We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rude Front of House person”
Review of Le Piano de Jean-Noel - CLOSED

Le Piano de Jean-Noel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a rude Front of House person”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Visited here Wednesday 23rd July after recommended by another Brasserie which was not open in the evening. When we ordered the House wine his face soured. Over half the blackboard on the wall was taken up by rather pricey bottled wine offerings. If you don't want to serve House wine then don't offer it in the first place. The bottle equivalent was 18 Euros per 750 cl. so it was not especially cheap. The menu was purely in French and we asked for a couple of items to be explained and his reply was he did not have time to run through everything. We did not ask to explain everything just a couple of words so we could choose. He grudgingly explained a couple of items. When we asked for some water the sneer returned when we said tap water please.
The final straw was when I asked to check the meaning of one word on the desert menu when I saw him rolling his eyes to the heavens. At this point I have to admit to returning his rudeness with a word which would test tripadvisor's censorship.
This was a great shame because the food was reasonably good. Three of us had calf's liver but he asked just one of the three people how she wanted it cooked and then took it upon himself to cook everyone's the same !!!!
Good food spoilt by a very rude man.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreycritic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    75
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise- nice food, friendly service, and good price!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

it was a rainy weekend getaway in Normandy- we discovered this place by accident. a small but cosy place- service is pleasant- the food is good value for money- their lunch menu is worth trying- 3 course meal costs about 19 euro. we had fresh tomato salad as starter, cod fish as main , and fruit salad for dessert. check out the photos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ardowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed, a most enjoyable experience.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is a small restaurant with 10 tables and a short menu, but none the worse for that as it puts quality ahead of quantity and there is a seriously good wine list. The place was full and the other diners seemed to be French, probably local, a good sign as a restaurant needs support in the out of season months as well as the summer. The chef offers nouvelle cuisine with a difference, thoughtful and well judged dishes. The maitre d' is un homme serieux, a good team. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank RichardBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simple food, exquisitely cooked.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were staying in Fécamp for 2 nights, and high on our list of priorities was eating well. Our hotel gave us a pamphlet containing details of a couple of dozen local restaurants, all offering discounts if we showed them the pamphlet. Fécamp contains many restaurants, and we didn’t really know where to start, so (on day two!) we consulted Tripadvisor.

Le Piano had two things going for it: firstly, generally very good reviews, and secondly, it was on the same street as out hotel (Le Grand Pavois).

We walked by just before lunchtime intending to try and book an evening table. The Maître ‘D was pleasant, and there were no customers in. The menu was on a large blackboard on the wall, and we saw what was offered for lunch, so decided to stay.

We sat at a table in the window, from where we had a good view of the port. The room is comfortable and has a friendly feel: it is how I would like my idealised country kitchen dining room to feel, if it were French.

Choosing what to eat was easy: 3 starters, 2 mains, 3 desserts. There is a list of aperitifs and wines. A lunch menu and an evening menu were all up on the wall.

We had a glass of cool Chardonnay, and some Perrier, and soon our lunch came. First some amuse bouches: warm cauliflower custard with cold chopped “boulots” (local small shellfish) on top, in jelly. Finely seasoned, and very tasty. My starter of pate de campagne was rich and meaty, accompanied by fresh salad, and I ate it with the deliciously toasty tasting fresh bread. My wife had a starter of 4 different kinds of tomato, in a zingy mozzarella dressing: each tomato piece was full of flavour, and again, the seasoning was spot on. This was looking good. Next we both had lieu de ligne, simply cooked white flesh fish fillet, with small boiled potatoes, carrots and other vegetables in a little bouillon. This was a light dish, superbly cooked, and again, outstandingly well seasoned.

Dessert: my crème caramel was a delight. Rich tasting but not heavy, and the caramel on the top was warm and liquid, with a hint of spice. My wife’s rice pudding was declared one of the best she had eaten.

By the time we had been given our starters the room was beginning to fill up with local diners. The Maître ‘D asked us how we had found the place, as he said it wasn’t the sort of place tourists would go to, and we told him it was from Tripadvisor. Plainly the locals do know a good thing when they see it, as most of those who came in to eat greeted the Maître ‘D warmly, and indeed, which we liked, greeted everyone else in the room too. This was a friendly place to eat.

So much so, that for the first time in my life we decided that we simply had to come back again the same evening for dinner! We had eaten very well, and the price was good value: lunch had cost about 50 euros. We walked round Fecamp and over the hill to the chapel overlooking the port, that afternoon, in order to work up an appetite for dinner!

Dinner was no disappointment. Aperitifs were accompanied by some little curls of Corsican ham, with a little cheese inside. We had the same amuse-bouche as at lunch (this is a two man operation, one chef, one front of house, so we weren’t surprised or upset to have the same thing twice in one day!) then our starters of asparagus, soft boiled egg, and slivers of cheese arrived, to tease our taste buds once again with perfect seasoning and great flavours. Our main course for dinner was Turbot, cooked simply but beautifully with an unexpected but brilliant combination of diced vegetables, and a little mashed potato. Though we might be greedy, we felt that a dessert for dinner, after having had one for lunch, was just too greedy, so we didn’t indulge. Again, the room filled up with cheerful folk as the evening went on, and we enjoyed our meals tremendously.

Though we were the only non French people in the room, the Maitre ‘D was happy to speak to us in English (he realised French was not my first language, and told me he had lived in England for 10 years), and we were made to feel very welcome.

By the way, when I saw the name of this restaurant in the reviews originally I had assumed it might be a place with a piano in it. It isn’t.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Siandmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unexpected gourmand paradise”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This tiny (10 tables) place is located on the old Quay in the harbor past a row of touristy sea food places. But the food is just phenomenal. We were told that the chef was the sous-chef for a 2 Michelin star restaurant, and left to open this place. After ordering, we were given a lovely amuse bouche (an escargot soup) and our dinners were outstanding. Small but workable wine list. We thought the price / quality was just great. The gentleman who runs the front of the house can be a little (or more than a little) humorless, but play through it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Piano de Jean-Noel also viewed

Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
 
Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
 
Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
Fecamp, Seine-Maritime
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing