We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I wish I'd seen some of the reviews of this hotel before we booked it. It was impossible to find from the pathetic map provided on the website and after an unhelpful phone conversation with reception, we finally asked for help at the nearby Holiday Inn. They were really good and gave us excellent directions with good grace (we'll be staying there next time!)

After finally arriving at L'Haut'Aile, we found nobody in Reception and ringing the counter bell and phoning them (all whilst standing there) brought no results for about 10 minutes. Unbelievable! It was Sunday night and the restaurant was closed with no room service. Luckily we had a bit of food with us because the idea of venturing out to Cite de l'Europe and possibly not finding our way back was daunting, to say the least. To add insult to injury, the bed was the hardest I've ever tried to sleep in and we had to ask for mugs to be supplied for the room since there weren't any (just a kettle).

On the plus side, it was clean and the buffet breakfast was perfectly adequate. The woman on duty in the morning was very friendly and helpful in contrast to the guy the evening before who lacked skills in customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    119
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
209
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was difficult to find with the website directions being very poor. Luckily there are some small signs on some of the roundabouts which help you get to it. The hotel is brand new so is very clean. Huge shower, coffee making facilities, free wifi and tv which had several English channels. Very peaceful despite being so close to main roads. Minutes away from Carrefour and Cite Europe. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ms21cg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Despite the fact that there are now small Interhotel signs to help you find this hotel,it is best to follow directions for Clinique des Deux Caps and turn right just after this establishment. Our sat nav tried to send us towards Sangatte but we knew better. I think this is a general problem for them as the first thing we were asked was whether we had difficulty finding the hotel. It is a brand new place on the Terasses development. In time I guess there will be other hotels and restaurants on the site but for the moment you either have to eat in the hotel restaurant, which was closed on Easter Monday or drive out.
Despite this the hotel is good value,clean and well equipped.The standard rooms are larger than the comparable Ibis. The beds are large with a choice of good quality pillows and a decent quilt.The shower is also much better than comparable budget hotels.

It was quiet when we stayed so the fact that there is only one member of staff on duty was not a problem. Breakfast is ok,cold meats,cheese and all the usual continental suspects,including the nicest mini pain aux raisins I have had recently. The coffee was good and served in really nice cups. I know this a minor detail but I had to use a Starbucks recently and I am still traumatised by the experience.
If you book through general sites you will get a price for room only and breakfast is 10 euros extra. The hotels own website sometimes offers room including breakfast for 65 euros but you need to prove you have got this deal as the receptionist didn't believe it existed...sometimes it is useful to be able to insist in French.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of building are nearer the motorway. Not worth paying extra for superior room unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janfrommanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We often stay in Coquelle after a late crossing and decided to try a different hotel after reading rave reviews on booking.com. It's functional- that's all I can say for it. The lobby is small, poorly designed and most unwelcoming. Rooms are ok, but the double bed was small and the sheets cheap and scratchy. We actually went for the "comfort room" since it was advertised as more spacious but these are really meant for disabled customers and the bathrooms are wet rooms and wheelchair friendly. Not worth the extra cost.
There is no service to speak of: one poorly experienced person seems to be working in the hotel at any one time, meaning that they are overstretched and rather unhelpful. Breakfast, at 9 euros is expensive and disappointing- they couldn't even be bothered to make a soft boiled egg. Worst of all, a TV was blaring in the breakfast room the entire time.
For us, it's back to the Holiday Inn next time we need to sleep in Coquelles.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester park
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This Hotel appears to be brand new. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is spotlessly clean, with good size rooms. Very convenient if you go shopping in Cite de Europe or the group of shops near the Auchan supermarket. Both can be reached in 5 minutes. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms well heated and the British need for tea making facilities catered for! The area is very quiet and peaceful. I note the critical comments of others relating to breakfast and the 9 euro charge. My guess is that if the place does consistently fill up, the staff complement and variety of food will change to meet the need. I think this hotel is in "start-up" mode so there are bound to be the odd hiccups, but for 59 euros we thought it was very good. Breakfast at 9 Euros was OK and in our case adequate with eggs, cheese and ham available if we wanted it. Admittedly it would have taken a five loaves and two fishes trick to feed everyone but c'est la vie and it will get better. Each time we go shopping in Calais we stay overnight and this place is very convenient, reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, lots of free parking and just the ticket.

Room Tip: Room 13 if you need a nice big room!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Plana, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A brand new hotel 10 mins away from the Tunnel, very smart, clean and friendly. A little difficult to find, but a call to reception got us sorted. (right next to the Clinic 2 cab) Rooms very smart and well equipped. Bed very comfortable and fantastic pillows. Bathroom well fitted and spacious. Rooms heated with radiators and not fan aircon, so much more comfortable.
We were offered dinner in the restaurant but declined, we went to the cite de Europe where there are many choices of restaurants and fast food choices. The breakfast was fine, as good as all the other hotels we stay at and pay €9, with personal service for drinks. Wifi was the fastest we have ever had in a hotel.
On a very stormy evening this hotel was comfortable and welcoming. Cannot fault this hotel, particularly for the tariff charged.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamonix, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We spotted this hotel from the A16 motorway on the way to the tunnel to go to the UK, so, on the way back, we decided to give it a try to make a change from the usual stopover hotels around Coquelles.

I booked a room with a cot for a baby at the promo price of 50€ and confirmed the cot by email.

As the other reviews have said, there is NO signage at all for the hotel, but researching it on google maps beforehand and we found it ok. From the outside the hotel is just a big block...and that's pretty much what it's like inside as well.

We had room 013 on the ground floor. This turned out to be a (larger) comfort room and the receptionist made it quite clear to us that cots weren't available in standard rooms so they had had to upgrade us. I reminded her that I had specifically emailed to confirm the cot bed, so they had plenty of opportunity to tell us this. To be fair, she didn't bill us any more money!

The rooms are very nice and new. Lacking in personality and all soul, but warm and clean. Windows are good quality to keep the noise of the adjacent autoroute out. The evening we stayed, there was no TV service and wifi was flakey/not working. TV was sorted by the morning and there are loads of satellite channels (including UK channels). Beds are really comfy and bathrooms spacious with a good shower.

However...breakfast. We were told it was available until 10am. We got there at 09.30 and it was already being packed away. As the night before, there was only one person working and so in between the phone and reception she brought out the lamentable selection of breakfast goods. Very poor considering it is 9€ and the website says they use organic/local produce? No sign of that, save for a sweaty piece of Ambleteuse cheese which was dragged out again for us.

As another reviewer says, god help them if the hotel is ever full. Clearly not enough crockery/coffee machines/seats for everyone and certainly wouldn't be enough to just have one person working and doing everything. Website says there is a restaurant, but it wasn't mentioned to us, so if you do have to head out to eat, it means taking the car again as it is in the middle of nowhere and near enough to walk to Cite Europe when you've got a little one.

To conclude, it makes a change from the other hotels and for 50€ it was ok. However, the rack rate posted in our room was 119€ for two people. It would never be worth that paying that much! A shame really.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coquelles
4.0 mi away
Hotel l'Escale
Hotel l'Escale
#1 of 1 in Escalles
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
0.9 mi away
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Calais Coquelles Tunnel sous La Manche
1.2 mi away
Kyriad Calais Sud - Coquelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile

Property: Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Address: Rue des Longues Pieces | ZAC Les Terrasses, 62231 Coquelles, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Coquelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coquelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile Pas-De-Calais/Coquelles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing