We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience !!”
Review of Hotel Le Richelieu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Richelieu
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Flotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Richelieu has the best spot on the island, close to the center of La Flotte without the noise, the beach right across and plenty of parking for your car. La Flotte is so close to the bridge that you can be in La Rochelle in no time. Bicycle roads are very convenient to visit the island. I have stayed in a few rooms and although all were spacious, well equipped and comfortable, there is a need for remodeling. We came in September so most of the Summer crowd had left so we did not experience any problem to eat at the restaurant where food and service were excellent. Breakfast could be served in our room or we could enjoy a lovely buffet in the breakfast room, as weather permitted, we even ate it outside by the pool. The staff was the icing on the cake from the chambermaids, reception and restaurant : they made our stay as pleasant as they could and as far as I am concerned they succeeded. My husband was combining work and (a little) leisure and unfortunately the internet is not up to speed... The island is charming late Spring and September and we will be back at Le Richelieu.

Room Tip: Rooms above the spa with sea views are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariecat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is perfectly adequate in terms of facilities. The pool and setting are nice enough, but the rooms are slightly dated, and a little bit small. As the first stop on our honeymoon, we were really looking forward to a rest and relaxation. We were really very very disappointed with the service at Le Richelieu, despite the fact that they knew it was our honeymoon. The front desk staff treated us like we were in their way, and twice were really overtly rude. La Flotte is fabulous, but I would warn against anyone staying here, unless you want to feel like a burden to the staff. Shame.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sarawiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The Richelieu has a beautiful situation, on a promenade just at the edge of the beach. It is in La Flotte, a charming town with a great daily market. The walk to centre ville is a very pleasant waterfront stroll. The hotel is beautifully maintained and the breakfast and pool area are super. Service is inconsistent. Everyone is pleasant and professional but there is one employee who is exceptionally forgetful, as in forgetting our dinner reservation and forgetting to report the plumbing issue in our bathroom. The Richelieu benefits from the almost unbelievable lack of accomodations on the island. There are certainly crowds. They are mostly campers. The lack of competition with other hotels is the only way we could reconcile the outrageous room prices. We were not disappointed at The Richelieu but do not expect too much bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Ile de Re was a complete surprise, really lovely location for a relaxing holiday. Both La Flotte and St Martin are picture perfect fishing villages, St Martin being within easy cycle distance from La Flotte. Le Richelieu is the perfect location, probably the best on Ile de Re, opposite the sea, great easy free parking, very short stroll into La Flotte, absolutely perfect. We were in room 14 which proved to be excellent, very comfortable, great bathroom, great beds, lots of storage, all TV facilities etc and a lovely big balcony overlooking the sea and the distant view of La Flotte harbour entrance. Being at the side of the hotel instead of directly facing the sea, we had the advantage of the sun all afternoon on our balcony which was great given there was both a table and chairs or two sun beds to enjoy. Highly recommend the accommodation, a really good standard and of course the hotel also has a lovely pool (sheltered at the rear of the hotel), very nice breakfast rooms or you can take breakfast by the pool and a reading/tv room. The staff were helpful and welcoming and the hotel was immaculately clean throughout. Don't hire the expensive bikes from the hotel, personally I think the bikes should be free to guests, there are plenty of hire shops in La Flotte which have a whole range of choice at far less cost. The only disappointment was their restaurant - and I have to say this was a big let down. The staff either had no training at all or were very badly trained, although one or two were pleasant and were doing their best to make us feel welcome and valued. We opted for half board which was reasonably priced for a good standard hotel, but the menus each evening stuck to four courses, one being cheese, without any surprises save for a token amuse-bouche on our fist night. It was as if the chef had watched too many cooking programmes and was attempting to recreate and wow(!) rather than actually concentrate on producing great quality dishes with substance and flavour. A big let down for us but we still enjoyed our stay given the fabulous location, the high standard of accommodation and La Flotte itself is enchanting.

Room Tip: Side room overlooking the sea and view of La Flotte located within the hotel itself on the upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A fantastic location. Helpful staff. Would be worthy of 4 good stars if the room was updated. At 380 euro per night, our superior garden room 29. Was reminiscent of a Butlins chalet from the outside. The garden view - was over a grassed back yard - very uninspiring, The bed had a fleece blanket - rather than a duvet. The bathroom shower was mouldy. The bath had a horrible nylon shower curtain. Bathroom was very dated with Lino floor. I have stayed at La Toiras and also Clos de St Martin in St Martin de Re, 10 mins up the road. Far better hotel rooms and better value for money.

Room Tip: Ideally ask for one with view of pool or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

What an awesome château et relais!
This perfect hotel is right in front of the ocean.
The staff is truly warm friendly and so professional.
The restaurant has the best view but most important the most delicious food ever!
If paradise exists this is it !
Ile de Ré makes you feel like you are back in time this could be the 18 th century and you feel like
you are in a movie it seems like they managed to stop time and stay still in a wonderful life
when everything was sweet and nice ...
Hope to come back ..

Room Tip: we are in room 12 ,Perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulyne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Right on the beach, great treatments, good food, warm pool, great anniversary present from my husband.would come here gain any time of the year.Lots of good local places to eat nearby,shops,beaches and more

Room Tip: Take one of the bungalows in the grounds, you have your own private garden, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Flotte
2.7 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#2 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
550 reviews
3 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
826 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#4 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
627 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa
#3 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Galion
Hotel Le Galion
#4 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Richelieu

Address: 44 avenue de la Plage, 17630 La Flotte, Ile de Re, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > La Flotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Flotte
Price Range: £106 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Richelieu 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out over the sea, set at the heart of the charming bay of La Flotte-en-Ré, the Richelieu 5-star hotel ***** invites you into a haven of peace and tranquillity where all is calm, luxury and pleasure. The hotel has 40 rooms and suites, each designed in a unique style in an elegant, cosy atmosphere where it is good to rest and unwind. You will be able to stroll by the swimming pool or on the bar patio, two ideal places to relax and daydream as you look out over the ocean. With its sea view, the Richelieu's gourmet restaurant invites lovers of good food to awaken their senses. You will be able to enjoy delicious dishes made using the best regional produce, accompanied by the very best vintage wines, all the while savouring the panoramic view. The Richelieu's thalassotherapy centre and spa provides all its experience and expertise to make you feel good and fit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu Hotel
Hotel Le Richelieu Ile De Re/La Flotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing