We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Peu Breton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed in July with my husband and daughter, only 1 night thankfully. Odd atmosphere, I didn't think much of the owners/managers. Room was just about okay but beds uncomfortable and the room cramped, there are much nicer hotels in the area with better facilities. Having read some of the replies from Management to other reviews on tripadvisor I think this gives you an idea of the type of ownership this hotel has.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank sonia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in June in a pool view room and were moderately happy with the hotel although there were a couple of things that could have been improved. Firstly the positives: The breakfast was good and the pool and gardens were nicely maintained. Contrary to some of the previous reviews, we actually liked Sainte Marie and La Noue and weren't as bothered that it was quieter as we were travelling with a baby so weren't looking for extensive nightlife. The larger towns are also very easy to get to by car or bike, so not an issue. Now the negatives: The room felt a little on the small side, especially with a travel cot set up in it. To be honest the hotel feels a little 'squeezed in' overall. I think the owners have done well to get everything crammed in to the plot, but it still does leave you feeling a little cramped. The second negative for us was the absence of any form of air conditioning or fan. We only went in early summer and our room was like an oven, making it hard for us to sleep and impossible for our daughter to sleep which definitely detracted from our enjoyment (and probably also for the poor people on either side of our room!) We did ask the owners for a fan and were initially refused but a few days later offered one but the weather had cooled by that point so it wasn't as much of a problem. We were aware at the time of booking that there was no air con, but there should have at least been some sort of way to circulate the air in the room. There was a convection heater/blower mounted to the wall which didn't work or was switched off for some reason and also a sign saying that you shouldn't open the windows to allow the blower to work, which was quite annoying given that it didn't. There was also an issue with housekeeping as our room wasn't made up for two days as we were in the room when they wanted to do it and then didn't bother to come back once we'd left (we must've only delayed them for about 20 mins). Overall this hotel isn't bad for the price, but the negatives I've mentioned do definitely make this an average hotel rather than a good or excellent one.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dom-n-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I can't understand the negative reviews, although we only stayed for one night driving down through France. I would not it recommend for a long holiday. Yes, it's very French, but it's in France!! People should get a phrasebook and try out their French.
St Marie is full of very narrow streets. Luckily we had picked up a guide book in St Martin on the way and it had a map of St Marie. Our room was very light and airy with a good bathroom. Good night's sleep. Absolutely no complaints. Breakfast was fine. Please bear in mind breakfast is not a big deal in France, they prefer lunch. They have a bar open at night, but glad we didn't partake luckily. The one coffee we had was expensive.
The receptionist recommended LesTilleuls for dinner. Brilliant, it was blues night with live music.
Yes, St Martin is lovely but places there are way more expensive than St Marie. And Ile de Re is tiny. We had lunch in St Martin and driven all round the island before we even checked in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighAird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel for three nights in September 2010. We were really pleased with our choice and definitely recommend this hotel. The owners were very welcoming and showed us to our lovely room on arrival. Nice sized room, comfortable bed and clean bathroom. The pool was right outside our patio door which was very convenient. We spent our days cycling around the isaldn and loved to ocme back to our pool in the evenings.
Breakfast is amazing- we thought at 11 euro a head it was a bit expensive until we saw the amazing buffet- as much bread, crepes, fruit, juice, ham and cheese, eggs and bacon as you want. Really worth the 11 euro.
Will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We appreciated a lot our stay in the hotel. Poeple was friendly, the room was appropriate for a family with childrens and the breakfast delicious. We recommend this site for a very nice vacation

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AleCuneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

I had heard a lot about the ile de re and after having read some reviews the peu breton seemed to be a safe bet. But I was just so dissappointed when I got there, it was just so basic. Their website gave the impression of something a lot more glamorous. The rooms are clean enough but they are also basic and quite frankly a bit dated. There's not a whole lot to do in the village and the hotel breakfast is definently overpriced for what it is. Overall, I did enjoy my time on the ile de re but this hotel was not what I thought it would be.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank gowiththeflow36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TITEP17, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Peu Breton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010
Google Translation

Nous sommes toujours très frustrés de ne pouvoir mettre un nom sur une critique, aussi justifiée soit-elle, alors que nous, nous sommes mentionnés en toutes lettres. Il est dommage que ces personnes ne se plaignent pas lorsqu’elles sont sur place, car nous sommes toujours à l’écoute, et qu’elles attendent leur retour pour en parler de manière anonyme.
Nous ne pouvons que répondre que nos chambres sont visibles sur notre site web et que nous certifions qu’elles correspondent parfaitement à la réalité. Ajoutons que le choix de la chambre appartient toujours au client, en fonction des disponibilités, bien évidemment.

We’re always very frustated not to put a name on a review, good or bad for us, whereas us, we are mentioned. It’s a pity that these persons do not complain when there are in the hotel, because we are good listeners, and that they wait to be at home to talk in a anonymous way.
We can only answer that our rooms are on our website and we certify they correspond to the reality. We can add that the client can chose her or his room, of course according to availabilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Having read the reviews (be booked before we saw some of the more recent bad ones) we thought we had found a bargain. Oh dear, there is a reason this hotel is cheaper than others on the Island. It is away from the main attractions and offers very little in the way of comfort. Breakfast was okay the room was okay and the staff, for the most part , okay. I don't know about you but I want a little more than okay from my holiday. There is very little English spoken here and little effort is made in this regard. You would think if they are attracting guests from the UK they would make more of an effort. We had wanted to leave early as we saw a few very lovely hotels in St Martin which is lovely and right in the action (but still quaint and quiet if you want it) but we had paid upfront.

They have a much better choice of restaurants in St Martin and it has a lovely atmosphere. If you want a special stay on this lovely Island then pay a bit more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank stkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TITEP17, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Peu Breton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010
Google Translation

Nous remercions ce client de reconnaître que nous sommes l’hôtel le moins cher.
L’explication est que notre hôtel était un établissement possédant 2* et qu’une troisième est arrivée en pleine saison sans que nous n’augmentions les prix. En effet, un grand nombre de réservations étant déjà faites, nous n’avons pas cru bon, par simple égard envers notre clientèle, de les augmenter.
Nous avons une importante clientèle anglo-saxonne et c’est la première fois que l’on nous oppose que l’anglais n’est pas parlé sur place. En effet, 2 réceptionnistes sont engagés en pleine saison et l’anglais pratiqué permet de répondre de manière satisfaisante à chaque demande. C’est, du moins, ce qui nous est répondu.
Quant à la situation du village de Sainte Marie de Ré, toutes les brochures traitant du tourisme sur l’île la présente comme une citée familiale, calme et proche de la nature. Nous ne doutons pas un seul instant que cette personne, exigeante à juste titre, a préparé son séjour en connaissance de cause.
Pour ce qui est de l’hôtel, nous sommes fiers de présenter sur notre site web toutes les chambres, de manière à ce que chaque client arrivant sur site ne soit pas déçu de son choix. Les hôtels se pliant à cette exigence ne sont pas si nombreux.

We thank this guest to authenticate that Le Peu Breton is the cheapest hotel of Ile de Ré.
We explain that because it was a 2 star hotel until June. We didn’t want to put up the rooms prices in July or August even if we could have done it, because it was unfair for those who hadn’t reserved before June.
A lot of English speaking client come in the hotel and it’s the first time somebody has told us that English is not spoken. In fact, 2 receptionists work with us during the high season and we can answer to each question in a satisfying way. It’s at least what clients tell us.
As for the location of Sainte Marie de Ré, all tourist brochures about the island describe it as a calm, ideal for family and in touch with nature village.
And about the hotel, we are proud to show all rooms on our website, not many hotels can propose that on their website . It’s a way for guests not to be disappointed when checking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Marie de Re
3.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
427 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
816 reviews
1.3 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel Le Galion
Hotel Le Galion
#4 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
378 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#2 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
546 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Peu Breton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Peu Breton

Address: 31 rue de la Cailletiere | La Noue, 17740 Sainte Marie de Re, Ile de Re, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Sainte Marie de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Sainte Marie de Re
Price Range: £81 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Peu Breton 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holder of the European Ecolabel, le Peu Breton is the right compromise between the conviviality of a guesthouse and the cozy comfort of a charming hotel, 2 steps from the ocean. Didier & Jean and their team welcome you warmly and will share real moments of happiness during your stopover on the isle. Couples or family (2 to 5 persons), each of the rooms, suites or studio has its own decoration and you will be comfortably installed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Peu Breton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Peu Breton Ile De Re/Sainte Marie De Re

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing