We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great value, brilliant location”
Review of Hotel Le Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Square
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is a delight. The owners are very friendly and helpful. It was beautifully hot and the staff were quick to provide a fan when asked. Rooms are not big but perfectly adequate and very clean. The swimming pool is a real boon and perfectly located. Breakfasts are substantial and healthy. Just at the top if St Pierre so location is spot on - close to restaurants, shops, markets and with ample parking. A little bar would have been nice but might have made it noisier! Can't fault it and hope to return.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool - quieter on the inner courtyard at night. But not really a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogberry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night and would happily have made it longer. Excellent decor, very clean and happy helpful staff who speak decent English but don't mind you trying your French. What the photos don't show is that the pool is entirely enclosed and makes it feel like your very own villa! Breakfast very nice and fresh, and ideal location for the town. All in all makes for two very happy travellers.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great 2* hotel, quiet but near restaurants and shops. Not the first time we have been there and certainly not the last . Friendly but discreet welcome . Simple ,comfortable rooms and bathroom. All is beautifully kept . Very good breakfast buffet style, will satisfy the biggest appetites even my husband's ! Sheltered , heated pool. Everything is perfect for an overnight stop or a longer time to visit the island 's magnificent beaches .
Pour les FRANCAIS qui me lisent, Hôtel 2* EXEMPLAIRE.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLW239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Excellent located hotel in the heart of the biggest city of this beautiful island. Easy to reach by bike or car to many other areas of the island. Nearby bars and great restaurants that you can walk from the hotel. Great pool, nice internal areas and patios. Friendly staff. Good, modern and nice rooms. Good decoration. Breakfast was good.

Well, my room was on the first floor facing the street, it is good to carry the bags in, but that leaves you a bit uneasy to leave the window open because there is no AC or fan in the room. Other than this, no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardoMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 days in August and had a wonderful time. Our room was comfortable and the location was great. The staff in particular were incredibly friendly and helpful. We loved ile d'oleron and would stay here again if ever we return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Excellent accommodation, Spacious room good sized bathrom & big shower. Public areas V pleaseant inside & outise, Terrace area ,where breakfast can be taken weather permiting,the garden area is spacious with good seating although the cultivation is a work in progress.
The Breakfast is varied continental , good assortment of drinks ,hot & cold.
The swimming pool was pleasantly heated & the area excellent for sitting .Free Wifi available I made little use of the TV .with only french language progs..
Parking was very convenient.THe manager & some other staff speek English
I have mobility probs & found the staff extremely helpful making for a great holiday .It is situated near to many good eateries.
I really hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnymacwirralUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Welcoming and helpful english speaking manager who kindly made our restaurant reservation for the evening we arrived. A bit difficult to get parked near to hotel and hotel has only 3 reserved parking spots of its own. Room was comfortable, rather small but adequate - the open-plan wardrobe/hanging space would have proved testing had we been staying for more than two nights. The outdoor heated swimming pool was lovely - warm and relaxing. There was also a tiny gymnasium and table tennis. Fascinating, colourful and very french daily market both covered and open-air, a short walk away and of course beautiful beaches nearby. Eating out was a little more expensive than we are used to in other areas in France. Lots of lovely hot coffee and hot milk at breakfast time, an egg-boiler, a toaster, cereal, fruit juice, two sorts of bread, brioche, jams, butter, yoghurts - but as AandE said fresh fruit would have been a nicer option than fruit from a tin. We would visit and stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
2.4 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#3 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins d'Oleron
Les Jardins d'Oleron
#2 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
161 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Face aux Flots
Hotel Face aux Flots
#1 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Troja...
#1 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
862 reviews
9.0 mi away
Mer et Foret Hotel
Mer et Foret Hotel
#6 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
157 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Chaudree
Hotel Restaurant La Chaudree
#1 of 1 in La Bree-les-Bains
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Square

Address: 2 Place des Anciens Combattants, 17310, Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile d'Oleron > Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
Price Range: £56 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Square 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Square France/Charente-Maritime

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing