We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous re-done Provencal Mas (farmhouse) in Bonnieux”
Review of Les Trois Sources

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonnieux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Trois Sources
Ranked #7 of 15 Bonnieux B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Les Trois Sources is a 5 room B&B located a few minutes off the D36, just below the village of Bonnieux, a three minute drive away. The B&B was actually a large farmhouse with courtyard, part of it dating back to the 13th C when it was used as a church—you can still see the vaulted ceiling. It then became a hospital, a “magnanerie” (silk worm farm,) then a farm in around the 18th C. The current owners have been there for about 16 years; they took a dilapidated structure, saved the best parts (layout, ancient curving huge stone staircase, and fabulous old wooden doors) and have re-created an ancient “mas” (farmhouse) with modern conveniences. They added a 15 meter (about 45 foot) pool. This place is a rare find.

The rooms are very large and comfortable, all with bath tub and shower, and separate toilet. There is a suite with a large room connected to a smaller one with twin beds. Rooms are well heated; the thick walls obviate the need for air conditioning. The style of the rooms is in keeping with an old farmhouse—simple, large but well done. This is a classy, redone farm. Don’t expect overdone rooms filled with colorful Provencal fabrics and cutesy little touches. Views from the rooms show the surrounding countryside and villages. WIFI is available in the common areas; DSL can be added in the rooms. The Breakfast is included and is served outside under the trees in the old courtyard in nice weather, or else inside. It includes freshly squeezed orange juice, yogurt, croissants, several types of breads, 4 kinds of yummy preserves and honey, and of course excellent coffee and tea. Of course it would be nice if some fresh, seasonal fruit and meat or egg dishes were included.

Paul and Caroline are the very charming and professional French owners. They are flexible and very helpful with touring ideas in the area. Paul speaks fairly good English but it doesn’t seem that Caroline does. (I spoke to them in French.) Some advice for travelers wherever they are in France: if you have a request (e.g. coffee before the “appointed time,” teapot in the room if you arrive jet lagged and don’t know if you will make breakfast) be sure to talk to the owners; most are willing to help. Since B&Bs are not hotels, there is no room service. But the owners run these places and know that it is important to help with guest requests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhoneWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

what a marvelous place!

the rooms (we rented three) are spacious and beautifully renovated with modern amenities but with old times charm.

We and the kids enjoyed the rich breakfast (not typically french) and the blooming yard as well.

the owner spent a great deal of time with us to recommend place and routes to visit.

Room Tip: If nights become chilly you can use the heating,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mendelsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The peaceful setting for this fabulous old Mas is just breathtaking. The views over vineyards span right up to Mont Ventoux and the rest of the hills. The sounds of the cicadas in the trees and the smells of lavender and rosemary from the gardens are the essence of the Luberon. The building itself and the courtyard were stylishly decorated in keeping with the old style. Our room on the first floor was lovely and spacious with chic furnishings and a lovely powerful shower with a fabulous view!
Paul and Caroline were perfect hosts. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious and Caroline was perfectly friendly but her English is not 100% so she prefers to speak in French. Paul on the other hand speaks fluent English and was brilliant at giving us tips for things to see and do in the area. We were even invited to their daughter's birthday party one evening that we stayed which was so wonderful. We were very touched at being involved in such an important family event. The hospitality was brilliant.
The pool was set in amongst the surrounding vineyards and was nice and big and very clean! It was always very calm and quiet by the pool as there were only couples staying whilst we were there but that suited us just fine! All in all, we had a fantastic stay at Les Trois Sources and highly recommend it. The only thing that would be a nice addition would perhaps be some fresh fruit with breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drp0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is our 4th trip to France. We always stay in Bed and Breakfasts because of the opportunity to talk with the hosts about the area. If all we wanted was nice facilities, we would stay in a hotel, but we enjoy the interaction with our hosts and possibly the other guests. Les Trois Sources has so many positives - I certainly want to point out the nice things: close to Bonnieux (a 5 minute drive), lovely building, spacious room on the top floor with an extra seating area, windows to the west and north providing nice views, walk-in shower, and they provided a hair dryer, Kleenex and bottled water - nice touches. There was also a place to store our wine and a refrigerator was close by to store food. Now for the not-so-positive: The building is fairly close to the main road to Bonnieux, so traffic noise is an issue. We turned on our fan (which was nice to have in the room) to drown out the sound of traffic at night, but it also drowned out the sound of birds. Our room was on the top floor - 3rd floor in US standards, 2nd floor to the French, since they do not count the ground floor as the 1st floor. In any case, you will need to bring luggage up two full flights of stairs to get to the top floor. Breakfasts are OK - bread and crossiants, butter and preserves, OJ, coffee or tea and yogurt. It would have been nice to have some fresh fruit, especially since the parking area was past their cherry trees which were full of fruit. We helped ourselves everyday. We've stayed in many bed and breakfasts and even though the French style is to have baguettes, butter and jam, other hosts have provided fresh fruit, cereals and milk, eggs cooked to order, cheese and ham, freshly baked fruit tarts - or a combination of the above. I think for the price of 142 euro per night, our breakfasts could have been more substantial. But I think what turned us off the most was the demeanor of Caroline, the female host. She does all she can to NOT interact with the guests, even though she spoke English. Upon our arrival, after dealing with car trouble, we were exhausted and looking forward to a nice stay in Bonnieux. Even though I made reservations in December and paid a deposit in January, we were greeted with a very cold, "Do you have reservations?" Upon checking to see that we did indeed have reservations, she took us up to our room, showed us the views and proceeded to give us the rules: " Breakfast is between 9:00 and 10:30; Keep windows and shutters closed during the day; No glass at the pool." She never gave us an alternative to use other than glass, and also never bothered showing us where the pool was. She was in her swimwear and told us she was headed to the pool. After staying there for 4 nights, we never did find the pool - never saw it from our windows, and we did not want to walk through doors that we were not welcome to open. It was a very chilly welcome, indeed. We tried to engage her in conversation - about wine, restaurants, but she was obviously in a hurry to get to the pool. We were able to find a map to Bonnieux the next day and get some leads about restaurants. After being there a couple of days, we discovered that the cellar had a bookcase full of maps, guides, etc. It would have been nice to know that these things existed for our use when we arrived, not when we were about to leave. Breakfast is served by Caroline, and even at that point, there was notconversation - just "coffee or tea?" She really appears to not like what she is doing. Paul, the male host is more welcoming and when we asked him questions, he was great at continuing the conversation and helping with ideas about places to see. If you stay here, talk to Paul.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are up two full flights of stairs and close to the road - so there is tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We cannot say enough good things about Les Trois Sources. First, it is located in a beautiful setting among vineyards & between two ancient stone towns, Locoste & Bonnieux, which can be viewed from your room. All rooms have good views. It's location is perfect for taking easy day trips to towns in the Luberon. Rooms are appointed beautifully while still maintaining the charm of the original stone structure. Caroline serves delightful breakfasts with everything fresh, including fresh squeezed orange juice.

What makes this place EXTRA SPECIAL is the kindness & generosity of the owners, Paul & Caroline. We arrived after just having a purse stolen on the TGV train. The purse contained credit cards, a drivers license, a passport & cell phone. Paul & Caroline not only allowed us to use their phone whenever we needed it but also their laptop. Our replacement credit cards were supposed to be arrive overnight from Citibank, but never arrived during the six days we stayed there. Paul offered us so much help during this time & even followed up by e-mail to us once the cards finally arrived (in nine days). He refused the delivery but actually took a photo of the UPS package so we could see the actual date it arrived & followup with the information!

You will do yourself a wonderful favor if you stay at Les Trois Sources. They will give you great advice on day trips, special things to see & will even loan you a map. Beautiful, relaxing & quiet...but make sure you listen to the night sounds...a symphony of birds & frogs in the background....ahhh.

Another source for reliable information is Karen Brown's website. We're relied on her picks for years & she did not miss on this one either.

Janice & Dan

Room Tip: Our room was exactly as shown on their website. It is the photo on the far left. It is upstairs &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed in Les Trois Sources for 4 nights at the end of October. We are a family of 5, with 3 children aged 14, 11 and 5. We stayed in the suite that has two adjoined rooms with two bathrooms - spacious, charming, perfect for a family. The property is just magnificent; one of the buildings sheltered at different times a hospital, a silk farm and a priory. The owners, Paul and Caroline, have done an outstanding job in preserving the unique character of the place while making it welcoming and comfortable. The bedrooms, breakfast room and living-room are simply yet tastefully decorated with items built by the owners or antiques that found a new life in their hands. After a day of roaming, it felt great and utterly relaxing to sit between those stone walls. We really felt home. Paul and Caroline made you feel welcome through their discreet availability. Breakfast was great – fresh baguette, croissants, fresh slices of bread, homemade jam and honey, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, tea, etc …
The place is located outside the village of Bonnieux, in a very peaceful environment, so we felt secluded and private. It is quite central to Luberon, so Gordes, Roussillon, etc are a short drive away. The owners recommended several highlights which we thoroughly enjoyed - chateau of Buoux, medieval villages of Viens and Banou, the quarry of Rustrel, the astounding bookstore in Banou, ...
We could not enjoy the shaded patio or the pool as we were late in the season, so we cannot share our experience on that. Just know that the place has some magical touch to it if you like places with a history. Our hats to Paul and Caroline for preserving and enhancing the sober beauty of the property! We just loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC_Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My husband and I just spent our second week-long stay at Les Trois Sources, accompanied by my husband's sister and her husband, and found it every bit as delightful as we did the first time. The hotel was originally a monastery built in the 15th century, renovated with exquisite taste by the owners, Paul and Caroline. Everything that should have been left alone has been, while all the improvements made were well-advised. We felt transported into a serene and historic past, but with an excellent, comfortable mattress and modern plumbing. The rooms are large and spacious, furnished simply but beautifully, with everything you could want but nothing extraneous. Instead of small hotel-style soaps that melt in the shower, a large bar of luscious almond soap is provided in each room for guests, one of the simple yet lovely touches that characterize this lovely B&B.

Other guests have mentioned the lack of air-conditioning, but I honestly cannot imagine putting something like that in these rooms. The walls are practically two-foot thick limestone, which keeps them cool during hot days, especially if the windows are shuttered to keep out the sun, which is only practical in this climate. At night, we would open the windows and let the delicious, fresh air in and sleep like babies. We never encountered a single mosquito. If you're warm from visiting the charming villages sprinkled throughout the valley, Les Trois Sources has a spring-fed pool filled with the most scrumptious, refreshing water I've ever encountered in a swimming pool.

Breakfast was a tasty and classic Continental breakfast, with freshly made croissants and breads from local bakeries, homemade jams, and local honey. Paul and Caroline graciously provided me with hot cocoa every morning as I'm unable to drink coffee or tea, and started off every breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice. For lunch, we would often visit a local market and purchase local artisanal cheese, sausage, olives, and bread, then enjoy eating it all in the courtyard under a huge, spreading mulberry tree. Our hosts were unfailingly friendly and hospitable, helping us to make our dinner reservations each night, and advising us on fun, beautiful, and/or historic places to visit during the day. They were never intrusive, but always available.

The surrounding area is nothing short of idyllic, with its ancient villages perchés, vineyards and lavender fields, and Les Trois Sources feels just perfectly nestled within this heavenly environment, every note perfect, in our experience. We look forward to returning again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Celeste W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonnieux hotels
1.6 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
366 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Clos D'Estellan
Le Clos D'Estellan
#14 of 15 in Bonnieux
16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Clos Les Eydins
Le Clos Les Eydins
#2 of 15 in Bonnieux
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Les Terrasses du Luberon
Les Terrasses du Luberon
#1 of 15 in Bonnieux
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Mas del Sol
Le Mas del Sol
#3 of 15 in Bonnieux
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Une Sieste en Luberon
Une Sieste en Luberon
#6 of 15 in Bonnieux
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Trois Sources? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Trois Sources

Address: Chemin de la Chaine, 84480 Bonnieux, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Bonnieux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnieux
Price Range: £70 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast, charming guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Trois Sources Hotel Bonnieux
Les Trois Sources Bonnieux, France - Luberon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing