We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant l'Ocean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

What a lovely place! The rooms are small but comfortable. The staff are really helpful. The restaurant is excellent and the, small, pool is perfect to cool off in after a day cycling around this pretty island.
The hotel has many quite, shady places to settle down with a book and a glass to let the worries of the world drift away. Don't go for wild nightlife and do expect families with young children but don't worry you can find noise or peace and quite to suit your needs. We love it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benbud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Contrary to some other reviewers comments we found the management and staff very efficient and friendly, expecially in reception.
Our room was comfortable and cleaned well.
Our only slight negative is that whilst the food presentation was good, much of it lacked any real taste, particularly the fish.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankophileLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This hotel is located in the centre of Le Bois Plage, a sleepy village on the Ile de Re. Because we knew it was 5 km from the main town and there are not very many good restaurants in the village we selected half board accommodation.
I have marked our experience at the highest level and we just loved the ambience and the food. Despite the poor exchange rate these days the hotel offers great value for money.
Le Bois Plage centre is on the doorstep but the hotel is incredibly quiet.
We are going back next week for new Year and expect to revisit on many occasions in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Inside, this is an attractive hotel beautifully furnished sadly it was let down by the standard of service. Some of the staff were friendly others were very off hand and you felt you were more of an irritation than a paying guest. The breakfast cereal was empty when my husband asked for the cereal he was told it was finished. This was not late into the breakfast service.
This was our first visit to the island. The beaches were beautiful and unspoilt.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed here recently for 3 nights and were so glad we chose to stay here. We flew to Paris and then got the train to La Rochelle so after quite a long journey were so relieved when we arrived to find that Hotel Ocean was as lovely as it looked on its website, in a really nice location. You step into a little oasis...
Our room was beach-style shabby chic, there are different types of rooms available- some ground floor, some upstairs, some with outside seating areas/balcony and some by the pool. We had an upstairs room with no balcony but just down the steps was a lovely courtyard garden and pool. The outdoor space of the hotel is really peaceful and pretty there are plenty of places to sit around and read.
We chose to include breakfast, which was all set out really nicely with plenty to choose from. It was lovely take it outside and eat croissants on the decking in the morning sun!
We ate in the restaurant on our last night and it made our holiday it was fab.
We found that staff here were really friendly and helpful, willing to help us out when we can only say a few words in french.
There are a few other restaurants in Bois plage to choose from, theres a lovely market everyday around the church square and the village really is a nice laid back seaside atmosphere, rather than St martin which is beautiful, but quite chic and well-to-do.
We arrived from La Rochelle by taxi, so wanted a central location so see the island by bike- theres places right near the hotel to get a bike from, and you can lock them up at the hotel.
I looked for quite some time when choosing a hotel on Ile de re as I wanted to choose a nice one and theres so many, (but for high season they were super expensive). Hotel ocean was a great choice, great price and Im sure is just as lovely (if not more than) the others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jetsetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

A lovely hotel, rather spoiled by the attitude of some of the staff. We were a few friends staying in various rooms and none of us could access the internet, although the hotel boasted wi-fi access in all the rooms. When we told the receptionist, she peremptorily replied that people in other rooms had access, which was hardly the point. Then she variously accused us of not putting in the code correctly, of having incompatible computers and so on. It took twenty minutes of hard discussion (luckily we all speak fluent French, and we are quite good with computers too…..) to get her to accept that all we wanted was for her to validate our complaint and pass it on to the person responsible. A smile and an expression of regret for the inconvenience would have been nice.
On the second night, we were woken at midnight by a high-pitched noise which went on for an hour. There is no night porter and one of the guests had to phone the owner, who eventually came and sorted it out. The same receptionist next day gave us a lecture about the hotel only being a 2 star hotel and how you can’t expect to have anyone on duty at night. Again, a simple apology would have been nice and might have encouraged us to come back.
Absolutely no complaints about the restaurant, which is under different management to the hotel. The food was superb and very good value, with excellent service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank frenchloki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Pretty hotel with a warm welcome and very comfortable room

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steamside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
425 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Galion
Hotel Le Galion
#4 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
375 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
610 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#2 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
541 reviews
5.4 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant l'Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant l'Ocean

Address: 172 rue de Saint Martin, 17580 Le Bois-Plage-en-Re, Ile de Re, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
#3 Romantic Hotel in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
Price Range: £74 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant l'Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant l'Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Ocean
l Ocean Hotel
Hotel Restaurant L'Ocean Ile De Re/Le Bois-Plage-En-Re

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing