We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cheap but does it have to be unmanned at night?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of hotelF1 Calais Coquelles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
hotelF1 Calais Coquelles
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cheap but does it have to be unmanned at night?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a couple of night's, we didn't get much rest due to the noise late into the night and early hours. We tried to ask the offenders to stop running around the corridors but received verbal abuse. There was no-one to help as the hotel is not manned at night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you want sleep! This hotel also advertises English tv channels there definitely aren't any as the sign suggests below!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggermaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    51
    38
    16
    21
See reviews for
39
55
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We arrived after a late night ferry from England for a night, to our surprise the 'hotel' was based in an industrial estate. The rooms were very basic and the reception and checking in was very basic and quite unreliable. After, we went up to the rooms and not realising that there was a community toilet and showers that were yellow and had hair everywhere. The sleep was okay however the walls were pretty much paper and we could hear anything from next door to the other side of the corridor. Overall, if you want a quick stop by then this may be for you but for us we felt that paying 39 euros we should get something else.

Room Tip: Dont go, theres a b&b near the mcdonalds around ten minutes away, much better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coquelles hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed here 1 night as part of a booze cruise. Unusually 'personnel free' low maintenance arrangement .... check in a was bit complicated & access into the hotel was via a self serve interface at the front entrance using the bank/credit card you paid the accommodation with.... we got stuck and had to summon the caretaker from her apartment.
Very basic facilities, croissants, coffee, yoghurt etc. for breakfast but a quiet nights sleep. Would recommend for a 'very' short break.

Room Tip: Think all rooms are exactly the same.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke_O_Zade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Super price. Typical F1 - a room with double and single bunk beds. Very clean facilities. Secure car park.
Great place to start/finish your European travels. Far cheaper than equivalent in UK (€31 Dec 12 - €36 Jan 13). 10 min from Eurotunnel. Felt safe and secure. Room was sufficient for 2 + 2 children. Cheap and cheerful. Got breakfast from a nearby supermarket. Will use this place every time we hit mainland Europe.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiancaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here en route to Burgundy. Arrived late after a delay on Eurotunnel. The car park gates were locked and apart from a small group of dodgy characters there seemed no one to help us to access the car park or building. It was dark and felt scary. We eventually got into the car park, and then into the hotel, it seemed full of folk who might otherwise be in a homeless hostel. The room was bleak, and whilst it was cheap, the lack of any charm was not offset by cleanliness. The toilets and showers were stinky, and the wash hand basin in our room was squalid. We left at 4 in the morning - lying awake with all the noise in the corridors all night _- I'd rather be wrecked in the safety of my car!
Never again - why didn't we pay a bit more and get somewhere where at least you could rest?

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GediNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here, as do most people, straight off the channel tunnel then again immediately before returning home. This summer we had a 2 week motorcycling holiday in France so just needed somewhere to get our heads down before hitting the road again.

The hotel layout is exactly the same as all other F1 hotels, the rooms all look the same but we found it to be clean and fit for purpose. We chose F1 because of the price, and because of having a secure car park for the bikes. There is a large shopping centre very close to the hotel so we went there for dinner and bought a few beers to drink back at the hotel, there were tables and chairs outside and we sat outside and had a drink and a chat until late.

This F1 was different to all the others we stayed in whilst in France, as it isn't on an industrial estate, and I personally found Coquelles to be a sweet little place, not much there but pleasant enough.

We pre-paid for breakfast, it was ok although the orange juice was a bit too watered down on our outward stay, but maybe because it was the main holiday weekend and the staff wanted to make it go further.... The choice is limited but fine, and basically you would pay much more anywhere else to get any breakfast, so at less than 4 euro why complain, you surely didn't expect a full English??

The toilets were clean enough, the showers were good, power showers and adequate for an overnight stay. In the morning there was a bit of a queue though, but the hotel was quite full and I only waited about 10 minutes, so not the end of the world.

Summing up, you do get what you pay for, spend another 30 euro and you will get somewhere with a private bathroom if that is what you want, but if you choose the bottom of the budget end of the market, you really shouldn't complain that it is not top quality!

Room Tip: computer selects numbers at random but they are all the same, but do ask for non-smoking if that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank karenP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We chose the hotel as a stepover for the car ferry to and from Dover - and both stays proved to be highly unpleasant! While the night before our journey to England was only characterized by heavy bodily odours and an odd itching of skin, the return journey's sleepover (haha) was infinitely worse: we arrived at the abandoned accomodation past midnight (as you would on taking the night ferry) and stood helpless against blood-stained sheets of bedding on top of the other shortcomings aforementioned. The only choice we had was to sleep in the car or lie on the bed fully dressed - and fully dressed includes shoes. I must say that I do tolerate a considerable number of mishaps, but even I draw the line at some point, and it was here. However, we will get the room refunded completely, and that is that. Not to be recommended. Méfiez-vous.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coquelles
0.4 mi away
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
0.0 mi away
Kyriad Calais Sud - Coquelles
2.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Calais Centre St Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotelF1 Calais Coquelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotelF1 Calais Coquelles

Property: hotelF1 Calais Coquelles
Address: Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 62231 Coquelles, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Coquelles
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — hotelF1 Calais Coquelles 1*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trio and duo rooms 100 % renovated a smiling welcome, an atmosphere with peppy colours to get yur stay off to a good start a flat screen for tv viewing with digital tv and english channels unlimited free wifi in all rooms free and closed car park self service breakfast buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR so you can book your hotelF1 Calais Coquelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Calais Coquelles Hotel Coquelles
HotelF1 Calais Coquelles Pas-De-Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing