We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service in a Great Location”
Review of Le Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Mulberry
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly Service in a Great Location”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Christian the host was lovely. We found Arromanches the perfect place to stay to explore the Normandy beaches. Others complained of the church bell, but we didn't find it a problem, it simply added to the charm and unless you had the window open, it wasn't that loud. We stayed 5 nights in the family room, my wife, myself and our 11 year-old son. It was spacious and clean, bathroom was good. Nothing to complain about at the Mulberry if you are looking for well priced, reasonable accomadation and a charming host

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    88
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
76
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We arrived and were checked in by a very welcoming young man who showed us to our family room on the top floor, note that the staircase is very steep and spiral to the top floor. A good sized room with a well equipped bathroom ensuite and roof windows including one overlooking the infamous clock tower. Hanging space is a little limited, and the one thing that would be a nice touch would be a tray with a kettle, cups and saucers and some tea/coffee which is sadly missing at present. A gentleman helped carry our cases up the stairs who later transpired to be Christian the owner. Breakfast is continental with cereals, orange juice, yoghurts, fresh bread a crossant and a choice of preserves. We ate in the restaurant one evening, the menu is traditional Normandy, rustic and tasty. Unfortunately as they were closing the next day for three days the menu was more limited than usual. As mentioned earlier the clock provides a very good 7am alarm call enabling you to be fully ready for breakfast at 8.30 !
The hotel has no parking, but there are plenty of public spaces nearby which are only full during the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongodog1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Overlook that there's no fire escape notice on the inside of the bedroom door, accept that you might have to walk 50m from where you've parked your car, resign yourself to the fact that the church bell will deafen you at 7am after its overnight curfew... in fact, forget what you'd normally expect from your average hotel and just embrace the Mulberry for what it is - a really lovely, quirky and honest place to stay right at the heart of the historic Normandy beaches, yet within 30 mins drive of the ferry port near Caen. Hospitality and food are the real high points though. The family really do make you feel welcome and our evening meal was simply great. 210€ secured beds for one night for the three of us to include three two course meals with cidre, wine and coffee all round. Icing on the cake was the substantial packed lunch we were presented with for our onward journey.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Arromanches-les-Bains is a good location for visiting Normandy, with easy drives to Caen, Bayeux and the Normandy Beaches, and a short walk down the street to the Mulberry Harbour and Museum.
We stayed for 3 nights.
Our room at Le Mulberry was around the back of the main building. It was spacious and comfortable with easy parking around the back of the hotel near the church. The church bell was not an issue for us, and quite a nice way to start the day.
Breakfast was nice and they were also able to provide gluten free bread on request. Christian kindly gave me the rest of the packet to take to our next destination.
Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed the week we were staying there, so we were unable to try it out. Christian, the host, was able to help out with suggestions for eating, including a good suggestion to visit Port-en-Bessin for seafood.
Le Mulberry is good value for money and all you need for a short stay in Normandy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This small hotel has 7 rooms. It is right on the front - if you want to tour the beaches then this is a perfect hotel. The staff are very friendly, happy with families and groups. The family room we stayed in was of good size, possibly the cleanest room I have known - that goes for the whole hotel and the restaurant as well - comfy beds, spacious bathroom. We had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was delicious, croissants, cereals, jams, great coffee et.c. Check out is at 11am, check in between 5 and 7 pm. I would say that anyone with mobility problems would find the stairs to the rooms very challenging and would say that anyone who is in a wheelchair should probably look elsewhere.
However, this hotel for us was fantastic, the restaurant attached - superb. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a good size family room for four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
257 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

It is a cute little hotel. It is layed out over a couple of buildings.....all in a group. There were 6 of us staying in 3 rooms. We had room 9 and 10, around the corner of the main entrance. Next to it was another small building where our teenage grand daughters stayed. This was a single upstairs unit. All room sizes were adequate. Showers were fine, and flat screen TV, ..all in French; free wi fi, but the back rooms it is sporadic. As another reviewer commented......there is a cute church, but between 7 am and 10 pm, bong bong. Good wake up.
It is a short walk to the Main Street and a great museum, and close to other Normandy venues. Oh, do try the the 360 video up the hill from the hotel. Outstanding. Back to the hotel. Christian is a very personable proprietor , and does a nice job for breakfast, which is included. They serve dinner as well, but we went into,the village it's ot thehilton, but had a lot of French charm.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is very cute, well positioned just a couple of streets from the beach & restaurants. Had a triple room, clean, warm & large. Only problem was that reception is only open,0900hrs-1300hrs, then 1700hrs. Breakfast was good. Close to all ww11 beaches & only 20mins from bayeaux.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arromanches-les-Bains
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#3 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel D'arromanches
Hotel D'arromanches
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Villas d'Arromanches
Les Villas d'Arromanches
#1 of 2 in Tracy-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#4 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mulberry

Property: Le Mulberry
Address: 6 rue Maurice Lithare, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Mulberry 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mulberry Hotel Arromanches-Les-Bains
Le Mulberry Arromanches-Les-Bains, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing