We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Mulberry
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is very cute, well positioned just a couple of streets from the beach & restaurants. Had a triple room, clean, warm & large. Only problem was that reception is only open,0900hrs-1300hrs, then 1700hrs. Breakfast was good. Close to all ww11 beaches & only 20mins from bayeaux.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    87
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
73
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We arrived in the pouring rain only to be greeted warmly by Christian. He was so accommodating and quickly showed us where we could park our car. The rooms were small but very comfortable and the bathrooms immaculate. We ate in the Cafe at the restaurant where Christian's wife Sophie was the cook. The food was excellent and once again Christian was friendly and engaging. The location of the hotel was perfect for going onto the American Cemetery and Omaha Beach. A great place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building. We were in the back where you hear the church bells in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is a small hotel on a side street in Arromanches-les-Bains. It is within walking distance of the beach, museum and shops in the town. Parking is difficult, especially during the day. Our room was very small, but for the price (which also included breakfast), it was adequate. Since seating in the room was limited, we spent time in the seating area of the attached restaurant. Christian kept a watchful eye on his patrons, serving aperitifs, wine, beer and snacks. The Wi-fi was excellent in both the room and the downstairs seating area.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, and all the rooms are up at least one flight of narrow stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maizymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Christian was very accommodating and always had a smile. He was always very responsive on email and replied in near perfect English. We showed up around midnight and he was there to greet us with a smile. He also made space for our bikes in the back hallway so we didn't have to keep them in our room. The rooms are typical French hotel rooms...very plain. We had a bed, small bathroom and a small closet. I think there was a small TV on the wall and one small picture. Otherwise, no decor whatsoever. The breakfast was also very French. Croissant, cereal, orange juice and coffee or tea. No hot foods or cold cuts. I did not have dinner but I am willing to bet it would have been good as France is known for its exquisite dinners. The town of Arromanches is convenient for excursions to the various beaches and other sights in the area. It is a very quiet town...which I appreciated. The one exception is the 7am church bell that is right outside the rooms on the backside of the hotel. Overall, Le Mulberry is just as good as any other French hotel, but Christian's awesome attitude is what makes the difference. Oh, and it was VERY reasonably priced!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank airpower4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We picked the hotel at random and arrived at 15:30,completing a long journey ahead of time. That's when we discovered the hotel was closed until 17:00. I didn't expect to enjoy our stay. The staff were very welcomig and the room was clean and comfortable, without being luxurious. The food made up for it all - a limited menu (which I believe is updated daily) with a good range of well presented French dishes at a reasonable price - and a sensinble wine list.
The staff continued to be charming and very helpful, advising us on trips and visits.
We will be going back - just later in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Check opening times
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barkway, Herts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We have been eating here every time we have visited over the last ten years. This has covered two changes in ownership, and the present incarnation is probably the best. The menu is small but the quality high, specializing in regional dishes.What they do they do very well. Service, whilst not of regimental efficiency, is helpful, friendly and suits the informal atmosphere of the place. Whilst we have never stayed here ourselves, friends who have are complimentary about the hotel accommodation. Euro for Euro my favorite eating place in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable, inexpensive and has a great location in the historic D-Day town of Arromanches. The sea front is nearby with extraordinary views of the channel and the floating concrete harbours (Mulberries) which were towed across from Britain in June 1944. The restaurant in the hotel is outstanding and the food is of very high quality. I recommend Hotel le Mulberry very strongly indeed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hywel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mulberry

Property: Le Mulberry
Address: 6 rue Maurice Lithare, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Mulberry 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mulberry Hotel Arromanches-Les-Bains
Le Mulberry Arromanches-Les-Bains, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing