We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food, bad service”

La Cote des Monts Damnes
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Sancerre
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad service”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The food was not fresh. My "dos de cabillaud" was dry and my wife's "sauce au poivre" was definitely not home made. As for the service, we had to catch the waiters' attention every time they passed by our table. Our waiter even forgot at which course our neighbors were and handed them the menu for the desert while they hadn't had their main course yet.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbeBusoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    92
    31
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
668 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Nice setting, many locals having lunch”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a very pleasant group lunch at La Cote des Monts Damnes. Most of the other guests appears to be people from the area. My chicken entree (not something I usually order) was very flavorful. The high point was the lemon pie served for dessert -- very tart and served with a scoop of lemon sorbet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“pleasant service, mediocre food in the bistro”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Having found the hotel room here to be of high standard, we were anticipating a pleasant dinner.
Although the room was full the two servers were pleasant and efficient. My starter of chicken terrine was fridge cold and therefore relatively tasteless although obviously skillfully made. The salad of warm goats cheese ordered by Wendy was no better or worse than that served in many chain cafes. The mains were - well - ordinary. Brochette of beef with frites maison - 5 small cubes of beef (grilled to my order admittedly) and a mound of flabby chips with no crunch served with my second choice of sauce since they had run out of the first and this at only 8.30. Wendys salmon was well cooked but served most oddly with a mound of freezing ratatouiile "because that is the way the chef likes it" and no sauce save a trendy smear of balsamic.

We'll gloss over the most odd cafe gourmand and its pot of cold rice pudding for which we had to pay a supplement and the OK Sancerre at 25 euros a bottle.

For a bill of just shy of 75euros we were frankly expecting a lot more quality. The followng day for 6 euros more we ate a Michelin star lunch of outstanding quality and value at the excellent La Tour in Sancerre.

Shame really!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendyandpeterchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great lunch on a walk through the vineyards”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Having walked for 90 minutes from Sancerre along the side of the valley we visited the bistro for a lunch and some respite from the sun. The Salade de Crottin (speciality goats cheese from the village) and the Assiette des damnes were absolutely lovely accompanied by a local Sancerre and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Had we not been walking back to our hotel in Sancerre we might have visited the restaurant for dinner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClazR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food Made with Love”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were staying in Sancerre but were visiting some wineries in the surrounding area when we stumbled across this very busy restaurant in the small town of Chavignol. We decided to come back that night and give it a try. We were very pleased. The food and service was much better than many of our experiences in larger cities. There is a language school in Sancerre which brings us to the area annually. Looking forward to going back to La Cote next summer!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlmiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cote des Monts Damnes also viewed

 

Been to La Cote des Monts Damnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing