We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brittany Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Abbeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brittany Trip”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was an overnight stop on the way home and was well placed for the Tunnel. Our room was excellent except for being on the small side, it was clean and well appointed. We did not try the restaurant for dinner, eating instead at the nearby Le Gardens, but the breakfast choice provided was excellent. We were fortunate in getting one of the three parking spaces outside but otherwise the 15Euro charge for the other parking was expensive. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Abbeville, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,
Thank you for your opinion about our hotel, We hope to welcome you again shortly.
kind regards
Emilie DELAITRE - Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    252
    113
    24
    11
See reviews for
107
281
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Rooms in the hotel are very well presented, clean and comfortable. The hotel is well located in the middle of a pleasant area of town. The meals in the hotel were on the pricey side with a set meal for 27euro. Everything was well presented but choice very restricted and we were disappointed with the steaks served. They were tough as old boots. I would recommend eating out in the one of the nearby eateries. They looked good and seemed popular.

Room Tip: All rooms have been refurbished to the same high standard I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg616275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Abbeville, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. I am glad that you have enjoyed our hotel, but I'm sorry for your bad experience at our restaurant. I hope to see you soon to show you that our menus change daily and are working with fresh products can satisfy you. sincerely, Emilie Delaitre Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night whilst returning from a motorcycle tour of Brittany, firstly there is only 3 free car park spaces plus 1 disabled space outside the front of the hotel, they also have a small pay car park at €15 per night that was accessed from somewhere behind the hotel down a side road, the person we were greeted by was Beverley what an asset to the hotel friendly and very helpful, the room we booked was a standard room which had a king sized bed and the all important tea and coffee making facilities although sadly no English tea but fruit and earl grey choices instead, I know people complain about paper cups but hygienic they are so I don't worry too much about them. Air conditioning in our room worked well and the whole room including the bathroom was lovely and clean, we did not set dinner or breakfast at the hotel as we were booked on a very early crossing but the hotel did have a restaurant and breakfasts available including a cheaper option on the go snack bar style option. Would I stay here again yes, a good hotel with fantastic staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank touringbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Abbeville, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello, we would like to thank you for having taken time to make a sincere and useful comment on our establishment. We hope to see you soon in our beautiful region. Best regards Emilie DELAITRE, Adjointe de Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

As usual the Privelege room was very comfortable. As usual a very limited supply of tea bags and milk. The paper mugs and plastic glasses are a little down market for this kind of hotel ! I appreciate the complimentary soft drinks in the fridge but it would be nice to have a choice of a "still" or "fizzy" pack ? Experienced quite a lot of noise from the room above .... not quite enough to request a change of room .... but close. The staff are always helpful. Good free parking in the square. I've given up on Mercure breakfasts .... poor value ..... bring your own. A good choice of restaurants close by .... Mercure have reduced the price of their menu which makes them now more competitive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 107ymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Abbeville, Responsable réception at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear customer, we would like to thank you for your comment on your last stay to us. I am saddened that details did not completely satisfy you. We nevertheless hope to welcome you again soon in our brand Mercure. Best regards. Emilie DELAITRE, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a nice, modern, clean hotel with decent restaurant and friendly staff. It is situated in the centre of Abbeville which is a charming little town about 50 minutes drive from the Shuttle terminal in Calais. We travelled from Yorkshire, crossed the channel and arrived early evening for a one night stay before continuing our journey south to visit family in the Dordogne area. Our room was fine - comfortable with all the usual amenities and good sized bathroom and ideal for a short stay to or from the channel ports. Hotel car parking is limited but there's plenty of street parking adjacent to the hotel including a large square where we left our car. Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: We requested a room in a quiet part of the hotel but the impression we got was that you'd be ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I never seek to look in a negative light at anything, however this is strictly about value for money and nothing else. If this room was priced at €50 it would represent appropriate value for money.
I had a twin room, the total bill was €161, this on a quiet Saturday night in winter. This is a vibrant little town on a busy route North South, therefore I would not expect anything for nothing.
The positives, well located, spacious room, smart looking lobby and staff.
The negatives, €12 to park, this is not the middle of a city !
The room rate, high, the room was clean and spacious, two sachets of coffee with paper cups, a less than great shower, not much else. My biggest complaint by far, breakfast, I would not normally bother but this was awful, arriving at 09:30 on a Sunday you would expect to be last in, not so, the chef arrived whilst we were there, 6 slices of ham and salami between two of us (good job no one else showed up) one type of perspiring cheese, yoghurts 4 days out of date, weak coffee, fruit salad arrived when we were nearly finished, worst by far, two choices of "cooked breakfast" these were scrambled egg and bacon, both cold and congealed, I cannot verify this but I could have been certain they were there from the previous day ?
Sorry, great location, good nights sleep, smart but could be so much better and better value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure_Abbeville, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear customer. I read with a lot of attention your comment.
We try hard to guarantee the quality and basic essential of the Mercure brand. I apologize to you if the breakfast was not as high as your expectations, but I assure you that eggs are not frozen, and are prepared by our staff every morning.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and so to prove you that this bad experience remains an isolated case.
best regards
Emilie DELAITRE
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeville
1.3 mi away
Ibis Abbeville
Ibis Abbeville
#4 of 7 in Abbeville
522 reviews
5.5 mi away
Camping Le Val de Trie
Camping Le Val de Trie
#29 of 84 in Somme
102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Abbeville
Ibis Budget Abbeville
#1 of 1 in Vauchelles-les-Quesnoy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Les Corderies
Les Corderies
#1 of 7 in Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Relais Vauban
Relais Vauban
#5 of 7 in Abbeville
78 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chateau de Behen
Chateau de Behen
#1 of 1 in Behen
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France

Property: Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France
Address: 19 Place du Pilori, 80100, Abbeville, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Abbeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Abbeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance to the Bay of the Somme, one of the most beautiful bays in the world, this red brick hotel, right in the heart of town is a classic example of Ponthieu architecture. The airconditioned hotel offers 72 rooms (including 3 for guestswith limited mobility) as well as a restaurant, bar, meeting rooms and private pay car park. This hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Abbeville with your partner or family. Upper levels fully refurbished in early 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing