We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgrace of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Les Grenettes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The hotel itself is situated in the middle of nowhere with nothing to do at all, terrible food and seriously overpriced for what you are getting, rooms stuck in the past with no style or comfort whatsoever, would not recommend this hotel to my dog to stay in as it is not fit for habitation, plus points some of the staff were extremely friendly, the old lady who seemed to own/run the place seemed to be like a dictator only times I saw her she was roaring abuse at staff very unprofessional I thought.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TopcatUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenettes, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Grenettes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear customer, first of all, we are anxious to thank you for having taken time to share your experience. We took good note negative points raised during your stay. The satisfaction of our customers is our priority and we regret sincerely not having been up to your expectations. Best Regards, All the team of 'Les Grenettes'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2008

We booked this hotel through Logis de France, having checked out the hotel's own website first. The hotel was of a perfectly acceptable standard but did not come close to meeting our expectations.The representation of it on the website is far, far nicer than the reality.
Bearing in mind that we are a young couple with no kids who thought we were goign to be staying in a romantic, quiet, pretty hotel near the beach, you'll be able to imagine the disappointment that crashed over us when we arrived to find the place full of static caravans and tents - it appears it also runs as a campsite. Worse was to come, when at check in we were each given a day-glo pink armband (!) which would allow us access to the pool - that said it all. We didn't need to look at the pool to ascertain that it was full of young children - you could hear them from a distance. The walk to the beach (about 300 yards) took us past a nightclub, phone box with broken glass and graffiti. The beach itself was literally covered in seaweed. We would have changed hotels but it was high season and there was little availability.
We did manage to find nicer beaches up the coast and really spent very little time in the hotel. Lovely restaurants elsewhere.
On the plus side, the hotel was clean and rooms were a good size. We didn't eat there as we doubted the food would live up to the price. A G&T and a whisky cost £12 in the bar, where the staff were keen for you to leave by 9.30 pm so they could go home. To top it all off we were nobbled by those annoying commune taxes on checking out 5 days later!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GloucestershireWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenettes, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Grenettes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear customer, first of all, we are anxious to thank you for having taken time to share your experience. We took good note negative points raised during your stay. The satisfaction of our customers is our priority and we regret sincerely not having been up to your expectations. Best Regards, All the team of 'Les Grenettes'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

hotel-les-grenettes is fairly easy tio find - it is not a large hotel - but does have a large camp site as part of it's grounds.

We took a cab from La Rochelle airport for 35 Euros, and are still uncertain as to whether we were 'had' over - but the price for a single private car crossing the bridge to L'isle is E16.5. though free for cyclists and when we left we took a bus from 400 yards from the Hotel to the centre of La Rochelle and then a second to the airport for only 10E...and this took only just over 30 mins...in total...

Les Grennettes itself has a fine though relatively expensive restaurant, the food was very good, as was the one meal that we took on the terrace. The local wine is excellent.

The swimming pool is not what the image on the web site shows. It is for kids. No early morning lappping. This is a fun pool. There was a shop, the tennis courts were first class and for 10E a day you can hire a bike from reception - the island is set up for cycling with well signed cyle paths, off road trails etc. One of our bikes was old and a less experienced cyclist would have struggled with the gears so check them out in the courtyard before heading off.

The rooms are typically 3 star french. Basic. we had a nice sized balcony, a TV and the shower/toilet was fine. No air-con and mosquitos kept us awake...But the rooms were very quiet, no noise at all. Breakfast was a superior continental. You will put on weight staying here - unless you exercise!

The bar is 'boring'. The beach is 400 yards away - and is fantastic, yes there are sand flies, but it reaches for miles and is sandy - the tide goes out over rocks and at low tide the locals start 'crabbing'. It was too windy to sunbathe so the flies (at the high tide mark) did not bother us.

The Hotel is away from the 'action' it is too far and too dark to walk into the neighbouring towns in an evening and we saw little in those 'villages' to attract you there, as said the Hotel restaurant is above average.

English was spoken by one of the waiters, and one very charming receptionist.

St Martin is half an hour away on a bike and is recommended for lunch - wonderful harbour town. A bus gets you there too.

The Hotel itself is nice enough. We can recommend it - if you can entertain yourself. The weather was poor when we were there, but we still enjoyed it. We did not see enough of La Rochelle, but will be heading back there - it looked great.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank webBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grenettes, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Grenettes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Dear customer, first of all, we are anxious to thank you for having taken time to share your experience. We took good note negative points raised during your stay. The satisfaction of our customers is our priority and we regret sincerely not having been up to your expectations. Best Regards, All the team of 'Les Grenettes'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank guylainebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susej82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank famillevillenavebrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandrine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Marie de Re
2.8 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
806 reviews
2.4 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
610 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
425 reviews
4.0 mi away
Le Grand Large
Le Grand Large
#2 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
#6 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Grenettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Grenettes

Address: 1 route de l Ermitage | Road of the Ermitage, 17740 Sainte Marie de Re, Ile de Re, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Sainte Marie de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sainte Marie de Re
Price Range: £67 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Grenettes 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the ile de Re, only in 300 m of the sea, the hotel Covered markets proposes 44 rooms in the middle of pines, quite various. In a theme of red or blue, they propose services of big comfort while offering a quiet and Zen spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Les Grenettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Grenettes Ile De Re/Sainte Marie De Re

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing