We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Vignes de la Chapelle
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Are 1st trip to the ile de re. This hotel was perfect. We stayed in a sea facing room. The facilities were great, lovely pool, nice terrace for breakfast/ drinks. Service was excellent , all the staff were really friendly and helpful. We had breakfast at the hotel which was very good. Kitchenette in the room was just enough for the odd meal we had there. Easy to get to the beach as well as into the towns. Lots of families when we stayed but clearly caters for all visitors. Would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sethsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    110
    51
    20
    12
See reviews for
109
135
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our first visit to this part of France. We stayed in room 17 (the Loft) which has lovely double room for adults, tiny kitchenette at extra charge, living area and little veranda. The twin bedded 'loft' is accessible up little cabin ladder and really good for slightly older children who need their own space. Free wifi very helpful (if a little annoying to have to get new codes every 12 hrs). Little pool and jacuzzi great for cooling down and the whole facility is very peaceful. Bikes everywhere and much easier to get around on than cars on little narrow streets. Plenty to see and do, but perfect also for just lazing around! La Rochelle accessible back across the bridge by bus (€20 family return ticket) and worth a nose around. Saint Martin shopping and harbour restaurants just perfect, if pricey, for all the family. Strongly recommend as an alternative to the over-busy st tropez area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We really liked our stay in this hotel. We had a family room. The room was very airy - I don't think it had air con (although i might be wrong) but you can keep the windows open and if you do there is a steady breeze going right through the room... the town is very small and very quiet and this was located at the edge of town so was quiet and peaceful. The rooms were cleaned daily very well, including the floors being mopped! The pool was nice to have. We moved the table onto the deck and ate our meals out there. We didn't pay for the additional kitchen use but we were allowed to use the fridge and sink and kettle, which is all we wanted so that was great. It took a bit longer than we anticipated to bike around (2 adults and two 15 year olds), but it is not as if we had any place we had to be at a certain time. This was the most peaceful part of our 3 week vacation - no churches or museums we had to see... just hang by the pool, sit and read on our deck, drive/bike to the le bois plage beaches or one of the other towns and hang out... perfect! The only thing to keep in mind is the grocery store is about a 20 min walk away in this town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay here on our first trip to Il de Re. The room was immaculate, and the whole place well kept and maintained. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and advised us on where to eat and where to visit. We had a room looking out to sea (just visible) which was very quiet but a little basic. I cant wait to come back to Il de Re and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Bourg,France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Without fault - excellent setting - peaceful and relaxing.Rooms perfect with small lounge and private decked patio area.Kitchen well equipped for self catering. Short walk/drive to beach and perfect for exploring the Ile De Re.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StMartial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We enjoyed our week at Les Vignes. My wife my two small children, 3and 2 and my older daughter 23 all stayed in a duplex apartment. The room was large and comfortable and the deck outside offered us the opportunity to eat together in a very pleasant outside dining room.

The pool is a good size and there seemed to be a steady flow of families like us who stayed there. We didn't choose to take breakfast but provided it ourselves, there is a good baker in the village and a small supermarket a 10 minute cycle away.

We went to the local beaches and as far as Bois en plage most had the added benefit of good playgrounds close by so that we could have sandcastles and slides on one trip. You only need a bike and we chose to take a cab from the airport, we used bikes to visit all of the near ports on the other side of the island, however, we would recomend La Flotte as a smaller simpler place to go for dinner with the whole family.

A good trip and we would definitely come back to Ile de Re

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Justinhicklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harpenden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was our first visit to Les Vignes and we loved it. There are 20 apartment rooms, all quite close to each other in a sort of L shape - I don't think that any apartment is less than 70 metres from the pool. We stayed in apartment no. 9, which looks on to the small communal grass area, where the hammock is situated. Apartment 9 is a bit smaller than most of the other apartments (most of which were duplexes) but it suited us, our 3 year old son and 7 month old daughter absolutely fine. Despite the apartments being reasonably close to each other, the sound insulation was excellent and we couldnt hear any noise from the other apartments.

We were aware about the extra costs for unlocking the kitchen cupboards, so we took our own disposable cutlery and plates with us and we got along fine on that basis (the fridge (with small freezer compartment) and washing up facilities were all clean and sufficient for what we needed). The apartment was very celan throughout and it was cleaned daily.

We used the pool every day; it was a bit on the cold side, but once you were in you quickly got used to it (both of our children were ok with it). The pool has a useful shallow end for children to play in. There is a security fence surrounding the pool, which prevents kids wandering into the pool area without adult supervision, and this gave us good peace of mind. We didnt use the sauna - there was a sign saying that you had to advise reception 30 minutes beforehand if you wanted to use it, and we couldnt be bothered on that basis (most of the signs around the hotel were in french). Likewise, the jacuzzi was covered up on a couple of days, but the staff were more than happy to uncover it and start it up if anyone asked.

We had breakfast in the hotel once. The price was ok (13 euros per adult, 6.50 for our toddler) and the food was of good quality; there was also a reasonable selection (we would have done it more often, but it just didnt fit with our plans).

There were guests of all european nationalities at the hotel, which we liked. We also noticed from the guest book that a lot of the comments (mostly positive) were from repeat visitors, which tells its own story.

Location: Les Vignes is tucked away on the outskirts of Saint Marie. Thee is not much to do in Saint Marie; there is a small square with a couple of shops about 0.5 mile away, the supermarket is about 0.7 mile away and the centre of Saint Marie (a marignally bigger square with a few more shops etc.) is about 1.2 mile away. We visited La Flotte, Blois and Saint Martin whilst on the island and all of these places were better than Saint Marie.

La Flotte - very pretty, small port, excellent market. Too far from Saint Marie for most to walk (about 5-6km away), but good cycle routes and accessible car parking (car parking typically costs 2-4 euros for 3-4 hours). Cycling is definitely the preferred way of travelling around the island (the island is well geared up for it, with cycle lanes everywhere). We hired a bike from Les Vignes no problem - cost is 15 euros a day for an adult bike.

Saint Martin (6-7km from Sait Marie) - the main town on the island; similar to La Flotte, but bigger. Good market too. Definitely worth a visit, but we preferred La Flotte. We drove and parked in a car park for roughly the same price as in La Flotte.

Blois - not as good as the other two, but a lovely covered market (which is easy to miss). Great beaches here (but not much shade or refreshment places- most people took their own shade and picnics).

Finally, the staff at Les Vignes were all brilliant. Sarah, the french receptionist who welcomed us on arrival, was fantastic and deserves a special mention; her command of the english language was superb, she was friendly, proactive and happy to answer the 1001 questions that we had for her. She even managed to find us a baby bath at 10pm in the evening.

We will definitely return, maybe when the kids are a bit older (I would suggest that the optimum age for children is 6-9 years old, i.e. when they are old enough to be reasonably competent cyclists).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcommoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Marie de Re
0.4 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#2 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel de Toiras
Hotel de Toiras
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Peu Breton
Hotel Le Peu Breton
#4 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Vignes de la Chapelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Vignes de la Chapelle

Property: Les Vignes de la Chapelle
Address: 5 rue de la Manne | Relais du Silence, 17740 Sainte Marie de Re, Ile de Re, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Sainte Marie de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Sainte Marie de Re
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Vignes de la Chapelle 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of a nature reserve and with stunning views overlooking the grapevines, the sea and the Isles of Aix and Oleron, our hotel is the ideal place to relax and unwind. Alone, with your family, or with your friends we invite you to spend a weekend or your holiday with us. Your Lodge in the style of an apartment for 1 to 5 people has 1 or 2 bedrooms, a living room, a wooden terrace and a snack corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Les Vignes de la Chapelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Vignes De La Chapelle Ile De Re/Sainte Marie De Re

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing