We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Made with Love”

La Cote des Monts Damnes
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Sancerre
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Winter Park, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food Made with Love”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were staying in Sancerre but were visiting some wineries in the surrounding area when we stumbled across this very busy restaurant in the small town of Chavignol. We decided to come back that night and give it a try. We were very pleased. The food and service was much better than many of our experiences in larger cities. There is a language school in Sancerre which brings us to the area annually. Looking forward to going back to La Cote next summer!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlmiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    94
    32
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sancerre, France
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very nice small restaurant in Chavignol, a village famous for goat cheese and Sancerre wine.”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Very nice small restaurant in Chavignol, a village famous for goat cheese and Sancerre wine. The restaurant is part of a small hotel owned by the winery Domaine Henri Bourgeois. There is also a bistro in the hotel that is frequented by local winery workers for lunch. The restaurant is very popular with locals for a special night out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Zuluquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I had no idea that I could have such an amazing dining experience outside of Paris.”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We arrived late and were worried we wouldn't be able to get a table. But the owners and staff were so gracious and polite and welcomed us. The menu was filled with so many appetizing selections. I finally decided on the veal chops and it was amazing. The service was very attentive and professional. The wine list featured many local wines of the Sancerre region. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Excellent cheese cart”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Wonderful restaurant in Sancerre. Hard to find as the gps doesn't understand the location and takes you too far up the hill. Great menu. Wine pairings with sancerre wines. Great prices. A lovely evening.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gloryb2god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich UK
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“OK, nothing special”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Maybe it was the pre-visit hype, but we were not terribly enthused by lunch here, on a recent Sunday. It hosts coach parties doing the wine-tasting circuit at Bourgeois' winery up the road, and is geared up for that style of catering, and was full, and we'd needed to book. No complaints about the service which was swift and competent but we had an average bistro meal which was immediately forgettable. Starter for example was tiny portions of grilled chavignol on toast with some limp lettuce; main was small portion of not terribly fresh cabillaud with a chunk of (quite good) omlette / courgette galette, cheese course very poor / unripe and too cold. Wines by the bottle are severely marked up (for example the wine "of the moment", a Hubert Brochard Sancerre Rouge (very good in itself), was over twice the cave price as available 50 yards down the road). But they did have reasonable Vin de Pays by the carafe. There is a much more expensive restaurant attached; presumably the food comes from the same kitchen. There are several other little eateries in Chavignol which looked more authentic and I'd suggest you check them out first.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cote des Monts Damnes also viewed

 

Been to La Cote des Monts Damnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing