We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff and well presented sea food”
Review of Le Belem

Le Belem
Price range: US$31 - US$236
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff and well presented sea food”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

St Martin de Re named for the Patron Saint of Tours is the capital of the Ile de Re. It must be one of the most complete and well preserved walled cities on the French Atlantic seaboard, not excluding La Rochelle. It's defences were designed and built almost 400 years ago by the great military engineer Vauban because of the English marauders of the day. In the centre of the harbour, which is now a yacht marina with local fishing boats, is a little island reached by a causeway. The harbour is completely landlocked apart from one fortified exit, and lined by cobbled quays and traditional restaurants, ship chandlers, up-market ladies' dress shops, even coutouriers and low rise luxury hotels in ancient buildings. Apart from the lack of mountains in the background the whole scene could have been plucked from one of the more intimate, less well known harbours in the Cote d'Azure. The sunshine record here is almost as good and the local fish and sea food much more prolific and fresher. Le Belem is on the landward side of the harbour facing the little island and intervening yachts and fishing boats. The Carte ranged from enormous Moules Frites, through wonderful salad dishes, to mouth watering and visually appealing whole fish dishes. My wife and I having dined too well for several days were happy to lunch on 2 different salad dishes and a litre of San Pellegrino. My wife's was thinly sliced smoked duck with slices of delicious goat cheese. I chose the Salade Belem, crab meat, large chunks of lightly grilled salmon fillet and chunky but peeled crevettes with a vinaigrette dressing on a green salad base. We are both big but selective eaters and felt satisfied. Our waiter spoke moderately good English but flattered me with a French discussion as to the merits of fish in the Med and the Atlantic. Not surpringly we heard more English speech here than in some parts of the world, possibly 10% of the clientelle, the remainder seemed to be French with some Dutch visitors or expats.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmysboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    323
    190
    80
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pons, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Had lunch here this week, at the end of a few stressful weeks for us, indeed we found it hard to pick which one to eat at from so many so apparently similar, but fortunately we chose well and the great meal helped us immensely to unwind. Set in a prime location to people-watch and the enjoy the boats in the harbour, we were welcomed warmly by an older lady, not the junior waitresses, and served with care, very good humour and good speed judgement by an older gentleman, again a step up from the young waiters - who (all six) appeared to be very quick and efficient. We were presented with a pair of the best meals we've had in France. We had the set menus 'Escale' at 25.50 euro and these proved exceptionally good value, together with a good Chablis. The selections appeared fairly standard on the menu but proved more imaginatively put together than expected and were well cooked and presented, and excellent portion sizes for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inishowen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could have been handled so much better”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Fourth visit here, for both lunch and dinner over a couple of years. Great location, efficient service, good food, even if a little limited, but it is a tourist restaurant - filet de bar particularly recommended, bon rapport qualite prix.

No complaints ever, but unfortunately, at the end of a dinner that had been enjoyable, we had a most unpleasant experience.

We had asked for the bill, a waitress brought it, along with the credit card machine. It was quite dark and the amount seemed about right, so we paid without further ado and were given our receipt. We were making our way away from the restaurant along the quay, when we heard a woman (another waitress) shouting behind us. Initially we thought we had forgotten something, but suddenly we were being accused very publicly of not having paid our bill. We followed the accuser into the premises, produced our receipt and the waitress who had handled the payment appeared. It transpired that she had given us the wrong, but similar bill for €65 instead of €69.

We offered to make up the difference. However, this was declined, but not particularly graciously and with no attempt at a meaningful apology either publicly or privately. Sad to say, it felt like people dined out on our embarrassment. It could have been handled so much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J_the_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Awesome plateau de fruits de mer”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Weren't sure we'd be able to find a good restaurant with an available table for 8 in this popular resort during peak summer season. What a find! Great ambience, amazing and super fresh seafood, wine not overpriced. Huge and complex menu to hunt through but somehow we managed to find something on there to please 2 nippers, 4 fussy foodie mid-40's and 2 grandparents...One with a broken arm and leg! Service? Hmmm. Relatively efficient and certainly without a smile but we forgave them as still couldn't quite believe our luck

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location in the harbour”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

There are a number of similar restaurants around the port but we choose this one. It is in a great spot and people watching from here is great. You can either sit in the sun or protect yourself under he canopy. I decided to have a seafood lunch and choose off of the degustation menu at 42 euro. To start with I had 12 local oysters which were terrific and followed this with sole meunière which again was great and serves with an excellent and different vegetable ensemble. I had a bottle of the house rose which again was really good. Lunch was competed with a trio of cheeses. Yes I grant you the service is functional reasonably attentive but not particularly personal. Great sport good food and take some company!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Belem also viewed

Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
 
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
 
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
 

Been to Le Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing