We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great views, unsure on the self-cleaning policy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domaine Du Val De Roland
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, great views, unsure on the self-cleaning policy.”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2012 as a base to watch The Tour de France.
In terms of this quick stay it was good, with ample parking provided and a helpful receptionist providing good information on the road closures for le Tour. The location for us was great as we were heading up the Col du Tourmalet for the days stage.
The room was a good size with a decent bathroom and great views. All in all it did the job.
One thing I do object to was having to clean the room ourselves. On arrival, we were expected to put the linen on the beds and pillows, and on departure we were expected to clean the room thoroughly, strip the beds, place used sheets and towels in a trolley and take the rubbish to the recycling area. Whilst I would always leave a room as clean as possible, I object to the expectation of this and the potential 50 euro fine that would result! It also made me question whether the room had been thoroughly cleaned before our arrival, or just left as the previous tenants had left it. Considering the cost was £104 per night this isn't something I would have expected for this sort of price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    59
    21
    13
    3
See reviews for
61
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Easy check in, self catering however you are within easy reach of many resturants. Rooms are clean and spacious. Views in every direction are spectacular. A really pleasant village to visit. The pool at the chalets is very goo,part indoor and part outdoor. We used it as a stop over en route to the Basque country and would have no hesitation about staying there again. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We had a vey enjoyable stay, first impressions are good, the reception area is very inviting and although the reception staff don't speak much English, they were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are in separate blocks and although the stairwells/courtyard is bare concrete and a bit drab, the rooms are surprisingly good. Rooms contain a good kitchen area with table and have a nice living area and balcony. The bedrooms are a little small though. One of the rooms contains a single bed and can be converted into a double, but to do this is not easy and the double bed takes up the whole room, there is space for nothing else.

The swimming pool/sauna/steam room is great to relax in after a long day. It is also only a short walk into the town centre so you benefit from a quiet location but not being too far out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NickCre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We had a 4 day stay in this self catering hotel. The rooms were well equipped and modern and clean - just what we wanted. The view from the windows were of mountains and we were lucky having brilliant clear weather.
The staff are very helpful. Although check in time was up to 9 pm we rang to say we would be late and they left the room open for us to arrive which was a tremendous relief.
Also we were able to extend our stay with no problem. Admittedly it wasn't very busy but all the staff at the hotel were so helpful and friendly and their English was excellent!
The only slight problem is if you had no food on arrival there were no shops or restaurants open and there was absolutely nothing in the room. We had our own coffee etc with us so it wasn't a problem but I know other guests were struggling.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devongreysurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

As a party of 3 friends we spent 3 nights here. It was a little difficult to find, though I put that down more to the lack of instructions from the company we booked through.
Check in was quick and simple. We had a two bedroom apartment on the third floor which was accessed either by lift or the external staircase.
The apartment was a good size with a balcony which had a table and chairs. The cupboards were well stocked with all the necessary crockery etc. The beds were comfortable, though the bunk beds were a little short for adults to sleep in, especially ones over 6 ft.
There is a pool and hot tub, though I have to say it was the coldest hot tub I have even been in. The sauna and streamroom are excellent. Changing facilities at the pool are very limited with only one shower.
The apartments are only 5 minutes walk from the centre of the lovely little town. It was a real treat every morning walking up to get fresh bread accompanied by a selection of jam, honey and sausage from the little shop in the square.
Luz St Saveur is a great place to base yourself to see the many sights in the surrounding areas and Du Val De Roland was a great self catering base.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irish_gremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz-Saint-Sauveur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Montaigu
Hotel Le Montaigu
#1 of 6 in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Logis Ardiden
Logis Ardiden
#2 of 6 in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Londres
Hotel De Londres
#4 of 6 in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Grange aux Marmottes
6.1 mi away
Hotel la Breche de Roland
5.5 mi away
Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Du Val De Roland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Du Val De Roland

Property: Domaine Du Val De Roland
Address: 3 Rue de la Lanne, 65120 Luz-Saint-Sauveur, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Luz-Saint-Sauveur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine Du Val De Roland 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Domaine Du Val De Roland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Val De Roland Luz-Saint-Sauveur, France - Midi-Pyrenees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing