We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, nice room but disappointing breakfast.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Senlis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostellerie de la Porte-Bellon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Senlis
Certificate of Excellence
bonn
Level Contributor
305 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, nice room but disappointing breakfast.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on the way back home and had a delicious meal in the evening. The restaurant was full of locals enjoying themselves. The town is lovely, by the way, historic with a small cathedral and a great Sunday morning market, well worth wandering around. We were happy with our room, which was comfortable and had just been modernised. However the breakfast was rather monastic, which came as a surprise after dinner. Would stay here again, even so, but forewarned and all that...
ps Parking is in the street and free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    70
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
28
70
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Recklinghausen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed in Senlis from 16th to 17th November. The hotel is at the edge of the town centre. Good for parking. A nice old building. The rooms are small, but well-refurbished and very clean. We paid 82 Euros for the double room. The breakfast is good value for money at 10 Euros. The only negative aspect: there isn't a lift, so you have to carry your luggage up the wide, spiral staircase.
Senlis is a lovely, old town and certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxana_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I spent one night there mid-October 2013. I stayed in the apartment, under the roof. The rooms were very basic. No desk or chair. No artwork on the walls. Nowhere to hang clothes in the room. There was 1 shared bathroom (for 3 rooms), and if you are 6ft or taller you can't stand upright in the shower/bathtub. I do commend the staff for ironing a shirt for me on very short notice. The restaurant is exceptional; from the design to the menu to the service, everything was a delight. I would not go out of the way to stay in this Inn, but I would for the restaurant. Senlis is a charming medieval town definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here on our way home from a French holiday and it proved to be a perfect place to end our trip.
The welcome was warm and appreciated and the whole place charming. Such an interesting town.(On our list for a definate return)
The dinner and the restaurant was superb.Quiet unobtrusive service and delicious food.
All in all one of the nicest Hotels we have stayed in
Thank you so much to ALL the staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jounieh, Lebanon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

With a very friendly and helpful staff, charming architecture, a gorgeous garden, a good restaurant and good rooms, this hotel is a place I'd visit again in a heartbeat.
The restaurant offers a nice breakfast, the rooms are spacious and neat. The sliding door for the bathroom isn't too smart as it doesn't fully close, and there is no elevator, which made it hard for me to carry my bags up and down the stairs with my bad knee. Fortunately, someone from the hotel decided to help me.
I'm sure the garden is simply magical in spring and summer. It was nice even in winter, with a few flowers braving the cold here and there. It's right next to the cathedral and the Senlis train station, which all makes for a very pleasant morning walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEKassab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Unfortunately i couldn't get a room for the night we required and stayed elsewhere but we did book in for an evening meal. The staff were very welcoming and accomodating, service unobtrusive, the food excellent, and not too pricey. Exposed stone walls, wood panelling and open fires gave the atmosphere of the whole hotel a relaxed and inviting place to be and we will stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a very charming hotel: stone walls with a turret and plenty of trees in the garden. Inside it retains the character of an old building with wood panelling and a winding staircase. The rooms I saw (in the main building) are beautifully fitted with some character furniture but modern beds and facilities, including free wifi. Our room was under the roof and had huge beams and skylights. The bathroom was large and worked well. I should add that the wifi was not working the night we stayed but this was true of the whole hotel and was an ISP problem.

The town is just off the A1 and therefore handy for an overnight stop on either an outward or return journey further south.We saw only a little of Senlis but what we did see looked interesting and well worth a return visit.

We ate in the restuarant and the food and service were excellent. Breakfast was ordinary but just what you expect in a french hotel. The prices were reasonable for both the accommodation and dinner.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main building and were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clottieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Senlis
1.3 mi away
L'Aunette Cottage
L'Aunette Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chamant
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Bellon
Le Petit Bellon
#6 of 6 in Senlis
28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Senlis
Ibis Senlis
#3 of 6 in Senlis
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Senlis
Ibis Budget Senlis
#5 of 6 in Senlis
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Campanile Senlis
Campanile Senlis
#4 of 6 in Senlis
91 reviews
5.0 mi away
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
#1 of 6 in Chantilly
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Porte-Bellon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Porte-Bellon

Property: Hostellerie de la Porte-Bellon
Address: 51 rue Bellon, 60300, Senlis, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Senlis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Senlis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de la Porte-Bellon 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old staging post lodge keeps its historical stamp, allying the charms and character of an ancient construction to a contemporary comfort.Take a seat at this exquisite and sophisticated table for a unique pleasure enjoying authentic cooking with local gastronomy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De La Porte-Bellon Hotel Senlis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing