We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative and fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison des Sancerre

Maison des Sancerre
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Sancerre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With friends, group or family , come and discover the vineyards of Sancerre. Sancerre wines will no longer hold any secrets for you thanks to this unique interpretive center : 4D experience, augmented reality, 360 degree view on the vineyards, immersive adventure in a vinification tank... a visit you can share with friends or family !
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Informative and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

This is a must for wine lovers.

The self guided tour took about an hour, the highlight is the video relief map at the start, and getting to drive a grape harvester in a little rustic simulator.

All the information helps show what a unique region this is for wine, and also the passion everyone has for the wine, and the goats cheese.

The tour finishes with a tasting, so really what is not to like?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    41
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I spent a lovely hour at this museum and learned about the vineyards and winemaking all around Sancerre. There's a wonderful terrance overlooking the vineyards where I enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine on a beautifuly sunny day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas, España
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sancerre a small town with wonderful wines and very pleasant people.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

The Maison ds Sancerre, and most of the town of Sancerre is dedicated to the making of an excellent white wine. The people were wonderful. Among other things we enjoyed a meal of fresh sea scallops in a Sancerre wne sauce at a small restaurant near the museum. (Sorry I don't remember the name). We were unfortunate to have cold and bad weather the day we visited, and we could not enjoy the views of the Loire Valley. We'll have to return on a summer day!

Helpful?
Thank AbuelaNany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C., USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Story of Sancerre Vineyards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Excellent exhibit of the history of wine making and of the region. Many video interviews of the local vineyard owners and workers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than a winery tour and a great place to learn about Sancerre wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Awesome way to spend a couple hours learning about this remarkable region's wine history and the interesting way that nature has it's say on how and why wines can be so great! Visit this place, watch the short vignettes, feel the passion that the locals put into the product, and to top it all off, you get a glass of wine at the end of it all.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Happywhenonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison des Sancerre also viewed

 

Been to Maison des Sancerre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing