We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent, location great, rooms very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food excellent, location great, rooms very average”
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed in one of the 'charming' rooms which was located next to the restaurant. Unfortunately it was extremely noisy due to the scraping of cast iron chairs in the restaurant which seemed to start at about 6.30am every morning - not very conducive to holiday lie-ins! The room itself was small and very averagely decorated. The bathroom was functional but old and could have used a bit of a make-over. It also had a bit of an odd smell.

The pool was small but heated and because we were staying the tail end of September it wasn't too busy. The gardens surrounding the pool and restaurant are very pretty. The restaurant itself was very prettily decorated and the food was lovely. Buffet style breakfast and then dinner with buffet starters, cheese and dessert courses and then a choice of either a fish or meat main. We stayed 10 nights and didn't get the same main course twice. All of the staff were really friendly apart from one of the waitresses who was really quite rude which was a shame as it sometimes spoilt an otherwise brilliant dining experience.

The location of the hotel itself was good if you want to be really close to the beach. it's also quite close to St Martin which was lovely. The Ile de Re is very pretty and we had a great time cycling all around it along the multitude of cycle paths - either along the sea or through vineyards.

Would definitely return to the Ile de Re and the Hotel Plaisir to eat but not sure if the food justifies the cost of the rooms and would definitely request a room as far away from the restaurant as possible.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    135
    37
    26
    15
See reviews for
54
293
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This was the last leg of our three week tip around France and it was a very pleasant stay, if not a little like home, coming from Guernsey.

Shame about the weather which was perfect the evening we arrived and the morning we left, but we could tell that this is a lovely island, and the hotel is a couple of minutes' walk from a lovely beach. The hotel is all on ground level, so no views, but a nice little courtyard outside our room with French windows outside. There is a table and chairs and plants and a place to hang your washing (although the line was broken on ours...). The room was generally quite quiet, but that was when we didn't have neighbours, once some moved in next door to us, we could hear a few things, but it wasn't too disrupting.
Shower room OK, but could do with a bit of a makeover, just to match the high standard and rustic style of the bedrooms - I loved the decor and the bed was comfy too.
Good channels on the TV and nice magazines about the island. However, when the lady rang us to ask if we wanted our room to be cleaned (it was a rainy day and we were relaxing in our room) she rang back again, even after we ignored the phone call and hand the Do Not Disturb sign up.

There is parking, but sometimes you have to park over the road, which is bizarrely also where the reception is located. The carpark is also just dusty, not tarmaced.

There is a small gym available, near the pool, which is a quite small, but you are so near the beach it is OK. There are some loungers by the pool, and also, you can eat by the pool when the weather permits - breakfast is buffet style - pastries, fresh OJ but you squeeze it yourself (can feel a bit self conscious as the machine was quite noisy!), cereals, which were a bit sweet for me, could do with a healthier version, a DIY toaster, some fruit and a hot drinks machine for tea and coffee. You didn't need lunch really!
The dining room is very nice and airy, with the same style - rustic and beachy with wrought iron chairs and nice atmosphere, although some of the chairs and tables are quite high, so not ideal if you're short! Lower, normal heights are also available though. Starter is also buffet style, as is dessert - this was not really to my taste, as it did make me wonder how long the food had been out there, and there were the odd flies around, so I mainly had the nice bread to start and focussed on the main course, as I knew this would be fresher! I don't have a big appetite, so this wasn't a problem for me. Main course was very nice and wonderfully artistically presented. The staff were also friendly. I like how they use local produce.
All in all, this hotel is a plaisir!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

My partner and I booked two nights at this beach front hotel on a half board basis through the hotel website. The first night was paid for at the time booking was made. When we arrived to check in at the hotel reception, which was located across the road from the hotel, we thought it was a bit odd that we were requested to pay the for the balance of our stay even before we were shown to our room.

The room was very basic and much smaller than it appeared on the photogragh on the website – it was directly next to the restaurant, but we were assured that noise would not be a problem. There were two small lumpy pillows on the bed and a blanket with a bottom sheet but not a top sheet covering the old blanket - there were strands of long hair from previous guests still stuck on the blanket.

We were informed upon check in that there are two sittings for dinner, at 7pm and 8:30pm. We decided to go for the later sitting, and arrived at the restaurant at around 8:20pm for a pre-dinner drink.

Some dinner guests were leaving, and we were shown to a table. Entrée and desserts/cheese were served buffet style, and according to the information given in the room, the half board menu had a choice of three main courses: 2 fish dishes and a meat dish. I asked for a menu – the waitress seemed surprised, and produce a menu with just one fish main course. Upon further enquiry, I was told I could have a chicken dish as main course instead.

We took a look at the entrée buffet – which was in a very sorry state with almost empty salad bowls with a few soaky leaves and seafood platter containing a few leftover shrimps which looked positively unappetising… There were no signs of dishes being refilled and indeed no other guests seemed to have opted for the so called second sitting as we were obviously the last to arrive. Having seen the a la carte menu on display outside which included local specialties such as oysters and various seafood dishes – the menu also had a price column which showed the supplement payable for half board guests, I asked for the a la carte menu. No, I was told there was none. The maitre d'h was postively impatient by then: " poisson or viande?" he insisted. So much for the gastronomic experience on our first night at the Ile de Re!!! In fact, on the website under gastronomy the hotel boasts that “The today's special is suggested, never imposed; a choice between at least 15 dishes is offered without any supplement.” !!! We both ate the fish main course which was a piece of tasteless grilled white fish served with a piece of ham. Couldn’t believe this hotel was awarded 3 fireplaces by the Logis de France!

The next morning we were woken up by activities in the restaurant shortly after 7am. From then on there was constant high pitch screeching from the restaurant next door as the heavy cast iron chairs were being moved on the bare floor – so much for a lie-in.

Instead of staying a second night, we checked out after breakfast and left the Ile de Re. There was not a hint of apology from the hotel. We travel to France 3-4 times a year and had never had such a poor experience. Were we expecting too much when all we wanted was a decent dinner and a good night’s sleep?

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asiangourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying in our Hotel. We are sorry if you had a bad view of our hotel, but please let me answer to you for some points of your deception.

Our hotel is quiet place labeled “Nature and Silence” and all of the rooms are on the ground floor with a private terrace, so very cosy, charming and peaceful. None rooms are directly next to the restaurant. Furthermore, in the rooms the bed linen are sheets and duvet (not covers), and they are changed every day.
It is true that we ask the payment at the arrival, and you knew that before coming, because we have explained it to you when you made your booking (and another time on your email of confirmation). We ask payment of the stay at the arrival because after your check-in you are free and don’t need to let the key at the reception eveytime you’re leaving the hotel.

At the restaurant, two services are provided (it is mentioned on your arrival), to manage the best way the number of people, and avoid a long and unpleasant waiting.

We are a good table, referred in the most famous gastronomy’s guide. Logis 3/3 cocottes and 1er Maitre Restaurateur of our region, "Gastronomic table" by Tables & Auberges de France... etc. We propose a high quality of food, based on fresh and local products from our terroir. Our new Chef, who worked palaces like “Four Seasons” in Genève, cooks fishes and seafood’s from the season, which comes from our coast exclusively. Organic vegetables are specially produced for us by a local producer Mrs Neveur. For the half-board menu, a large choice of starters (hot and cold), regional cheeses and home made desserts are proposed each evening like a buffet, and for the main dish, served on plate, there is the choice between a fish or a meat. Our guests can eat à la carte if they want, with a supplement. We are working only with fresh products, not deep-frozen, that’s why, sometimes, it can happen that some of products miss. But they are always replaced with others propositions, to give the maximum of choice to our guests.
We remember of your coming, and we are really sorry for tensions between you and your husband during the diner, but we are not responsible of the bad perception you had about the hotel, continuation of your discord.
We hope to welcome you next time, with another context to let you realise that we have a really good level of service.

Kind regards,

MH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

The Hotel Plaisir ticked all the boxes - beautiful rooms, your own private courtyard with table and chairs, lovely tasteful furnishings. All the staff were happy and so helpful. Breakfast was a huge and varied buffet - you really could eat as much as you wanted if you felt so inclined. We were staying on a half board basis - and the evening meals were excellent.
Not only did we have wonderful surroundings to stay in, but the Ile de Re itself is very interesting , scenic with beautiful beaches and safe cycle tracks across the island. (The hotel hires out bicycles).
We booked through the 'Logis' website and you read all the hotel blurb - but you can't resist thinking that there's a lot of exaggeration going on - on this occasion, the hotel was better than all the descriptions.

  • Liked — location and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank arromanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
4.8 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
749 reviews
4.4 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
560 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
#6 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
294 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elegance Suites Hotel - Ile de Re
Elegance Suites Hotel - Ile de R...
#4 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir

Property: Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Address: 57 avenue du Pas des Boeufs, 17580 Le Bois-Plage-en-Re, Ile de Re, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
#2 Spa Hotel in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
#4 Romantic Hotel in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir Ile De Re/Le Bois-Plage-En-Re

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing