We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing stay in provincial-style French town...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Ville

Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom
Sitting room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Bedroom
Sitting room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Green room
Blue room
Terrace
Terrace
Studio
Studio
Courtyard
Courtyard
Terrace
View from the Blue room
Front Door
Prades
Serrabonne Priory
View south from terrace
Kitchen
Canet-plage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Prades, Pyrenees-Orientales, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davidK110...
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in provincial-style French town house with period charm”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The owners of the property were extremely pleasant and helpful during our phone and e-mail dealings, and we were met on arrival by the housekeeper, who spoke perfect English.

Prades is a small but bustling town, approximately 30km west of Perpignon, and set against the beautiful backdrop of the Pyrenees. The house is only 100 metres from the Tourist Office and the main square, and all food and other supplies were readily available within a few minutes easy walk of the house, or from a number of medium-size superstores on the outskirts of the town. The shopkeepers were all very friendly, helpful and patient with us, despite our very limited ability with the language, and we felt as though we were 'honorary locals' during our stay.

From the town, we were able to explore the surrounding mountains, with wonderful scenic walks available everywhere, and we were also able to spend time at the seaside via Perpignon and the beautiful fortified ports along the Mediterranean coast.

The house itself is in a terraced street, and while at first glance it looks a little unprepossessing from the front, it has enormous period charm which contributed in large measure to the satisfaction of our stay. The owners have gone to a great deal of trouble to sympathetically preserve and add to the provincial French period charm of this delightful, and very old, property, and this includes waxed floorboards, traditional solid furniture, and ancient fixtures and fittings. The very high ceilings retained the original ornate plaster mouldings and everything was in keeping with the period of the property. This is not a bland, modern apartment, and after a short period of adjustment to our surroundings, we were rewarded by discovering that everything was immaculately clean, all modern essentials such as microwave, dishwasher and oven were provided, and everything worked as it should.

The rooms are arranged over four floors, with a central spiral staircase which counteracted the excesses of the good food and wine available in the region, but which may not suit elderly or less than energetic guests. The top-floor terrace provided a sun trap and superb views over the old pantiled roofs of the town, set against the dramatic mountains of the Pyrenees, which are literally on the doorstep. En-suite bathrooms with showers had all been newly installed, and a new heating system was available but not required.

Overall, we were delighted with the property, its location and the facilities in the surrounding area, and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a stay in this unspoilt backwater of southern France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character and position of the property
Liked least: Church bells ringing every 15 minutes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cc52
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Prades Home”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 8 adults and stayed for a week in this house. The house itself has authentic old-world charm including a roof-top terrace and spiral staircase that connects four floors. It was plenty spacious for us. The table in the kitchen and the one on the rooftop were great for family gatherings. The terrace was wonderful in the evenings, however during the day it is quite hot. There is an umbrella there but it was not working during our stay. That would have been a plus.
While we appreciated the wonderful things about the house, there were a few things that could be improved upon: the main entry/floor was quite musty-smelling and we therefore did not use that room for anything, it also had paint peeling from the ceiling and the room needed some work.
Though on the surface the house is clean, it really needs a deep cleaning, as in the throws on the furniture, the throw rugs on the floors and the larger carpets as well. There were various corners with lots of cobwebs, etc. The kitchen had a good set-up with dishes, cutlery, glasses however the cooking pots and pans need replacing. The stove-top espresso machine did not work despite all our attempts. Luckily, one in our party had a French press that we used each day for coffee. The stove and oven worked fine, as did the dishwasher and fridge. There isn't a lot of prep space which was challenging cooking for eight. All that aside, we made it work.
The bedrooms were comfortable, good pillows. The bath and bed linens were pretty well-worn and not what one would expect from a vacation home. It was as though the linens were castoffs from better days. It could all be jazzed up a bit with better linens, nicer towels and bath amenities such as bath/shower mats.
We used the washing machine for clothes and hung things on the terrace late at night as the dryer did not work while we were there. That was addressed during the week we were there.
The owner was kind and easy to work with. We always appreciate that. This was a nice house that could be spiffed up a bit. We enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaMoon...
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday house; feel like a local”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just returned from two weeks in Prades. We'd agree with almost all of the previous reviewers' comments. We were blessed with lovely weather and ate every meal on the roof terrace except maybe two. Amazing mountain views, ever changing as the sun moves round and clouds form over the peak of Mount Canigou. Loads of traditional-house character etc. Very few of the floorboards creak and their time-worn natural character adds to the appeal. Actually we'd say this house has the best equipped kitchen we've encountered in over 30 years of self-catering (three corkscrews!) and note that the owner has just installed a brand-new cooker this year. We were just a couple, but we imagine you'd struggle to prepare meals for groups bigger than 8.

Personally we found the continual chiming of the town clocks to be obtrusive which meant we slept with the windows closed, not the owner's fault but not ideal in hot weather.

Some tips for future renters:
Best boulangerie is 2 doors downhill from the Spar shop - their '1902' loaf (on the cart in the passageway) is best French bread ever.
Best food shop is the Traiteur on the left walking in towards the town square for home-made patés, prepared dishes and fresh meat
Best pastries from Sylvain Henoc aritsanal patisserie on the corner at the top of the hill up from the Spar shop.
We found these shops to be extremely friendly and helpful; lovely people
Super-U supermarket at the north of the town is excellent, especially the deli counter.
For a French town of this size we'd say the bars, cafés and restaurants were disappointing

Best places to go:
Mosset, Eus, Vernet-les-Bains for small towns with narrow streets and atmosphere
Céret for a larger town oozing with character, art galleries, bars, cafés, traditional architecture, Saturday market.
Carnet-Plage for huge expanse of beach and low-key tourism
Perpignan for big squares, shady parks, history, class, syle and museums

We drove up the valley rather than take the Train Jaune - you can travel at your own pace and stop often to admire the breathtaking views including some impressive feats of civil engineering.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan J
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good base for touring the area”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This is an interesting house but would challenge anyone with mobility problems as stairs are quite steep & there are 4 floors. We loved the roof terrace with its fabulous views and ate up there often or just relaxed. Prades is not overly friendly even though we speak french but a good sized town with excellent fish shop and butchers but we found the house poorly equipped for real cooking, which for us is a part of our holiday. Vey little space in kitchen and cooker old. Equipment disappointing. The area is full of variety and very easy to get around on road system or inexpensive public transport. Favourite outing: Le Petit Train Jaune up to Mont Louis and back on the bus: stunning scenery and a wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: roof terrace
Liked least: kitchen facilities and not being able to access property at stated time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
It certainly is an interesting house! It is, and always will be, a work in progress for us. The kitchen was the very first thing we worked on over ten years ago now. Last year we spent a large amount of money restoring the whole facade of the house, a major job for us. And you are quite right, now the kitchen needs revisiting. Over winter we are replacing the cooker and making sure the equipment is up to scratch for 2014. We're sorry it was difficult for you to cook as you wished. We hope you'll visit again and be impressed by the kitchen facilities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forgite46
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house - great area.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We loved this cool shabby chic house with four floors and a fabulous view from the roof terrace - where we spent each evening absorbed with our very own mountain. It is so very french feeling with its shutters and sprial stairscase. (The stairs might make you nervous with toddlers - but we have stayed here previously when our youngest was 4yrs old and that was fine)
There is lots to do locally - we have two boys aged 6 and 9 who loved swimming in the lake at Vinca, jumping off the diving highboard at the pool in Vernet le Bains, soaking in the hot springs half way up a hillside on the way to the 'offical' baths at St Thomas, walking over the rope bridge after a 3 hours walk up a gorge, swimming in the sea, and they even enjoyed the amazing weekly market on the doorstep. So given that they enjoyed all the things that we also enjoy it was a great holiday.
We need to go back as there was lots we didn;t do (caves, day trip to Carrcosonne, trip up mt canigou, kayaking, cannoning, water park) and lots we'd like to do again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the terrace
Liked least: We liked it all.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An interesting house in an interesting small town”
Reviewed 23 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The owner has renovated a old house near the centre of the town. It provides an interesting and rewarding experience of life in a small French/Catalan town. Convenient to shops and away from the tourist hordes in the readily accessible Vermillion Coast and the Pyrenees.

The house is not for those who want four star comfort - creaky floorboards and a certain amount of clutter contribute to its charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily D
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Magical House in a Tiny, Cute Catalan Market Town”
Reviewed 12 April 2012 for a stay in July 2011

I have been holidaying in Prades for years now, and a single visit will make it abundantly clear why! Prades' amazing year-round sunshine (320+ days a year!) and untouristy location guarantee relaxation, and its vibrant weekly markets bring the delicious food and produce, much of it organic, of Southern France right to your doorstep. In July/Aug, Prades hosts many classical concerts in exciting venues to honour Pablo Casals, the legendary cellist who lived and composed in Prades while exiled during the dark days of the Spanish Civil War. In case cooking isn't on the agenda for the evening, Prades has lots of cute restaurants, many situated on its tiny square with view of Prades' Romanesque church. The El Patio Restaurant doesn't have a view, but it does serve excellent Catalan cuisine in a leafy courtyard- don't miss the crema Catalana!

The house itself is a combination of classic French townhouse and modern convenience, boasting original, wood burning fireplaces and modern appliances like a washing machine and dishwasher, so it doesn't really matter when you decide to go- for ski season and to enjoy the hot springs, or as a base to explore the vineyards, Cathar castles, and hit the beach. I spent a week there in July 2011, reading, eating too much, and writing a book proposal- bliss. So lovely, in fact, I'm booking another trip shortly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great weather, wonderful culture and history, and all the delicious things at my doorstep!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing