We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful apartment”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Lacoste - a nearby village
Bonnieux
Ochre cliffs at Roussillon
Abbaye de Senaque
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bonnieux, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adrienne...
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A beautiful apartment in the heart of Bonnieux, a wonderful hill village in the heart of the Luberon area of Provence. Stone walls and wooden beams lend charm to the thoroughly renovated apartments. And there are dedicated parking spaces - a convenience at a premium in these small villages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You are very welcome back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadamJose...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
628 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Perfect stay, could have stayed much longer.”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are a couple who were unsure whether to stay In Bonnieux, so we booked this apartment for just 1 week. What a mistake, we could have stayed for at least 3 weeks. Firstly Bonnieux is a delightful village to stay in. It has everything you need, butcher, bread shops, supermarket, interesting shops, newspapers in English are readily available and lots of restaurants & bars. Unlike some towns in Provence (Lacoste) its a living city, so whilst its lively, its quite tranquil, especially at night. The roads up to the town are too narrow for the tourist buses, so you don't get the hoards, as you do in Rousillon. Its centrally located to all you want to see and do in this part of Provence.
Now to the apartment, perfectly located in the centre of town, a few steps to all the amenities mentioned above. We stayed in Gendarmerie 2 on the top floor (up two flights of not steep stairs) as we were advised that wifi was best on the higher level. The view from the apartment was lovely, over the shared swimming pool to the hills beyond. Beds were comfortable, everything was clean with excellent amenities in the kitchen. The photos on the site are accurate. Christian the on-site Manger attends to any issues quickly and with charm, not that we had any real issues. The pool is maintained by him every day. The second bedroom is quite small so I wouldn't recommend it for 2 couples, but its OK if you have kids. A perfect stay and we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
What a lovely review to receive - many thanks! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed both the apartment and village, it really is a great spot. We get lots of repeat visitors and we would love to have you as guests again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon B
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Place To Stay In Bonnieux”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were two couples who stayed in this apartment for four weeks. First, we loved the village of Bonnieux and we visited almost all the other villages in the area and would not have chosen a different one. On top of being beautiful and scenic it had the perfect balance of amenities such as good restaurants,two bolongeries, a boucherie, a small grocery store, a pharmacie and many interesting shops and galleries but not feeling like a "tourist" village.

We were very happy with our stay at the Gendarmarie as the apartment was spacious, well equipped and nicely furnished. We really liked the pool area, which really saved us as we had some very warm weather while we were there. The building is in the most convenient location in the village with a very short walk to everything. The views from the apartment were spectacular so if you go make sure you get one with a view out over the valley and not the village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the views
Liked least: No cleaning service with a 4 week stay
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We would love to welcome you again as guests, if you choose to visit the area again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bdinger
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of a French hill town.”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location in the nicest hill town in the Luberon. Close to everything you need; restaurants, grocery stores, and boulangeries. The pool was a great place to cool off after long walks or visiting the markets.
Joie de vivre was excellent with booking and communication.
The only issue we had was that the on sight manger was not readily available and did not show us some of the amenities such as the location of the communal laundry room.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your kind and positive review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Bonnieux - it really is a beautiful village! Thanks also for letting me know about the on-site Concierge, I will follow this up and hopefully improve the service for future guests. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mystic-me...
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a week, Fantastic spot in the centre of town. There were 8 of us 4 couples. Shared the two top apartments. Lacked some basic kit like mirrors and toasters, but made up for with great views and Nice swimming pool. Centre of village location means the shops and restaurants are all 5 min walks. Comfortable beds and good showers.
Top location for exploring the local stunning scenery and cycling.
Would recommend. Several of our group had stayed before and I can see why.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AdrianofS...
Sidney, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Rate Gites in Bonnieux!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent three weeks in the 3 bedroom apartment in the Gendarmerie. The apartment is delightful; it is well furnished with a small but efficient kitchen and wonderful views from the living area. The building itself is well looked after by Claude, the concierge. He was very helpful, sorting out some small issues with light bulbs and with the dishwasher. The swimming pool and the surrounding deck area is great - quiet, sheltered, and warm in the autumn afternoon. Friends of ours rented one of the two bedroom units in the building and it met the same high standards of our gites. And each gites has its own private parking lot just up a flight of stairs adjacent to the building.

Thirty metres away from the building is a great little bar and restaurant. Ten metres further on is a butchers and, just beyond that, one of two great bakeries in the village. About 100 metres up the hill from the Gendarmerie is a Utile - a small but well stocked supermarket.

We've stayed in gites in Roussillon and Lourmarin in recent years and we prefer Bonnieux. There are fewer tourists because it's built on a steep hill, so tour buses don't show up. But, there are lots of restaurants in the village - and a great market on Fridays. The village itself is visually interesting and there are great views from most places (and restaurants) in the community.

Finally, Helen Bowles, who runs the agency through which you book the gites, is very helpful and accommodating. She ensures that you'll have a first rate experience if you rent one of the units.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience was first rate
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing