We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe du Commerce

Cafe du Commerce
Ranked #12 of 26 Restaurants in Ars-en-Re
Cuisines: French, American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woking, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We returned to this restaurant having eaten here several years ago and thought it was good. However this visit the food was rather average and overpriced. My husband ordered the smoked eel salad at a cost of 15 euro. There were no more than a few small pieces of fish and a huge amount of potato to bulk it out. My steak was fine but nothing special. Service was friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    216
    117
    84
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Busy marina setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stopped by chance at this restaurant for lunch while on a cycle trip to Ars en Re. As other people have said this is a busy restaurant, and we were asked to come back after 15 minutes. The waiter recognised us when we rejoined the queue, and called us out to take us to the table on the terrace overlooking the marina.
Given the location they have an extensive seafood menu but also have a good selection of TexMex food. The service was pompt without being rushed, and the quality of the food could not be faulted.
We would definitely return here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb Marina Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

A Great restaurant with outside seating alongside a small marina. Great choice of food with "Langoustines et Frites" a particular favourite of mine.
Very casual dining, with good service.
Can be VERY busy, so best to book, if it's sunny.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We like it for casual crepes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We visit once each trip to ile de Re for a casual supper and once you're fine with casual, an enjoyable meal can be had. Yes, they're constantly so busy that some glitches in bringing the food can happen. But the location on the scenic port, the friendly service and the huge choice on the menu make up for that I think. Not a gastronomic masterpiece but perfect for a chilled out holiday meal. The desserts alone are worth going for

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location, everything else a mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic, on the old port at Ars en Re. The terrace on the port side is wonderful on a nice day. The main issue is that the food and the service are inconsistent. My family and I have come here for years. The service has dipped in recent years. You are just never sure what you are going to get these days. Could be fine, or your could end up waiting an hour between courses. The staff are a bit arrogant, as for many years this was the very fashionable place to be. Less so today. One nice thing which has been consistent is the eclectic menu, including quite a decent selection of Tex Mex...which is rare in France. Lastly, the owner also owns a vintage Chinese junk, which is moored right in front of the restaurant. It can be chartered with a skipper for a day of sailing around the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigSur707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe du Commerce also viewed

Ars-en-Re, Ile de Re
Ars-en-Re, Ile de Re
 
Ars-en-Re, Ile de Re
Ars-en-Re, Ile de Re
 

Been to Cafe du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing