We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for St Trojan” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Cleunes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Les Cleunes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good choice for St Trojan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Overall a good hotel with nice communal areas and recently re-decorated throughout; probably one of the better choices in St Trojan/ Ile d'Oleron (and we thought St Trojan was the best base). We had part sea view - all rooms have balconies. Bed was just a double though so a certain amount of toe over-hang! Bathroom also just had hand shower and no curtain,etc so care needed! Breakfast was extra 15 Euro on our room rate and felt a bit overpriced for cereals/ pastries/ meat & cheese - but a buffet so you can help yourself. Also, we found very limited alternative choice locally. Good (heated) pool and tennis court on site. Bike hire nearby was also reasonable for the day and a good way of seeing the island (approx 10 Euro per bike per day).

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    93
    30
    21
    5
See reviews for
45
160
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel fro two night and really enjoyed it.
The only two negative points were that the room was quite small and there was nowhere to lay down your clothes only some coat hangers.
Now to the positive points: The staff are extremely friendly, the pool is heated and you have a view over the sea, all the rooms have a balcony, there is a spa and you can have massages, in the evening the restaurant offers little 'tartines' which were lovely and most of all the breakfast buffet was enormous and of really good quality!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully go back one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

3 nights, late summer break.

Good points, easy parking, reasonable size room. Didn't have dinner but the room which was used for breakfast was modern and ok. Could eat outside if it wasn't too blowy. Room had kettle, paper cups tea and coffee which was fine. Room serviced quick and efficient.

Bad points, not particularly cheap, breakfast was extra at EU12.50 per person, no hot food, ie no English Breakfast, no lift to the third floor, the pool opened later than advertised. Wall mounted soap dispensers (becomming very common these days sadly. No air con, had to leave the door open and risk being bitten by the mossies.

Strange - rather strange way of accessing the hotel after 1030pm when the front door was locked. (via the fire escape). Pool towels counted in and out.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radiosutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

When we revisited Cleunes this year we were aware that the ownership had changed but we could not believe how an establishment could change so much (not for the better)
Whereas the dining room was very grand with luxurious carpeting that has all changed.
It now resembles a cheap end of the market bistro,with unfortunately food to match.
On our previous visits we used to look forward to our evening (half board) meal,not this time unfortunately. No more amuse bouches,very poor canapes with our aperitifs and service that was all about making entries into the computer system only to provide food of very average quality. We definitely will not be returning to this hotel ,which is a great shame as we like St Trojan a lot.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogdorall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
1.9 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Troja...
#1 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
3.3 mi away
Les Jardins d'Alienor
Les Jardins d'Alienor
#1 of 1 in Le Chateau d'Oleron
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Albatros
L'Albatros
#3 of 7 in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Large
Hotel Le Grand Large
#2 of 2 in Dolus-d'Oleron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Face aux Flots
Hotel Face aux Flots
#1 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
8.4 mi away
Les Jardins d'Oleron
Les Jardins d'Oleron
#2 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Cleunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cleunes

Property: Hotel Les Cleunes
Address: 25 boulevard de la Plage, 17370 Saint-Trojan-les-Bains, Ile d'Oleron, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Les Cleunes)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile d'Oleron > Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint-Trojan-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Cleunes 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hammam Sauna and steam bath ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Les Cleunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing