We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Countryside retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Our beautiful roses in May 2017!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our beautiful roses in May 2017!
Our cottage The cosy sitting room with wood burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Our beautiful roses in May 2017!
Our cottage
The cosy sitting room with wood burning stove.
A delicious lunch of local produce.
The front garden with fruit trees and ample car parking.
The cosy king size bed.
The garden at the rear.
A great start to any day!
The well equipped kitchen.
seat for the sous chef in the kitchen!
A fragrant kitchen!
Musicians welcome!
The lovely French bed is situated in a cosy nook.
The beautiful Chateau and village of Apremont are only 5 minutes away.
The city of Nevers and it's stunning cathedral is only 29 minutes away.
The walks along the nearby canals are a delight!
One of our favourite lunch destinations.
A lovely Silkie at the local market!
Mont D'Or for lunch!
A charming cheese merchant at the market!
The Hoopoe is a regular visitor to the garden.
The peaceful lake in the nearby woods.
A little rose in the garden at sunset?
A local specialty - Pate De Pomme De Terre. Delicious!
The tranquility is wonderful!
A warm welcome awaits you!
One of the lovely canal walks near this the cottage.
The sky at night.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sancerre, Cher, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
marjolain...
Paris, France
1 review
“Countryside retreat”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at the cottage for 4 days, using it as a base to visit Sancerre and the Pouilly region for excellent gastronomy and superb wines. There are many traditional wine makers in the area, who open the doors of their chateaux where one can taste delicious beverages. We also enjoyed Sancoins market (Saturday mornings, less than 10 minutes drive away) for fresh produces.
The cottage is very homely, we enjoyed cooking and lounging, relaxing to the sound of the crackling fireplace. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, the comfort and the decor.
The owners are helpful and know the area well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: homely, peaceful, beautiful place, well located
Liked least: nothing! very pleasurable stay!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thanks Marjolaine! We knew you loved it there all that time ago: it's time you came back!

Best

Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan553
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape to the French Countryside.”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our seven day stay in La Maison Tranquille was a real highlight of our European trip this year. After a week in the busy streets of Paris, the total change of pace in this beautiful corner of the Loire Valley was perfect. The cottage was spacious and very comfortable with everything we needed and more. Its location in a very small village/commune means that it's a great place to get away from things but there's lots to see in the surrounding region as well just a short drive away.
We would recommend La Maison Tranquille to any one looking to experience the authentic French countryside in style and comfort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A beautiful stay that exceeded our expectations.
Liked least: We had rain for the entire time we were there but you can't pick your weather.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila M
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing, comfortable, well equipped. A perfect base to explore the area”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I have to say, we were extremely fortunate with the weather during our stay in the late October half term week. By day it was pleasantly hot, and by night cold enough to justify lighting the very large wood burning stove. We had not anticipated using the paddling pool or garden toys that were provided in the"cave" but they were much appreciated.The garden is delightful with plenty of room for children to play, or just to relax and watch the charolais cattle and the sun go down. Our bed was extremely comfy and was very conducive to a sound nights sleep.
The house is very well equipped and is furnished to a high standard. Dorothy, the host has thought of everything!
The local key holder, Martine is very friendly and it is essential that you try some of her goats cheese! The house is a good base to explore the surrounding areas. Apremont is just down the road and it is accurately described as one of the most beautiful villages in France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Woodburning stove
Liked least: Can't think of anything -sorry!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_s...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved this beautiful cottage! It certainly lived up to it's name - it was so peaceful there. The house was very well equipped and we really appreciated the welcome pack! The house was beautifully furnished and very comfortable and we adored the wood burning stove -so cosy! Thanks also to Martine for showing us round the cottage and for her delicious cheese.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning stove
Liked least: Not a thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londoncou...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissfully peaceful!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a week at la maison tranquille and it was a truly lovely respite from the chaos of London! Very peaceful and tucked away - but supermarket and lovely places to visit just a short cycle or drive away.
Apremont is a 15minute cycle away and just beautiful. We also found it easy to visit Sancerre, Pouilly Fume and Bourges. Very well equipped cottage and well kept.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. I was so pleased your journey across Paris went well and the train journey down to the cottage too. Judging by the guest book you did have an adventure packed week, including a canoe trip down the Allier River! Hats off to you!
I hope you have a wonderful Autumn and that you might return to this lovely part of France sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
858Sarah
Brockham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Peaceful cottage with lovely garden”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this very peaceful cottage. The enclosed garden was large and interesting and good for children to run about in. The house was cosy and very well equipped.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
I am delighted to have your review and to hear that the cottage suited the whole family. I have spoken to you since the review and was pleased that there were no specific problems with your stay. The bistro in the village is now open and we are all enjoying having our morning baguettes just along the road! And an evening meal when we don't want to cook! I hope you have a wonderful Autumn.

Best

Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip H
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“La Maison Tranquille - a lovely cottage & very aptly named”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Cottage is well appointed & restored with care. The photos on the living room wall show that a lot of hard work has been done, both inside & outside, to get it to the current lovely condition. We found it quite spacious, well equipped & peaceful.
The position as the last cottage on the lane meant only the odd tractor passing.
A visit to Apremont-sur-Allier, 3 miles up the road, to see the village, Chateau & Parc Floral, is well worth the time. There are also quite a few chateaux in the area, the one at Saggone , 20 minutes drive, being a good example of those to see.
The local key holder, Martine, was very friendly & helpful on our arrival, showing us around & explaining how things worked.
We would certainly return to the cottage next time we are in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage & the arearounda
Liked least: The two thunder storms in the fortnight we were there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
I am delighted to hear that your stay at La Maison Tranquille met your expectations both for relaxation and adventure. The opportunities to find lovely visits are endless here in this region. And we would be delighted to have you back again!

Best

Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing