We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel of the beaten path on Ile de Re”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Re

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fleur de Re
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loix
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel of the beaten path on Ile de Re”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spend two night at this hotel of the beaten path in Loix on the Ile de Re. The rooms are clean and modern but quite compact. The hotel has free wifi working nicely in the reception area, not really in the rooms themselves. The hotel is walking distance from the center of Loix where one can find a restaurant for dinner and a nice bakery for breakfast (our preference to the one served at the hotel). More than average, a good choice ... although very good is a bit strong of an endorsement. The hotel also rents bikes which are definitely the best way to discover the island!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GVancollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    48
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

After spending the afternoon at the beach we arrived at the Fleur de Re in time for a swim in the warm pool before exploring Loix.As both restaurants in Loix were fully booked we took away pizzas and drinks from the village bakery and brought them back to the apartment we were staying in. It was spacious and comfortable for 5, quiet and relaxed -a great first night to our holiday.
The staff were friendly and relaxed and we enjoyed the hotel.
Breakfast seemed expensive at 12 euros so we opted for the local cafe and then enjoyed a stroll to the port.
Not cheap but a great location and comfortable for a large family - highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed for a long weekend at this hotel. It was just perfect. A small room was on the only downside but considering we spent most of our time out on our bikes it was just fine. The location is terrific. I moments walk from the market square, where we had breakfast each morning (12euros for coffee, juice, bread, jam and a pastry each as opposed to the 12euros per person at the hotel) and two mins from two great restaurants - perfect for shellfish and white wine as the sun goes down. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulumcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent small hotel with very good accommodation. Our room was very clean, well equipped and very modern. Small swimming pool and very close to the village, about 5 mins walk. Village has a small well equipped supermarket, bars, restaurant, cafes, bakers, butchers and veg shops.

Breakfast at 12 euros each was expensive for what it was. We walked round the corner to the village which we advise others to do. Brilliant for cycle tracks.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Visited the island whilst on business in Poitiers, and stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Its a lovely little boutique hotel with small pool area and comfy sunbeds. The rooms are quite tight for room, but as we were only there for a short time, didnt bother to unpack. There is a village a short walk away with a couple of bars, restaurants & a Spar shop. Its a very chilled out area and you can sit and watch the French men play boules of an evening. We were there on Bastille night, so went into St Martins de Re for a meal and to watch the fireworks.

There is no bar and the reception area closes at 7, so if you are arriving later you must let them know and they leave a key pinned to the front door. We didnt have the breakfast, so can not comment on this. Would recommend this hotel and the island in general

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was our favourite hotel during our one week holiday in this area. We only got to stay 2 nights but the rooms were lovely, with air conditioning and lots of light. Loix is in the middle of the island and a short drive to anywhere. There are only a few parking spaces in front of the hotel but there are 2 car parks within short walking distance and you can also park on side streets across the road from the hotel.
The hotel is very clean, the reception is very very friendly with very good English and the breakfast was the best value we had in France. The bed is very comfortable and the decor is as you see in the photos. I really can't find fault for the price we paid on this island, which is generally quite expensive. We had a normal room for 2 people but it would be even better value for a split level 1 bedroom rooms for 4 people which seemed to also have a kitchen area/table. There is also a pool which we unfortunately didn't get to use as we went to the beach. You do need a car to get around freely and to visit each main town areas which are all very unique and different from each other.
It is only a short walk to the centre of Loix which has a supermarket, bakery, a cafe, few shops etc. Everyone goes around in bicycles and it has a real family atmosphere. We had a bit of tricky time finding a nice beach to swim in, as some of the beaches are for fishing. We found some great stretches of the beach on La Bois Page en Re. Would recommend investing in a good beach umbrella as the sun can be quite strong, even in overcast weather. Also there are no shops readily available at the beach so you'll need a picnic basket of water, snacks, food etc.
We are already planning going back for a week next year. La Rochelle airport is literally on the otherside of the bridge and is a very very small airport. I would recommend filling up before you go across the bridge as we had to drive on a bit to find a gas station on the other side past the airport before returning the car.
Would definitely recommend for a relaxing holiday for couples and also for families.

Room Tip: Best value would be for a 4 person room which is a split level one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TobyInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loix
8.7 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
378 reviews
8.2 mi away
No photo provided
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
560 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cote Thalasso Ile de Re
Cote Thalasso Ile de Re
#2 of 4 in Ars-en-Re
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
749 reviews
8.2 mi away
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
#6 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
294 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Re? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Re

Property: Hotel Fleur de Re
Address: 13 Route du Perthuis, 17111 Loix, Ile de Re, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Loix
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Re 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel Fleur de Re is located in Loix. This village is one of the most preserved in the island. The hotel is very close to the village center and the beaches are located at only 500 meters. There is also an outdoor pool (from april to september) with a terrace. A free Wi-Fi is available. You are invited to relax in our rooms decorated in a typical style. Each includes of a private bathroom and separated toilets. There is an air-conditioning system and a flat-screen television. Otherwise, you can choose an apartment (for 2, 4 or 6 persons) which has a small kitchen and a lounge area with a privative terace. A varied continental breakfast buffet is served everyday between 8.30 am to 12am. We offer many local artisanal products. The terrace will allow you to relax thanks to our transat in front of the swimming pool. A free car park is located near to the hotel if you would like to visit the island by car. But you can also rent bikes directly at reception. Please, note that dogs are welcome with a financial compensation (just tell us before coming) Our staff would be grateful to help you for any request you may have like giving you some tourist guide concerning the island and others advices. For your information, La Rochelle’s town center is located 35km from the hotel; the airport is located 30km from Loix. --- Our rooms : - twin room (with a possibility of terace) - flat for 2 persons (kitchen, lounge area) -flat for 4 persons (kitchen, lounge area) - flat for 6 persons (kitchen, lounge area) on request : - guest bed - baby's cot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Re reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing