in future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardfromFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I took my 89 year old friend who was confined to a wheelchair, back to Arromanches for the first time since he saw action on the 6th June 1944, the Hotel staff were superb in their respect and care for him. This charming Hotel (which was commandeered by the Nazis, during their occupation of France), is a throw back to the days when service and courtesy was the norm. The restaurant which overlooked the beach, offers superb cuisine, with seafood a speciality. The ensuite room we had on the 2nd floor (accessed by a lift) offered unrivalled views of the beaches. It was very clean and spacious for our requirements.

Room Tip: Good room 2nd floor overlooking the beach, don't miss the newsreel in the museum. Lots of friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulio3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#6 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#4 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#2 of 6 in Arromanches-les-Bains
266 reviews
3.9 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 1 quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range: £68 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Hotel
Hotel De La Marine Arromanches-Les-Bains, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing