We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Noisy hot and smelly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Rennes Cesson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Rennes Cesson
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cesson-Sevigne
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Noisy hot and smelly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The room is facing the highway and there is no air conditioning, it's hot with the window closed but too noisy to open the window. The room was smelly as well. It was a bad experience. I wouldn't recommend unless you have little budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    113
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
22
64
30
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The Good:
- Breakfast OK. Good may be stretching it but it was fine. Not a bad selection of pastries and cheese but no real hot foods.
- Room was nice, somewhat new and a homely touch to it. Bed was comfy. Shower good.

The Bad:
- Wifi stopped after about an hour of us being there then didn't return until the next morning where it was lightning fast.
- Location. Our sat nav picked this up as a point of interest straight away and was easy enough to find. However unless you're working in the commercial park, it's probably not going to be convenient for too much.
- Building. From the outside I wasn't sure what I had got myself into. It really didn't look like a mercure. It really needed a facelift and it hasn't been open that long! Once inside though it was quite nice and rooms were good. Just that facade...

The Ugly:
- We booked this as the extra we paid from the ibis we would normally stay would be made up in points in the 40th anniversary promotion... Which never eventuates in our accor account. Now I have to go chase them up to get the credit despite being booked through accorhotels.com

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
557 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Location is in middle of what looked like industrial area but is actually commerce, right on very busy road. Nothing in walking distance, no shops, no bars. Hotel is good for those on business/passing though. Rooms are large and clean albeit a bit dark. Lighting is poor. Shower is great and clean, good hairdryer, bed was excellent. Tea tray in room but no fridge. Double glazing keeps out noise. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast can be served on a tray in the room. There is a separately owned restaurant which does not open until 7.30 pm. The two meals I had there were superb. This is a good hotel just don't arrive here if you have no transport and time to pass. There is nowhere to pop to for a snack, cashpoint or even just a look round unless you get a taxi into Rennes.

Room Tip: Try out the restaurant. Wine is cheaper in restaurant than bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We usually book Accor-Etap and Ibis hotels but thought we would upgrade to Accor Mercure but it was disappointing. As other reviewers have mentioned the hotel was very hard to find and isolated. The hotels are generally in industrial areas but close to an eaterie of some sort. Breakfast was included but was dried up and not replenished presumably as eating area not manned. The trick I expect is to get there at time the food is laid out. The hotel caters for business folk and I was shocked to realise there was no food available outwith breakfast which was a let down. Food ends on Friday. We ended up in a local McDonalds although this was actually quite nice as it had a McCafe! I hadn't come across this before. This sold fancy coffees, hot chocolates and macaroons. The hotel room was to a good standard but I didn't like the dim lighting and had a problem with the air conditioning too, it was hot. There was secure parking which was free and located underneath the hotel. There was a good range of tourist information available on the 1st floor in what appeared to be a reading area and I quite liked this feature. I wouldn't choose this particular hotel again although the room was ok and the staff pleasant enough. The location and lack of weekend facilities were not good enough to tempt me back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I flew in late from Paris and wanted a hotel close to the airport. Many hotels in Rennes were fully booked, due to a trade fair, so the Mercure was relatively close and near the main ring road. I recommend to use a GPS even though you can see the hotel from the main road, as it is kind of tricky to leave the ring road and you have to go through a number of roundabouts.
The person at the front desk spook English and she was helpful in storing some of my perishable samples in a refrigerator. The rooms are small, but clean and well-isolated, so no noise from the ring road.
The hotel was not very cheap, which might be due to the trade fair that week. The breakfast was completely over-priced. More than 15€ for some bread, few yoghurts etc. Coffee tasted bitter. So I recommend to buy some breakfast-on-the-go in a supermarket in stead.

Room Tip: Do not worry about getting a room facing the ring road, as the double glazing prevents noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins Co
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Where to begin! First, hotel is very difficult to find even with our GPS. Signage is lousy both on the building and on feeder streets leading to building. Hotel is located in a strip office (?) bulding. Reception area was staffed by a young man who was holding down the fort on a weekend. When we got to the room (on the ground floor facing a busy highway) we found it smallish but clean as was the bathroom. Lighting was atrocious. Tried to use the wifi (after having to go to the front desk to get the login info that we should have been given upon checkin) and couldn't access it. Front desk said other person on the ground floor hadn't complained so must be my computer. Took my netbook to him as well as my iPod Touch. He couldn't log in either. His solution was not to see if the wireless server was actually on (he had not personally asked the other guest if he had tried to use the wifi) but to tell me that he could do nothing. We had to drive into the other Mercure near the rail station to use our netbook in their lobby to make our further travel arrangements as well as check email. Next morning we discovered that the wifi was working - apparently the morning desk person remembered to turn on the wifi server! No apologies were forthcoming. Avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSU_prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cesson-Sevigne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cesson-Sevigne
Hotel Les Loges
#1 of 6 in Chantepie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Best Western Plus Hotel Isidore
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jacques-de-la-Lande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Rennes Beaulieu
#4 of 10 in Cesson-Sevigne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Saint Hélier
Novotel SPA Rennes Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rennes Cesson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rennes Cesson

Property: Mercure Rennes Cesson
Address: 40 rue du Bignon | Forum de la rocade, 35510 Cesson-Sevigne, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Cesson-Sevigne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cesson-Sevigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rennes Cesson 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built latest generation 3 star hotel offering 61 ultramodern luxury rooms. Located just 5 minutes from the centre of Rennes on the ring roads allowing easy access to all key locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Rennes Cesson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing