We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the place to stay in the Luberon”
Review of Le Mas del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas del Sol
Ranked #2 of 15 Bonnieux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gutersloh, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay in the Luberon”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We've just spent our third time in Mas del Sol and as always, it was fantastic. Great room, great hosts, fantastic food and beautiful location. It is the ideal place to stay in the Luberon. Please try Richard's food, it's outstanding. We are already looking forward to our next stay in 2016.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Jutta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    13
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
120
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The area is stunning, and Le Mas Del Sol is a perfect place to experience it. All the reviews before this say it all -- the decor, the rooms, the ambience, the views, the pool, the lavender fields, the food, it is all absolutely wonderful. Richard is strangely modest about his cooking, don't be fooled. The lamb is the best lamb I have ever had anywhere, and my God have I eaten some lamb.

This place is paradise, there is simply nothing wrong with it. Nothing. NOTHING.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippywee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Norfolk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The refurbished, stone buildings retain original character but carefully incorporate contemporary features of a very high quality, often found only in the most expensive of hotels. Once you have met hosts Richard and Lucine, you realise the painstaking attention to detail comes from them. Richard's kitchen (from which breakfast is served) is a veritable culinary operating theatre and breakfasts are a delight, eaten on the sun terrace overlooking the pool and on to the Luberon mountains. Occasionally, Richard offers an evening meal - this should not be missed and demonstrates his restauranteur/chef experience.

Our room (Tonneau) was a vaulted-ceiling bedroom, sitting room (down two steps) with a bathroom off (marble washbasin, bidet, full bath and separate "wet room" shower - with wall and overhead nozzles) and a completely separate toilet, with wash basin, accessed through a low "Hobbit", stained-glass, panelled door. What seemed to be a "room fairy" remade the bed in the morning and turned the sheets down at night, the only other sign of having been there, was a sweet treat (different each day), left in a small dish in the sitting room. IT equipment included a quality iPod dock, a flat screen digital television and DVD player and a secure wifi signal.

There was covered parking for the car and the very best of heated swimming pools - I enjoyed early morning swims; real exercise. The sun terrace includes cooker, microwave, fridge, freezer (a drawer for each room) with tea and coffee provided, plus a range of drinks and ice creams for guests on an "honesty basis".

Advice where best to eat out is freely available, ranging from the gloriously "old French", walk-in, 'la Table de Silvie' (bentwood chairs, round tables with polka dot cloths, basic provencale fare and constant jazz music) to the Michelin-starred 'Le Bistro de Lagard-Apt' (pre-booking essential).

We stayed there 4 nights - not nearly long enough for us, but enough to compliment Richard and Lucine on their hospitality, efficiency and genuine welcome. We MUST stay again.

Room Tip: "Tonneau" is simply stunning, but then again, so is the rest of the property. Each room ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Methuselah047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Le Mas del Sol for seven nights at the end of May and enjoyed it throughout. The location is superb, a beautiful quiet spot with great views over the countryside and towards two of the idyllic Provence hilltop villages, Lacoste and Bonnieux. We received a warm welcome from the hosts. The House is simply stunning, very tastefully restored and maintained to a very high standard. We enjoyed the garden, the pool, the terrace and our room. The breakfast every morning was delicious, with a wonderful choice of pastries and jams (mostly home-made), cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and eggs prepared to our choice. It was elegantly presented on the terrace where we could sit in the morning sun and take in the views all around. We also used the terrace on several evenings to prepare and eat a snack evening meal. The hosts advised us on places to visit and local restaurant choices. We also enjoyed a few chats with other guests, the atmosphere at Le Mas del Sol was relaxed - a perfect place to unwind and visit all the beauty spots of the Luberon. We would definitely like to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent 5 nights here in the beginning of May and were extremely happy that we chose this B&B as the central location for our exploration of the Luberon Valley and Provence. The fabulous hill towns and markets of Provence were all within easy driving distance through beautiful countryside.

The B&B is in a nicely restored farmhouse set amid vineyards and orchards with views of Lacoste and Bonnieux and the surrounding hills. The farm is set in a beautiful garden and has a lovely pool and terrace available to the guests.

There are some pretty walks from the gate and Bonnieux with its several good restaurants is less than 10 minutes drive. Because the farm is located outside the hill towns, but close to them, we had easy parking and driving yet were close enough to the hill towns to enjoy them.

We loved our room, Lavande, which was large, beautifully decorated and clean. The two windows opened onto views of Bonnieux and Lacoste. There is a sitting area and a great tile bathroom, all with a pretty blue, yellow and white color scheme.

Richard & Lucine are very welcoming and helpful, and the home made breakfasts were delicious. The breakfast is served in a large modern dining room adjoining a well designed kitchen. The fresh fruit salads and pastries were excellent. I especially enjoyed the homemade breads and jams. We felt very well taken care of.

As I mentioned, there is a large terrace available to guests adjoining the pool. The views from there are spectacular and it is a wonderful place to sit after touring for the day and enjoy a snack from the market and an organic beer or wine available from the guests' refrigerator. There is also a small terrace kitchen for guests' use.

Lucine & Richard speak English very well and can recommend good destinations for day trips, none of which are far away. The town which has its market that day is written on a slate over the desk as is the day's weather.

This is a place which we highly recommend and we hope to return to again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGailsReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I amb sure we will go another time there! The paceful you can feel staying in the garden and seeing that views is difficult to describe. The breakfast outside with the shining sun was a very nice moment. All is good. Congratulations!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our second visit to this wonderful house. 5 star luxury in a glorious part of Provence. Attention to detail everywhere, attentive , helpful and friendly owners. Richard cooks a lovely breakfast to order and will advise on what to see and where to eat put. Do walk through through the cherry orchards to Lacoste and the lovely village of Bonnieux, with everything you need is only a 30 minute walk away. We stayed in Tonneau, but having seen all the other rooms we loved Lavande , but all bedrooms and bathrooms are of the highest quality and superbly equipped.
Richard P.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonnieux
1.2 mi away
Le Clos du Buis
Le Clos du Buis
#1 of 5 in Bonnieux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.0 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
#3 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Clos de la Glycine
Le Clos de la Glycine
#2 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas del Sol

Property: Le Mas del Sol
Address: le Pimbard | Chemin des Foulans, 84480 Bonnieux, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Bonnieux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnieux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old provence farm, in the middle of National Park of Luberon, fully restored, surrounded by lavanda field, vineyard, cherry tree orchard. Magnificient view from the long (16 m) & heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Mas del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Del Sol Hotel Bonnieux
Le Mas Del Sol Bonnieux, France - Luberon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing