We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Toiras

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Toiras
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband & I and our 2 year old stayed at this gorgeous boutique hotel for 3 nights in June. Location is fantastic- right on the quays. We had a garden view room-Nicolas Baudin room-we were upgraded from superior to deluxe (without even being told!!) . Room was a lovely size-even with a travel cot. It is bigger than it looks on their website. Separated from the room by a heavy curtain (usually held back) was a stand alone bath and vanity area, then a seperate toilet. It was a lovely & relaxing and quiet room, with a lovely balcony to sit out on when toddler was having a midday nap! I would actually request this room if we were staying again.
Staff were exceptional-room was cleaned twice daily, reception staff were great- knew us by face which was impressive , even though it was fairly busy. We had a buggy which they stored downstairs but promply produced when requested. Very child friendly.
We did not eat here unfortunately, (due to having a lively 2 year old!) The restaurant area seemed small, but the tables in the inner garden looked nicer.
Breakfast was expensive so we strolled the few yards along the quays to "Le Belem" restaurant which was much better value with a lovely view of the marina.
The hotel does not have a pool, however its sister hotel-Villa Clarisse does-it is a good 5 mins walk away-however pool is quite small & deck area is tiny- there was another family there & we felt we were imposing. Also pool was pretty deep all around so could only let toddler play on the steps into the pool (supervised!) There was only 8 or so deckchairs out. However the gardens in the vills were only being finished so this might improve.
We reqested a taxi to the other side of the island ( to a campsite!!- what a reality check!!), however, one of the staff members offered to drive us in the hotel Merc!! A tip of €20 was "suggested" by reception.
Overall, a very relaxing stay and we would definitely stay here if we returned to this lovely town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lissatava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    68
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
329
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK based
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

we left with a sense of disappointment and felt a little ripped off .as it is not we believe y a 5* establishment ...The courteous staff is the hotels best point , though the room was better than adequate the breakfast fine if expensive , and the one dinner we had there was again fine but not memorable , all adequate but lots of buts ....eg parking was offered at 10 euros a night despite free public parking being available within a 2 minute walk , which was a chance discovery and not mentioned at checkin , the public room is very draughty when the wind blows ..and it can blow even in June ...the front door has to be kept ajar to allow passage in and out and the draughty wind takes full advantage All in all not a memorable stay though its location is superb

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twobags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Hotel de Toiras, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
I first would like to thank you for your comments.
We decided to open our restaurant 7 days a week over the last season and realized that we couldn’t get the same consistency of service. Open on a 5 days basis this year, our Chef, being on duty every dinner, is taking best care to every guest.
A public free parking is offered at the entrance of the harbor, unfortunately we can’t guarantee that it is as well secured as our private parking (close and guarded night and days) located 10 minutes away from the hotel. However, we should have offered you the different options.
You mentioned our great location on the harbor which exposes the Hotel to the wind; this is the reason why we install a double door at the entrance to avoid our guest to be disturbed. Under unusual circumstances we have to close the main door close.
I feel really concerned about your comments and invite you to contact me personally for your next visit of the Island.
Best regards,
Pierre Gaillot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here for a week, great locaion, very comfortable room and lovely staff BUT the restaurant prices were on the high side of outrageous. We had dinner on the first night, each having a main course(no starter), I had a dessert and we each had one glass of wine...138 euros. and it was only average quality. The couple next to us were so incensed with their meal they walked out of the restaurant and cancelled the rest of their stay! Breakfasts were quite acceptable but chaotic. Still, we really enjoyed ourselves and there are so many places to eat in the town that this was not a problem. Stay at the hotel but don't eat there, although to our amazement the restaurant was pretty busy most evenings

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed 3 nights in June 2011. Hotel is in a great location by the port. Rooms are excellent quality - and ours overlooked the port. Service was very good. Breakfast was excellent - if a little pricey. Did not eat dinner in the restaurant because that too seemed pricey. But overall, a very smart and relaxing hotel. Now also has the use of a swimming pool at its sister Villa Clarisse.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WychwoodWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Great location, decent room but the bath is separated by only a curtain from the bedroom. Quiet outlook into the courtyard and good quality fittings.
Restaurant very poor, we only found out after the meal that the chef was away and the cooking was mediocre. The highlight was a glass of house champagne - Taitinger blanc at € 36, which is extortionate. Suggest you ask before you buy.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelPpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Hotel de Toiras, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
I feel really concerned by your comments. On that particular day, our Chef had to leave for a personal emergency, and in view of that, we should have offered you the dinner.
However, it is absolutely impossible that you have been charged 36€ for a drink. If you are really been charge such an amount, please forward me your bill in order to reimburse you.
Do not hesitate to contact me personally for your future reservation request.
Yours sincerely,

Pierre Gaillot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We spent 3 nights at the hotel and didn't want to leave.The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble.
The bedroom was delightful with roses and grapes on arrival together with a welcome card.The room was beautifully fitted out with a very large bed which was turned down for you every night.The bathroom was superb with a nice quality range of toiletries.Our room overlooked the courtyard and was very quiet and peaceful.
Servoce was excellent at all times and they always remembered our name.Parking was not a problem and there are some good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlielouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We booked a room "overlooking the entrance to the harbour", but in fact the only window in the room was tiny and very high up, so I could only see the view if I stood on a chair.
There was very little information in the room - the only "restaurant" we found was the breakfast room and there were no menus to be seen. As for the "market basket" - nowhere to be seen. All the staff were very attentive, but I would not rate this hotel as 5*.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jersey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Martin de Re
0.3 mi away
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
Le Clos Saint-Martin Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel la Maree
Hotel la Maree
#1 of 2 in Rivedoux-Plage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Villa Clarisse
La Villa Clarisse
#6 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Richelieu
Hotel Le Richelieu
#1 of 7 in La Flotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa
#3 of 12 in Saint Martin de Re
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
5.3 mi away
Atalante Relais Thalasso
Atalante Relais Thalasso
#2 of 6 in Sainte Marie de Re
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Toiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Toiras

Property: Hotel de Toiras
Address: 1 Quai Job Foran, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Saint Martin de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Toiras 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the harbor of Saint-Martin-de-Ré, historical capital of Île de Ré registered on the UNESCO world heritage, the Hotel of Toiras is a luxury charming hotel, member of Relais & Châteaux, in a shipowner's magnificent house from the 17th. Villa Clarisse, the little sister of the Hotel de Toiras, with 9 rooms and suites inaugurated in June 2011, in a superb mansion from the 18th, is the “chic” Relais & Châteaux address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel de Toiras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Toiras Hotel
Hotel De Toiras Ile De Re/Saint Martin De Re

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing