We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit and still impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“2nd visit and still impressed”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to the Novotel Suites in Coquelles, Calais and were just as impressed with it as we were first time around. By pure coincidence we stayed in the exact same suite as we did during our previous visit (I think this might be because there are a limited number of smoking rooms) and we instantly felt at home. The suites are very spacious and have all that is needed to be self sufficient for a short break ie fridge, kettle, microwave etc If you do decide to prepare your own meals (there is no actual restaurant in the hotel for evening meals although cold breakfasts are available at a rather pricey extra) please remember to take cutlery and crockery with you as these items are not provided. There is a good selection of free movies and TV channels. Free wifi is available should you not be able to live without your laptop. All areas of the hotel are kept very clean and fresh and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful with a good command of English.
If you want to eat out on an evening the Ibis next door does have a restaurant although we would not recommend the expensive fillet steak as this was rather tough. Other items on the menu may be a lot more appetising but, unless you can read the French language, you may have a bit of a problem understanding the menu.
For a short shopping trip you cannot go wrong with the Novotel Suites as it is ideally located for Cite Europe and is only a 25minute drive away from the cheap tabacs of Adinkerke. We do the trip every 3 months or so and do not need to look for alternative accommodation as this hotel has everything we need.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    364
    89
    19
    19
See reviews for
379
287
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Best value in my opinion in Europe. We have been using it frequently crossing the channel as a stop over. The attention to the details that really matter is unique: shower that works, lighting that allows to see, read. Sockets for all your gadgets, good free wifi, excellent firm bed, pleasant colors etc. Five minutes from tunnel Le Shuttle. Functional inexpensive breakfast. Meals to buy and heat in your rooms micro. ( Dod not try) Kettle with tea, coffee, biscuits and hot chocolate sweets and different type of herbal tea. I wish that the same consideration to functionality would be applied to many of the 5 Star Hotels we stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Concordia100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is the perfect stopover to break a journey to or from the UK and the continent. Large airy rooms with everything that is required, including free wifi, and tea and coffee provided in the rooms. The hotel is spotlessly clean ad the staff friendly. A little more expensive than the neighbouring hotels but worth the extra.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
388 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

. . . what more can you ask for in a hotel room? But you get far more than that in a Suite Novotel room and, although we didn't take advantage of the free massage (apparently offered every Thursday), nor the free music or films, we did appreciate the spacious room, huge bed, deep and comfortable bath, and comfortable seating area. The bottled water in the room and the snacks along with the tea/coffee tray in the room were also appreciated.

Breakfast was delicious, and not what you might expect. All in all we were very happy with our night in the Suite Novotel . We would not hesitate to return. Thank you to all the staff who made our brief stay so happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Perfect for an overnight stop before or after using channel tunnel. Would be good for a business stay too.

We like to take a quiet evening shuttle from Folkstone, spend the night in the suite Novotel and set off fresh in the morning for a long drive south.

The rooms are very well equipped, with free wifi, free phone calls to French landlines and Internet accessible via TV. You can watch BBC 1 & ITV as well as French TV.

Best of all, as there is no restaurant except for their quirky breakfasts, there is a microwave and fridge in the room with water. Rather than buy from their expensive and basic selection of prepared dishes, we brought something nice from M&S and used the microwave and the hotel's disposable plates and cutlery. Alternatively, eat in the Ibis right next door.

Comfy bed, bath and separate big shower. Good soundproofing.

Try it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We've stayed here many times now because the location for the Channel tunnel is just so perfect. The suite style rooms are large, spacious, with every amenity including free wifi. We also love the abundance of modern (ish) free movies on the SuiteNovotel box, and the free 'breakfast on the go' biscuits and bottled water. The bathroom and shower ( and the rooms) are always spotlessly clean and really very good. Staff are pleasant and welcoming.
We never take breakfast or dinner here as over at 'Cite Europe' there are many good cheap varied places to eat. Also there is a huge superstore Carrefour which has an excellent sandwich shop next door.
Gripe has to be the bed- hard as a rock with thin poor pillows- shame really as everything else is just about right.

Room Tip: Every room we've had has been just right!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Kingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coquelles
0.0 mi away
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.0 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
2.2 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche

Property: Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche
Address: Place de Cantorbery | Tunnel Sous La Manche, 62231 Coquelles, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Coquelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel, 100 inviting 30sqm suites. Discover our free unlimited Suite box, high-speed Internet connection, phone calls to landlines within France, videos and music on-demand, media zone with chat, music and photos… Located on the Opal Coast, 5 minutes from the Channel Tunnel, 10 minutes from the TGV Eurostar station. Beaches and Cap Blanc Nez 10 min away. 24hr services including food counter, fitness space, business corner. Bar, free massages Thursdays, parking. Tourisme et Handicap certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Calais Coquelles Tunnel Sous La Manche Hotel Coquelles
Suitehotel Coquelles
Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel Sous La Manche Pas-De-Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing