We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Bois Saint Martin
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I should have done this review last year but my husband wanted to keep this place a secret. Anyway - here goes. We booked for 2 nights and ended up staying about 2 weeks. The only reason we left is that they were totally booked up. I think it is in a brilliant location. Very convenient to St Martin, La Flotte, Le Bois Plage. Cycling to these place is the best part of the day. Le Bois St Martin is so pretty and very well looked after. All the little houses are painted in lovely colours and flowers growing all around. The pool is divine. A nice little bar, a cool games room and lots more.Run by a mother and daughter team. They are extremely friendly, cool and lots of fun. Tres chic! There are loads of little touches here - pastries delivered to our house every morn, organised kids evenings and lots more. I don't think that Chloe and her Mom need recommendations as they have a huge repeat clientele but still it needs to be said. Merci Beaucoup!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

A real pitty, these "cottages".
We had a "plain-pied' in august 2013 for one week.
The cottages are very tiny, with old and used furniture, and not very clean. The kitchen is very small and don't expect cooking great meals!
We were lucky, the weather was very good, so you could stay on the porch or the garden.
The price they ask, is probably the current price for a week on Ile de Re, but to expensive for what you receive.
These points, could not be seen on none of the pictures from their website.

So much more could be done with The Bois-St-martin, because situated within the woods, very calm and with a nice swimming pool (in my opinion, not heated). a good refreshment of the cottages would do wonders!

As a last point, one can park his car in +/- the front of the cottage, and from there, you can do everything on Ile de Re with a bike.

Room Tip: take a plain pied, the other mezzanine cottages are just one near the other: they form one block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Great location for cycling to beaches and nearby St. Martin even for little cyclists! Swimming pool and games room great. Open communal barbecue area, fully kitted out and great for integrating families. Children made friends very quickly and were off exploring most of the time.

Room Tip: Self catering appartments - two types. Choose ground floor apartment if you have young family - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itinerant-rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed here for a week with our two children and yes although the cottages are cosy - it was just perfect for us. The cottages are equipped to basic standards but we felt it was more than adequate for our needs. We tended to eat out quite a bit but were able to put together basic meals. There is lots of space around the cottages giving you privacy and the surroundings were stunning. Monique who ran the resort was very friendly and had gone to a lot of trouble to pay attention to detail. The games room was really well equipped and gave the children just enough to do and a pace to meet other kids.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manisha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was pretty good. The place is well set up and the chalet is pretty good. A little tight on space and like other reviewers the kitchen area is a bit mismatched and missing some items but all in all pretty good. They did ask us to pay a €10 extra for cleaning of the room but i think this is just another way of getting €10. Who brings cleaning supplies for their chalet for 2 nights ?
Accommodation is fine for a couple or a small family, no use for 2 or more kids.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

While staying at Le Bois St Martin, I was determined that I'd post a review when I came back home - mainly so other holiday makers are given a very balanced view of this holiday park (from the other reviews, it really seems perfect......).

First thing to note, your 'villa/chalet' is tiny - REALLY tiny. One settee to sit on, a very small table to eat at and student accomodation kitchen. If you're a couple, snug but OK - if you have children with you..........let's hope the weather's perfect and you don't need to be inside too much. Talking of children, the second bedroom is in a small mezzanine floor with a very steep set of open stairs (from the living space) and no guard rail or protection. If you have young children, this wouldn't be their bedroom due to safety reasons so adults will have to be upstairs with low ceilings and very little storage (all wardrobe space is in the main bedroom downstairs). The 'private' outdoor space is also tiny with a concreted terrace big enough for a table and chairs.

We stayed here early in the season so would expect accomodation to be spotless - however all cutlery was mismatched, filter coffee machine jug was too big so coffee spilled everywhere, random numbers of wine glasses and cups (e.g., sleeps 4 people but only 3 cups and 2 wineglasses), french windows only opened 18 inches and then stuck. Bathroom towels were provided but no kitchen towels. Overall, it lacked the attention to detail and provided 2nd rate accommodation because of that.

Location is good however there are better locations on the island closer to beaches (and it would be difficult to find a bad location on Ile de Re, so not really a selling point). The caravan park over the fence had a nightly soft rock disco which was extremely loud but stopped just after midnight. On a positive note, the swimming pool and sunloungers were good and the BBQ area is a great space.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We found this accomodation on the official Ile De Re website, and although a bit more expensive than the others we saw it looked much nicer. We weren't disappointed. It's a small complex of around 20 modern chalets set in amongst trees with individual gardens (most gated) which was ideal for our two year old son to play in.
The pool area is very nice with a lovely clean fresh water pool with a seperate jacuzzi, steam room building and massage hut.
There's sit up bar by the pool and adjoining lounge area with TV/DVD. Also a games room with table-tennis and small childs play area. There's a shared BBQ area equipped with everything you need and seating areas.
The complex is about 20mins walk from the harbour in St Martin which was great to be able to walk out in the evening for a drink with the pushchair. Also 20 mins cycle to the beach at Le Bois.
Friendly owners, clean appartments, great location.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheChucklebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martin de Re
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Galion
Hotel Le Galion
#4 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
378 reviews
4 mi away
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
P'tit Dej-HOTEL Ile de Re
#1 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Jetee
Hotel La Jetee
#5 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
617 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
Hotel Restaurant & SPA Plaisir
#3 of 6 in Le Bois-Plage-en-Re
427 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Martray
Le Martray
#2 of 4 in Ars-en-Re
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bois Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bois Saint Martin

Address: 5 Chemin des Salieres, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Saint Martin de Re
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Saint Martin de Re
Price Range: £54 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Bois Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bois Saint Martin Ile De Re/Saint Martin De Re

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing