We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“still comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

stayed yet again still the best for location and cite Europe.
breakfast however has changed slightly and that affects my overall image of the hotel.
the quality is not as good as before. And there was a strong smell of smoking around the rooms
still if booked in advance you will get a good deal

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abraham k, Directeur général at Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and we were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was enjoyable.

We would like to make you know that Suite Novotel is commited in a Quality Charter and you can contact this service by calling the 2424 directly from the phone in your room to report your inconvenience.

For your next stay please let us know your wish in order to make your stay even better!

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    362
    89
    19
    19
See reviews for
378
287
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

A modern apparthotel. Pleasing room layout, comfortable and ample space for a snack meal. Smaill fridge kettle and microwave so not suitable if you are planning on full self catering but great for an early breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abraham k, Directeur général at Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Suite Novotel Calais Coquelles, and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

At Suite Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. We assure you every time you visit us, your stay will be as enjoyable as it was this time.

I wish to welcome you back at Suite Novotel Calais Coquelles during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great rooms, VERY handy for the Eurotunnel terminal (approx 10 mins drive), but the breakfast is far too expensive.

We stayed here for one night on our way back to the UK via the Eurotunnel. The hotel is right next door to two Ibis hotels and very close to a huge shopping centre - Cite Europe. If budget is a concern, and you need a hotel handy to the Eurotunnel, it might be worthwhile checking out the Ibis hotels, too.

The hotel has a bar, but no restaurant. There are other food options: the Ibis hotel next door has a restaurant, and there is the food court of the shopping centre, which we opted for. It took a bit of finding - we had to walk over a building site to get to it, and it's not signposted, but once there (it's behind the Gaumont cinema), we found that it had a good variety of chain and local restaurants, both takeaway and sit down. Our room had a microwave, so there was no problem bringing food back to the room and heating it up.

The room itself was new, very clean and big, obviously set up for business use with a desk and privacy curtain, but very comfy, too. The bathroom had a bath with a shower head, and a separate shower, and the toilet was in a separate cubby hole. We also had a kettle, microwave, TV (with free on demand - and very recent - films). The windows had curtains and blackout blinds, which worked perfectly. The air conditioning was OK, but not as effective as it could have been.

The only issue is breakfast: we were charged €15 a head for what was a nice, but not spectacular, continental breakfast. The only hot option was DIY boiled eggs. There was a nice choice of croissants, yoghurts, muffins etc, but with no hot food it was a complete rip off. Even the croissants etc weren't great - they were the sort of industrially produced croissants you can buy in bulk in any UK supermarket. If we had our time again, we would have saved our €30 and spent far less in the supermarket in the shopping centre.

So, all in all a lovely hotel, great for an overnight stay before heading home (or off into Europe). Just don't buy the breakfast :)

Room Tip: Don't buy the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abraham k, Directeur général at Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Flinky,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion.

My staff and I would like to thank you for the positive opinion you had about our hotel, this give us the feeling to keep on making our best to please our customers

We are sorry that the breakfast did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.


We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel in a "business/executive" suite approx 20th June 2013. The room was absolutely spotlessly clean and fresh and very big with an excellent sample of coffees and even a complentary healthy take-out breakfast. The only thing that let it down was the Wi-Fi which the hotel calls "high speed". This was far from it! If you are going on business, bring your own equipment for obtaining internet connection. It was so slow, a hamster on a wheel would have provided better service and the signal was shocking! Also the T.V. had a mind of it's own when we stayed and when asked at reception, the staff just fobbed me off and lied telling me it would work tomorrow and the next day and the next day and simply offerred me some lousy points on some kind of loyalty card which they will probably get commission for. The remote did not work for the T.V. correctly and it kept switching itself off, also only 2 channels?! Other than that, the staff were quite friendly and fairly approachable and the breakfast has very little choice whatsoever and was very disappointing! I am repeating my trip into mainland Europe shortly and will be missing this hotel out this time as it just doesn't seem worth it and wasn't overly impressed. If you are heading to Belgium or nearby, I would recommend driving the extra hour or so and stopping in Novotel Brugge. It is warm, friendly and everything was faultless including an enormous breakfast buffet suitable for Kings. So generally not a good hotel for business travellers, just okay if need a place to sleep if you need to access Eurotunnel. Oh and it's next door to a fantastic shopping centre.

Room Tip: Get a business suite/executive suite, they are a bit pricey but strongly NOT recommended for actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abraham k, Directeur général at Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Simon 2710,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Suite Novotel network.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coquelles
0.0 mi away
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.0 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
2.2 mi away
Hotel Meurice
Hotel Meurice
#4 of 24 in Calais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Calais Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche

Property: Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche
Address: Place de Cantorbery | Tunnel Sous La Manche, 62231 Coquelles, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Coquelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel, 100 inviting 30sqm suites. Discover our free unlimited Suite box, high-speed Internet connection, phone calls to landlines within France, videos and music on-demand, media zone with chat, music and photos… Located on the Opal Coast, 5 minutes from the Channel Tunnel, 10 minutes from the TGV Eurostar station. Beaches and Cap Blanc Nez 10 min away. 24hr services including food counter, fitness space, business corner. Bar, free massages Thursdays, parking. Tourisme et Handicap certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Calais Coquelles Tunnel Sous La Manche Hotel Coquelles
Suitehotel Coquelles
Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel Sous La Manche Pas-De-Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing