We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Domaine du val de roland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domaine Du Val De Roland
Luz St Sauveur
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Domaine du val de roland”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The apartment was well equipped. Despite arriving three days after a major flood disaster there were no issues with services.
The swimming pool and area were a little chilly.
Ideally located to explore the village and local area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    59
    21
    13
    3
See reviews for
61
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Firstly, be aware that this is a self-catering apartment complex, not a hotel. This implies more responsibilities on you the guest. Not a criticism, but good to be aware of it.

Service. The place is minimally manned, but there was always someone helpful at reception during the stated hours (0900-2100 but closed over lunchtime). Note that WiFi is only available in the reception area and therefore only during these times.

Value. E69 per night for the 2 bedroom apartment (Summer i.e. low season). Not bad, but note that no meals are included. Breakfast is offered at E10, but I didn't have it.

Sleep Quality. I had no problems, but one tiny irritation was that, the rooms being so small, the morning sun sneaked under the curtains right into my eyes and woke me early each day!

Cleanliness. Everything was spotless on arrival. Be aware that you have to clean the apartment before you leave and they reserve the right to check it (although they didn't with me).

Location. The town of Luz St Saveur is wonderfully located in a stunning valley with mountains all around. For cyclists, you are perfectly situated for the Tourmalet, Aubisque and several other great climbs. In winter, it seems to be in striking distance of ski areas. The hotel is on the edge of the town (5 min walk to centre) with rural views.

Rooms. I had the 3 room apartment which can accommodate 5. Mind you, it would be very crowded. I would think 3 would be the the most you could have without falling over eachother. Central living area is comfortable with kitchenette and dining table, sofa, chair and TV (BBC World channel, others French). Bedrooms (one double and one single)are very small with just enough room to get into bed. Adequate storage space, however. Kitchen has hob, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, dishwasher and fridge. Note that you need to provide your own tea towels, washing-up liquid, dishwasher tablets (one is provided) etc The bathroom and separate toilet are well fitted out, but the towel rail fell of the wall as soon as I hung a towel on it. As a) they were just reeling from the effects of massive floods and b) I'm British, I didn't complain but fixed it! Just didn't seem to have been properly done in the first place. I was also surprised that there was no shower curtain or screen, although the over-bath shower was very powerful. The only option is a careful rinse down or a bath, for which there is any amount of hot water available. Decent size balcony with table and chairs .

Fitness centre. Small but very pleasant. Pool with inside and outside options, sauna and steam room. The jacuzzi is not a hot tub, but a bubbly section of the main pool. The facilities are available until 2030 in the evening.

Room service. Not applicable.

All in all, very pleasant and well situated, but don't expect a full service hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed in an three bedroom apartment on the ground floor. Unfortunately, the apartment we had did not match the expectations after reading the reviews.

The hotel looks nice on the outside, but you will find only concrete on the inside.

The two-person bed was tiny (<190x140) and the bedroom was hardly big enough to accommodate the bed. When one person moved, the other person nearly rolled off the bed.

The apartment itself was functional, but lacked any atmosphere. A place to sleep, and not much more. The place did not feel very clean.

We booked for 5 nights, but stayed only 1. Staff was friendly and correct, and we paid only for the night we stayed.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WeEnj0yTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Cork
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you are arriving at hotel after 6pm it would be wise to ring to let them know what time you are arriving.

Very friendly staff who have good English.I rang at Lourdes which is half an hour driving time away.

We arrived at the hotel 6-45pm aprox .

Parking space is available but spaces near the apartments are nearly always full in the evenings.

The reception building is located in the middle of the complex.Turn left when entering the complex drive to the end of the straight, turn left. The reception is on your right.

The apartment was clean, comfortable beds, one double one single and a couch that that quickly turned into a double bed.

There were only 2 faults I could find with the apartment.

1-No shower curtain in the bath which ment it was very easy to wet the bath room floor.

2-The single room had a plug socket behind the sliding door when it was opened and the main light switch was on out side of the room. So when you plugged in the bed side lamp you could not open sliding door to turn off main light.

These were only small things which did not spoil our time there.

Great views in all directions, and less than five min walk from the center of town.
It has part indoor and out door swimming pool+sauna looked good,but did not have time to use.

We stayed there for three nights in July to follow the Tour de France, and was a perfect location for our holiday.

Don't forget to clean the apartment before you leave (brush and pan provided) as there is a cleaning charge if not tidy. Used towels and sheets to be left in trolleys at end of hall.
No need to bring any bedding as it is provided.

Check out time is up to 10am. Will have to wait at reception while apartment is checked which does not take too long.

We enjoyed our stay there and would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Co_CorkHobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here for a week in July as my partner was taking part in the Etape du Tour and we wanted to see the Tour de France. We could not have been in a better place. (Its very well placed if you want to cycle the Col Du Tourmalet plus a few other routes).
The rooms are basic, clean and of a good standard, we had a fantastic view of the mountains. We had the best of both worlds being able to self cater and visit the pretty village with its shops and restaurants which was five minutes away.
The hotel runs on the basis of renting a property and not the service of a hotel, you have to clean it yourselves. Take towels, they give you a couple but you have to pay for any additional ones.
When you first arrive the hallways does look very bleak, but the rest of the hotel is better looking. There is a pool that can get overcrowded when the hotel gets busy.
Its well placed for Lourdes which was about 40mins away and well worth a visit. We also travelled to see the biggest waterfall in France. There is loads of fantastic walking in the area.
We had a very good holiday based here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2012 as a base to watch The Tour de France.
In terms of this quick stay it was good, with ample parking provided and a helpful receptionist providing good information on the road closures for le Tour. The location for us was great as we were heading up the Col du Tourmalet for the days stage.
The room was a good size with a decent bathroom and great views. All in all it did the job.
One thing I do object to was having to clean the room ourselves. On arrival, we were expected to put the linen on the beds and pillows, and on departure we were expected to clean the room thoroughly, strip the beds, place used sheets and towels in a trolley and take the rubbish to the recycling area. Whilst I would always leave a room as clean as possible, I object to the expectation of this and the potential 50 euro fine that would result! It also made me question whether the room had been thoroughly cleaned before our arrival, or just left as the previous tenants had left it. Considering the cost was £104 per night this isn't something I would have expected for this sort of price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Easy check in, self catering however you are within easy reach of many resturants. Rooms are clean and spacious. Views in every direction are spectacular. A really pleasant village to visit. The pool at the chalets is very goo,part indoor and part outdoor. We used it as a stop over en route to the Basque country and would have no hesitation about staying there again. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luz-Saint-Sauveur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Montaigu
Hotel Le Montaigu
#1 of 6 in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Logis Ardiden
Logis Ardiden
#2 of 6 in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Londres
Hotel De Londres
#4 of 6 in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Grange aux Marmottes
6.1 mi away
Hotel la Breche de Roland
5.5 mi away
Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Du Val De Roland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Du Val De Roland

Property: Domaine Du Val De Roland
Address: 3 Rue de la Lanne, 65120 Luz-Saint-Sauveur, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Luz-Saint-Sauveur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine Du Val De Roland 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Domaine Du Val De Roland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Val De Roland Luz-Saint-Sauveur, France - Midi-Pyrenees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing